We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little bit of luxury by the sea”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My husband and I took his parents and my mum for a three-night stay. Between us we represent quite a challenging selection of disabilities and dietary needs, all of which were well catered for by extremely polite and helpful staff in all departments.

The food was amazing, including the vegetarian options, and the rooms were very comfortable. My Mum had an 'accessible' room, which had a lovely wet room and all the ameneties she needed - on request the staff added a bath seat and went out of their way to make sure she was comfortable. My husband and I had a top-floor room with a lovely view of the sea - going to sleep to the sound of the waves was wonderful!

Everything was very clean, including the swimming pool - a nice size pool, ozone-treated rather than chlorinated which my skin very much appreciated!

The only criticisms I have are the fact that there's no changing facilities for hotel guests at the pool, which means you have to pad along the corridor in your robe. I went very early in the morning so only met other swimmers, but could imagine this might be difficult for shy folks wanting a swim later in the day.

The biggest problem we had was the lack of car parking. Despite having a disabled badge there was nowhere to park - the hotel car park is tiny and doesn't have designated disabled spaces, and to our astonishment there are no designated disabled spaces on the front! We had to do a lot of shuffling of cars, dropping off the less-able bodied at the hotel and then having to park ten or fifteen minutes walk away on some occasions. That might not be a problem for some folks but with our range of difficulties it was a challenge!

The hotel staff were extremely helpful with luggage, however, so at least unloading and loading weren't a problem at all.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are excellent, and the accessible rooms are very good and can be well-adapted if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the food amazing and our staff very helpful. We are one of the few large hotels in the resort to have a car park and while we appreciate it is small our guests don’t normally experience problems either parking in our car park or on the Promenade. Our car park has one disabled parking bay and there are several disabled bays on the Promenade which are all very close to the hotel, so we are sorry you experienced problems during your stay which is not usual. We do hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

We were a party of four staying in 3 different rooms. the single was comfortable and perfectly adequate; the room for my wheelchair using father was excellent --basically a double room with a brilliant wet room with great accessability. we upgraded our standard double to a 4th floor suite with great sea views which we got for half price but was worth it because of the glorious weather we enjoyed at the end of August.
The hotel mainly caters for more mature guests but there were few children about who seemed to be made welcome. There was a wedding one night so plenty of children running around and more noise than usual.
We had dinner one night which was of a high standard but rather expensive and not huge -sized portions either. Quiet nights in the restaurant mean a lack of atmosphere making us more self-conscious and less relaxed.. However, the staff were brilliant and very friendly right across the hotel---probably the strong-point of the hotel.
We had a very nice meal out at Home Cooking in The town centre---nice food, reasonable prices and a good atmosphere but booking is essential for evening meals.

The smallish car park at the rear of the hotel was full when we arrived but we were still able to park there with our disabled guest by leaving our car keys with reception who would move it if necessary to allow other guests out. however, on the night of the wedding the car park was blocked off and we couldn't get back in. Not a great problem as you can usually get a space on the prom nearby of an evening and parking is free for blue badge holders anyway ( well done Llandudno town council!).
We took the old charabanc tour of the great Orme which was £5 well spent---great views and a wonderful commentary from the friendly and knowledgeable driver. Take a bottle of water because there's only a brief stop en route and not long enough to get a cup of tea!
The nearby Bodnant GARDENS ( National Trust) were lovely but beware if pushing a wheelchair--very hilly and really hard to get up and down everywhere--unsafe in places in my opinion.


Generally everybody was helpful in the hotel with our wheelchair but the lifts are on the small side for more than one person and luggage.
One negative at the hotel--the fire alarm went off at 2.30 in the morning which caused great consternation. I had to get from the 4th to the 2nd floor as my father could not evacuate himself in his chair. Fortunately the alarm went off as we were wondering what to do (false alarm!) but it was very scary for the many guests in rooms on all floors who were in wheel chairs.
I still don't know how we would have managed. When I spoke to the hotel staff they said that staff would assist but there didn't seem to be that many night staff around and ther were a number of guests in wheelchairs. The alarm went off again At 4.10am but went off after a few seconds and nobody seemed to move after the first false alarm.

I was surprised there was no notice of explanation in reception the next morning and staff only apologised when I raised the issue.
An unfortunate incident in an otherwise enjoyable stay.
I would still recommend the hotel but watch out for the special offers to make it more attractive and if you're a wheel chair user then be aware of the possible problems.

Room Tip: pay extra for a front-facing room for the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterwilliam_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for your review and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are obviously extremely sorry our guests were disturbed with the Fire Alarm going off. This was due to a guest smoking in one of the bedrooms which is not only forbidden but also a fire risk so while we regret the disturbance we appreciate our guests being understanding. Our receptionists always make a note of any guests with special needs in case of emergency evacuation so had it not been a false alarm we would like to assure you that assistance would have been provided for those that needed it. Our policy is to speak to our guests on an individual basis to apologise and provide an explanation so we are sorry that we obviously didn’t manage to speak to you and hope you accept our apologies for the disturbed night. We hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We have been visiting the Imperial Hotel for over thirty two years and never had a bad experience. We have just returned from a three night stay and had another enjoyable break. We were in a standard room overlooking the car park and the mountains in the distance. Our room was spacious, clean and had been upgraded. Comfortable bed; flat screen television, walk in wardrobe (fab) and lots of storage plus fresh bottled water every day. Lovely big bathroom with very large shower, roll-top bath, fluffy towels and the usual toiletries. Hotel was quiet at night so we had a good nights sleep.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis having previously stayed BBEM but we had elderly relatives with us and they prefer to eat out so that was the deciding factor in going BB. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice and we did not need to ask for more toast, which we usually have to do at other hotels.

All the staff were pleasant, well turned out and efficient.

We did have our lunch in the Veranda, which we all enjoyed whilst watching the world go by. The Veranda does get very busy so would advise you to get your seat before 12p.m. The hotel does make great coffee, especially cappuccino.

The hotel car park is not very big but there is parking on the front for £3 per day and free for ninety minutes down the side roads. Shops are a few minutes walk away and the pier about a twenty-minute stroll.

If you like Alice in Wonderland look out for the carved wooden statues, there are five to find which are spread out over the town.

We do like this hotel for short breaks as it is only one and a half hours away from where we live and we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and found the rooms comfortable, Our Terrace does get busy at lunchtimes and we are pleased you enjoyed you lunch
watching the world go by. The new Alice in Wonderland Statues situated around the town are fantastic for the resort and there are more to come. We hope to l welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Sirs,my wife & I booked 3 nights on a recommendation of a senior tourist information officer. It was our 45th. wedding anniversary so was extra special. We have no complaints regarding the room or breakfast, or hotel in general. However our booking £440. for 3 nights B+B, to include 2 dinners was another story! First dinner, my wife's steak was very tough, most of it left on edge of plate! and the accompanying vegetables had a sour taste,we were told by the restaurant manager "it was probably the Fennel or aniseed mixed with the veg?! that's as maybe. Two night later at dinner I ordered the "roast lamb" (£18.50) when it arrived I genuinely thought the lamb was arriving on a separate dish,there was liquidized peas,grated cabbage, two tiny roasted onions and a small cake of potatoes,at the end of the dish the size of a small golf ball, was the roast lamb!! just one small ball. This was certainly not an £18.50 dinner, starters & sweet by the way average an extra £6.50 so add another £13 for the three courses (£31.50) not including coffee. Complaints to the restaurant manager elicited that it was one of chef's "signal dishes" but to be fair to the manager he agreed with us regarding the price & portion sizes. I think their hotel "chef" had been watching too many TV cookery programmes.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and bargain with them,there are plenty of available rooms in Llandudno.especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for your review and we are disappointed with your comments about dining in our Award-winning Chantrey’s Restaurant. We are naturally sorry to learn that your wife’s steak was very tough as we use only local Welsh beef which is noted for its superior reputation for quality and taste and would have been more than happy to have rectified this on the night had we been made aware. With regard to the “Roast Lamb” this is Roast Loin of Welsh Lamb, a tender and superior lean cut of lamb, which is coated in a Mint Crumb and served with a Spiced Lamb Meatball so two elements of the finest lamb not one. This is our Executive Head Chef’s signature dish and also one of his most popular dishes which has gained great acclaim from diners, including from guests who were staying at the same time, and glowing comments from many of our Trip Advisor reviewers, so we are surprised that this was not to your liking. With regard to your comments on price, we are extremely competitive across the board on our menu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was a late booking for a birthday celebration with my wife.
Check in was quick and simple even though there was a wedding taking place at the time.
We had a fifth floor room with no sea view upgrade available, but it was clean, bright, with good decoration, a good sized comfortable bed, nice linen and a lovely big bathroom.
The hotel is well located on the sea front promenade, and after a nice walk, we returned for pleasant drinks at the bar, which we were able to take to a table outside.
The evening meal was absolutely superb in their Chantreys restaurant. We ate on the terrace and both the food and service were faultless, even though the restaurant was quite busy.
After a good night's sleep we had an excellent cooked breakfast, where once again the food and service were excellent. Checkout was painless, as there are plenty of staff at the reception.
Not the cheapest hotel, but I am a great believer in the fact that you get what you pay for, and in the Imperial you pay a good price, but you receive wonderful service, and wonderful food, which for a celebration is exactly what you want.

Room Tip: If you book well in advance, then request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John2495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and are pleased you had a superb meal in the Restaurant and the service excellent.. Hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Room 420, Sea View
This must be our favourite room at this hotel and, once again it didn't disappoint.
We ate at Chantre's the first night (as it was part of the package, Sunday by the Sea) and were pleasantly suprised. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Monday Lunch we had Salmon and Strawberries (as part of the Monday package) which, although wouldn't have be our first choice normally, were lovely.
Breakfasts were up to their usual, enjoyable standard.
Mint Condition was a nice distraction too.
Thanks too for a friendly Polish lady in the Restaurant. Unfortunately I didn't discover her name to mention her personally.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you enjoyed your stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great. Hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband I only stayed for the one night as the hotel was fully booked over the bank holiday weekend. It wasnt cheap at £195 the night room and breakfast but as I always say you normally get what you pay for and with The Imperial we felt we did. The room was a superior , seaview room, a beautiful elegant spacious room with sitting area , lovely large bathroom etc. Extremely comfortable bed . Tradititional but quietly elegant as the rest of the hotel from what we saw ( We were there too short a time ) Perfect position in the centre of the main promenade and close to the railway station for convenience. The main reception areas seemed busy but with a lovely ambience. We will definately return here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HYDE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
233 reviews
2 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: The Promenade Vaughan Street | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £105 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing