We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL IN LLANDUDNO”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Enjoyed my stay at this fabulous hotel on the seafront in Llandudno. Luxury decor throughout. Very nice & bright contemporary room with seaview & fabulous bathroom. Buffet breakfast was excellent, Afternoon Tea is delicious & served on the terrace with lovely views. All the staff of this hotel are very nice, helpful & welcoming. On my next trip to Llandudno The Imperial Hotel is my first choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AStylishTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Don't get me wrong, this is a good hotel. It is just that I am judging it by four-star standards and although it meets them it is nothing exceptional.

Location is excellent - right on the front and easy walk (even with suitcases) from LLandudno Station (which is just 10 mins by train from the larger LLandudno Junction Station.

The hotel has car parking but not nearly enough for the number of rooms. However, parking on the side streets is free between about 4.00 and 10.30 so no major problem.

Rooms are comfortable. Not enormous but large enough. Clean. We found ours rather hot (in summer). Large bathroom.

Pool is a decent size for a hotel and warm. Spar is getting a little dated. Sauna and steamroom, though also dated, do what they say on the tin. No changing facilities for guests though robes provided in the bedrooms.

Meals were good thought the service let it down. Again, there is nothing wrong with it but with the current recession there are probably lots of people after serving jobs and the servers we came across did their jobs but no more.

Reception staff, both before and during the stay, were excellent.

This is an hotel aimed at old gits (like us) but that probably goes for the whole of Llandudno.

If I went back to Llandudno I woudl stay here again; I just can't rave about it.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are more expensve but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Excellent classic seaside hotel, with professional staff. I had refurbed 'classic' but tastefully redecorated room.
Couple of minor moans - No safes - (boss how about an option of some room with safes for those with laptops) and bizarrely (well I thought) spa guests have to get changed in their rooms, which means you walk thru the holel feeling a bit of a muppet dripping water on the floor. There's a perfectly suitable changing room for regular members and day guests but hotel residents cant use that. I know because a kindly member showed me in to this empty room to get dry.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all rooms were refurbed given hotel size so worth checking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEvaluatorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We decided to treat ourselves to a night at the Imperial after we had spent our day climbing Snowdon. Its a beautiful old building nicly decorated with great views. We stayed in one of the family suits and were very impressed with the size and quality of the fittings in the room. Our girls had their own room with a wide screen tv and so everybody was happy. The service was brilliant especially in the restaurant, Gerry? the head waiter could'nt do enough for us and it made our stay really special. I'm sorry but i do have to say the leisure facilities let the hotel down, when we arrived all the children wanted to do was use the pool, so my husband took them and intended to use the jacuzzi while there, but that was broken, and on the second morning the jacuzzi was still not working along with the sauna. Also the opening times for children are restricted and residents are not allowed to use the changing rooms. But apart from these minor points this hotel is wonderful and i would love to go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieisobel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are pleased you found the service brilliant and will pass your comments on to Jerry in the Restaurant. We are however sorry the spa pool and sauna were out of service during your stay which unfortunately was due to a technical fault on both but are now up and running again. We hope to welcome you and your family to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Enjoyable stay at this charming Victorian resort. Hotel was very friendly & accessable. Only a gentle 5-10 minute walk from the Railway Station. The views across the bay where so pretty. Evening meal on DBB in the restaurant gave an allowance of £25 & as most starters where £6.50 with mains at £18.50 used this up directly. Certain other dishes are available at a supplement. Portions are not huge but very good quality & well presented. Breakfast as described by others is very nice & cooked fresh to order. Leisure club facilities are available next door with direct access. As no changing failities for hotel guests you do get robes in the room & slippers. Little tip, use the small lift furthest from reception side then you dont have to do a walk of shame. Joking aside it was no big deal & we thoroughly enjoyed our two nights here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for your review and we’re glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the staff very friendly. Our Summer by the Sea break includes a two course dinner on the first night which as you pointed out is covered by the dinner allowance of £25 offering guests the flexibility of choosing a starter and main course or a main course and dessert from our extensive menu. As we are the only large hotel in the heart of the resort to offer a Health and Fitness Centre, this is of great benefit to our guests and we’re glad you made full use of these facilities located within the hotel. We hope we will be welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay,with a party of fifty people. Cannot fault this hotel for its service and friendliness of staff. The rooms were large and spotless. The breakfast serviced promptly and hot with plenty of choice
. We had a meal on the saturday for 50 people. It was served promptly and efficiently and piping hot, as they also had a large wedding party to cater for at the same time. The hotel is central to the town and the pier.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and service, and hope welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

A really lovely hotel, clean, friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded to a superior room which was spacious, clean, modern and contained everything we needed. The staff were wonderful, nothing is too much trouble. Chantrey's restaurant was very good, dinner on the terrace overlooking the sea was memorable. Excellent 4* food from Arwel and team, his signature lamb dish was memorable. Breakfast is delicious all local produce and a good choice of cereals, fruit etc. An excellent hotel, food and service are comparable with any 4* hotel we have stayed in. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but a sea view is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed the food and service, we will pass on your comments to all the Staff. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
986 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
505 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: The Promenade Vaughan Street | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £94 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing