We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
US$330
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cae Mor Hotel(Llandudno)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Clontarf Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Queens Hotel(Llandudno)
US$116
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hen-Dy(Llandudno)
US$121
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tynedale Hotel(Llandudno)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
US$82
US$79
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merrion Hotel(Llandudno)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,330)
Filter reviews
1,330 results
Traveller rating
748
390
132
34
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
748
390
132
34
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmint conditioncar parkleisure facilitiesfifth floorswimming poolhotel guestssea viewafternoon teafour starlarge bathroomrestaurant staffsea frontlovely hotelfirst classsuperior roomhigh standardevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,090 - 1,095 of 1,330 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Great location, not only on the seafront, but the nearest point on the front from the railway station. Really helpful staff, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts, and good spa facilities in the basement. A traditional hotel in the best sense!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank EcoEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you lovely comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and it ticked all the boxes, I will pass on your comments to the staff. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Where can you go to be thoroughly spoiled ? I know, the Imperial will do that extremely well for you. The hotel itself is victorian but has a very modern,comfortable atmosphere.We had a front facing room with a wonderful view from the Great Orme right across the bay to the Little Orme.The room had all the amenities we needed - and the food was almost but not quite cordon bleu ! Lunch in the conservatory in the front of the hotel has a wonderful outlook and beautifully presented food from a varied menu to suit most tastes Excellent service and cheery staff are a bonus.Just a short walk down from the hotel is a charming small theatre and with arrangement with the chef an early dinner can be provided which all goes to make a super weekend or a few days away.By filling in your E mail address whilst there you get hotel offers, which we took up saving £50 on the initial visit.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms of course have the best outlook and are surprisingly quiet , with the odd seagull peering through the window,.You pay your money and you take your choice. .Depending on your budget you could spend a lot less in a rear room, where they are still very comfortable
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VETED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great, I will pass you comments on to the staff. Hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We hadn't been to Llandudno before and found it was a great place to visit. We found The Imperial very easily from the train station, maybe a 5-10 minute walk depending on your speed. The hotel is beautifully positioned on the promenade. We arrived before check in at 2pm and were pleased to find that our room was ready already. It was a good size but bonus points for a nice large bathroom. It was spotless and good quality. It was very hot overnight and as townies we were slightly freaked by the spitting seagulls on the windowsill. We were the fortunate recipients of a Delicious food magazine competition.

As well as a room for 2 nights we were also treated to cooking lesson with the Chef, Arwel Jones, on the Saturday afternoon. This came with lovely home made bread and the opportunity to watch and learn from Arwel. First was a beautiful Welsh lamb with cous cous, followed by a heavenly sea bass dish with mussels and languostines. We found both dishes amazing and versions of these feature on their menu at the moment.

We were also given a 3 course meal on the Sunday night which was a goat's terrine for him and a hot smoked mackerel starter for me. Both very nicely presented and tasted so fresh. It would have been rude not to go for the roast beef, so we did and were not disappointed. This was a far cry from the usual, sad, tired over-cooked beef of hotel restaurants. It was lovely and tender, still slightly pink. The vegetables were nicely done and not swimming in butter. We finished with a peach melba torte and a chocolate cake. The cake was a winner, as was the ice cream and sorbet. The only slight issue was with the peach melba torte as unlike the other dishes it was just less flavourful.

The service throughout was friendly and efficient. The full Welsh breakfast in the morning was good and it is nice to see somewhere making the most of its local ingredients.

We had a trip to the spa and the lady was very good at fitting us in on the Sunday morning for a massage each and it was pleasant to laze in the pool afterwards, before a sit in the small spa/jacuzzi pool.

To top it off they posted us a cook book that Arwel has been involved in: Relish Wales! It was a sweet thought and and an unlooked for, most welcome surprise.

Room Tip: I'd imagine it'd be a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great, and enjoyed the Cookery Lesson.. Hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed here on our first visit to Llandudno. What a lovely place, and we will be back.The hotel is right on the seafront, and easy to find, parking limited, but free parking on prom, so no problems there.
Rooms were lovely, very clean and comfortable, fab bathroom.
The breakfast was top class, cooked iis to order, and arrived hot and one of the nicest we had ever had. Staff were excellent, and very helpful. I can recommend this beautiful hotel with confidence.

Room Tip: Rooms on front have amazing views. Book with hotel (we did'nt) - as they have some good offers on, our room was a side room, near the front and was superb, friends had a seafront with balcony which was 5*
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frances3437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have stayed in this hotel 5 or 6 times previously and we have always found our stay there to be very enjoyable. It has a good location, an excellent restaurant and has very comfortable rooms, although they can sometimes be much too warm during the night.
HOWEVER, if you like to enjoy a relaxing 'nightcap' in your hotel bar at the end of an evening out then forget it! We were told at 10.50pm that because we were the only guests wishing to use the bar that they had decided to close it early, but WE were GUESTS and we DID wish to still use the bar! We were told that if we required a drink we should contact the night porter. This happened again on our second night, even though we were residents who had been paying the £4.20 per pint for a lager which costs 50% less elsewhere in Llandudno.
On our final night we returned to the hotel at 10.45pm to find the bar was now already closed and the barman leaving hastily with his coat on. Ironically as he passed us he wished us "Goodnight" and enquired, "Have you had an enjoyable evening!?" . This sends out two messages:
Firstly, at the Imperial hotel the bar does not provide consistent service, but instead provides service dependent on the number of guests wishing to use it and consequenly the amount of profit to be made.
Secondly, the convenience of the paid bar staff is clearly more important than the service offered to the paying guest.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank juan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews