We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have stayed here many times on business trips. The hotel has been around for a long time as all the hotels in the area have. The imperial is showing some signs of its age but it is clean, the staff are friendly and the rooms are adequate. The views at breakfast are nice overlooking the sea from the conservatory and food is of a good standard. There is some parking at the rear of the hotel and you can usually get in. I will stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, your comments will be passed on to the team as feed back is important and we look forward to welcoming you back soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    342
    112
    29
    22
See reviews for
260
502
38
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Lovely hotel with friendly staff. Only had breakfast, which was good. Hotel does have a swimming pool but hotel guests are not allocated changing facilities. This is off putting, having to go up in the lift wearing a housecoat with wet trunks is not ideal.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view and were happy with our room which also had a veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canonbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your comments about the changing facilities in Mint Condition. We are pleased you enjoyed Breakfast, sorry you didn't try our Restaurant but maybe we can tempt you when you next return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just returned from a weekend at the Imperial Llandudno. Lovely hotel with very comfortable clean rooms. The breakfast on our first morning was very poor and when I politely pointed this out to the waiter he was very rude and argued back, embarassing us in front of the other guests.Then instead of simply replacing the meals with an apology he brought one plate out from the kitchen with a few rashers and 2 sausages on it and banged it down on the table with a bad tempered comment, making it look like we were greedy and had complained of not having enough. When the manager came out to speak to us he agreed that the sausages were tough but he said that the reason for the hard, dry bacon was that it was drycured!!! He also said that the chef had said he would do better tomorrow. The next day our breakfast was exactly right so even though they had argued about it, quite obviously our comments had been taken on board. This was not the treatment you would expect from a four star hotel.
This was our second year at the Imperial and we had intended to visit every year but we will definitely not be going back there in future. Compliments to the housekeeping staff, however, they do a great job.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is well away from the function suite if you want to get to sleep before midnight...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We are extremely sorry to read your review regarding your stay and breakfast experience, the Restaurant Manager did speak to the waiter and you were made aware of this at the time, he also explained the bacon is,dry cured and the sausages are supplied by Edwards of Conwy, a renowned and award winning butchers. Thank you for your comments regarding Housekeeping these will be passed on to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I have been staying at The Imperial for the past 4 or 5 times a year for the past 10-12 years. Standards have always been high. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Food high quality, great table for the evening meal. Wonderful place to spend time with family. Only down pint was the weather. I suppose the staff couldn't do anything about that. My wife and I are already planning our next couple of dates to spend here.
We have some lovely memories of time spent with family and are looking forward to adding to these.

Room Tip: 5th floor balcony suites. Cost a little more but give a great view of sea, prom and pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Wonderful room with fine sea view!! All the staff very helpful and always happy.
A really nice hotel in a very good state of repair.The breakfast was very substantial with lots of choice. Also if you had your breakfast in the terrace you had a fabulous view of the promenade and sea. Llandudno is a very picturesque town.
A truly faultless weekend.
Thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view it adds to your peasure
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterShagnasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a delightful review, we are pleased you enjoyed your seaview room and found the staff helpful and happy. Your comments will be passed on to them. We agree Llandudno is a lovely town and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We got a decent deal at this hotel, including breakfast and dinner at the delightful restaurant , we managed to get a nice table , ok, going back to the beginning , the only thing which wasnt nice was the crowd who were in from a wedding , they were loud and rude , but you can't help that , the hotel is nice, but the spa needs a bit of a refurb , the hotel of course is in a bit of an old state however room was nice and big , we would probably come back

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequenttravels3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I had a lovely three days at the Imperial Hotel, Llandudno with a group of friends. Very comfortable stay and the weather was kind to us.
Breakfast service was a little slow and some of the staff had difficulty understanding our orders, but generally they tried hard.

Room Tip: sea view probably number 317
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing