We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as Expected.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tarporley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as Expected.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Initial reception very good but allocated room on the 5th floor was extremely hot with very limited ventilation because of small window openings required as a safety measure. There is no air conditioning in the hotel. Comment to reception resulted in a move to a room on the side of the hotel that was much better. Staff were very considerate and helpful. The room was adequate but not exceptional for a four star hotel. Surprised that there was no fridge with drinks.
Dinner on the first evening was very disappointing though the service was good. We decided to eat elsewhere on the remaining two evenings at another four star hotel and this was a great improvement. Comment on food is very subjective but nevertheless we think the Imperial could offer better quality and a wider menu. Breakfast was good.
We were fortunate to obtain a space in the car park thanks to an attentive receptionist but without that space parking would have been a problem.
Staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful and generally speaking my wife and I enjoyed our stay, however at the price we expected more and for this reason were somewhat disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
It’s always nice to read comments about our staff and I’m pleased you found them considerate, friendly and helpful so I will make sure this is feedback to them. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    332
    109
    29
    21
See reviews for
251
474
37
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

The Imperial Hotel sits on the promenade in Llandudno, the architecture is from a bygone era which makes this a charming and characterful hotel. I love the differing floor heights as you found your way through the corridors to your room wee stairs here and there. The room was a surprise, spacious and well appointed although the bed is a little soft for me that's a minor detail. The BATH wow a modern take on an old stand-alone cast iron bath and deep, it was brill, you even get a bath robe and slippers.

The staff were professional, courteous and friendly. I was staying on business and I'd certainly recommend to my colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it's always nice to read comments about our staff and I’m pleased you found them professional, courteous and friendly so I will make sure this is fed back to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I have reviewed this hotel previously, but we returned on 31st May, 2013, where we stayed in an upgraded room with a sea view. This was well worth the small additional fee as we had a magnificent view across the bay.
The deal had prosecco in the room on arrival, and even though we checked in at 2.0.pm, it was in there, nicely chilled in ice and water and ready to drink.
The service at the hotel cannot be faulted, the staff are friendly but efficient, and the food is second to none in the restaurant, and the room and bathroom were spotless.
This is an excellent hotel, and no doubt I will return at a future date.

Room Tip: Fifth floor sea view rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John2495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you so much for your review regarding your recent visti to the hotel, it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay –we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Once again thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were attending a celebration (also taking place in the hotel)
Our room (No.101) initially looked fine.
Then we realsised that it was prepared for single occupancy:- 1 set of towels, 1 bottle of water etc.
There was no problem getting everything doubled up, but I would have expected an hotel commanding 4 stars to KNOW that they had allocated it as a double.

The other problem we had was that although we like a 'firm' mattress, the one in this room was what I would call 'extra firm' - too hard for us. Consequently a very restless night.

Price for this double room (a so-called special concession rate due to the celebration reception and dinner we were attending) - £130

On walking along the prom. in the morning we realised we could have had a room for both of us for almost a third of the price (O.K -only 3 star).

Positive comments due - The staff were exemplary. The breakfast excellent. We enjoyed our stay - just wish the room / bed had been better

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pantastic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your comments especially on our staff being exemplary and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. We’re obviously sorry the room hadn’t been equipped for double occupancy which will be raised with housekeeping and we’re also sorry you found the mattress too firm which we appreciate is down to personal preference. However your comment about price is unfair especially when you’re comparing us to a three star hotel which we don’t dispute is cheaper but quality standards are not the same. We are competitive with all four star hotels and while you may not have used Mint Condition, our health and fitness centre, we are the only hotel in the resort to offer our guests this very popular facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just got home after a 2 night stay in the excellent Imperial. As always the service was great, the staff professional and friendly, our room was fantastic, the food excellent, facilities outstanding. Can only say it was a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wenglish06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us and found the the food excellent and the service great, we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

I have stayed at the Imperial a few times for business in the last few months. The hotel is a traditional seafront hotel. The reception is good and the service is great in both the restaurant and the bar. I have always had a good sized room and I has been very comfortable with free Wifi. If I was to travel to Llandudno for leisure I would stay here

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Mid May '13, I attended a business event at the Imperial which I was very much looking forward to visiting as the Hotel had been highly recommended.

I am happy to report I was not disappointed, the Hotel staff were courteous and welcoming and the atmosphere was professional yet comfortable.

The food provided during the meeting surpassed that of all those I have attended this year and having spoken with staff regarding facilities I am eager to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladytess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your business meeting and enjoyed the food, your comments will be passed on to the staff and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street | The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing