We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful Xmas at the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Culcheth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Restful Xmas at the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Very good break, with excellent festive food and efficient friendly service.
Entertainment was harp, Llandudno Band, magician and excellent singer which attracted dancers, during the period. The included professional pantomime at the Welsh Theatre was surprisingly very well received.
Our only criticisms were very hot bedroom and need for longer entertainment on the Xmas Eve.
The lounge size is inadequate.when non-residents are allowed.
We were impressed with Managers active involvement to encourage participation.j
We now need to slim for several weeks.

Room Tip: 418 was good front room, but need for open windows and radiators off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodvalue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay over the Christmas period. We are pleased you enjoyed the entertainment and the Pantomime at the Theatre on Boxing Day. We feel the entertainment on Christmas Eve is popular and most of our guests feel it is on long enough, however we take your comments on board. Our Manager does have a very active role in the involvement and it proves popular with our guests. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    342
    112
    29
    22
See reviews for
260
502
38
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We went for a New Year's Eve package, a very warm welcome awaited us with afternoon tea, managers reception at 7 followed by a 7 course meal anytime between 7 and 9, food was so nice, we had hats and miniature bottles of whiskey, a box of chocolates in our room and a diary.
A piper played in new year, at 1 am there was bacon sandwiches, disco was good, late breakfast the following morning, good cooked breakfast, we could choose what to have, cereal, juice, fruit, yogurts, tea, coffee, porridge, all if you wished. Receptionist was excellent, very friendly

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanyllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your great review regarding your stay over New Year. We are pleased to read you enjoyed the Gala dinner, the Piper at midnight and the Bacon Sandwiches. The late breakfast on New Year’s Day is always popular. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Lovely setting, clean rooms. Pleasant reception. However, at the restaurant, things were not so good. Staff at the restaurant didn't seem that trained. Not sure if it is a language barrier as most of the serving staff seemed Eastern European. On breakfast, I had to clean up my own table, as the waitresses were 'too' busy, then not knowing what some of what it was on the menu was a bit annoying. What really made the trip was Amanda at the SPA. She is a true gem and made me and my husband feel very special, especially as it was my birthday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed our location and stay, however, we are sorry to hear you had a problem with our Restaurant and staff we will certainly look into this. We will pass on your comments regarding Mint Condition and Amanda of the Beauty Lounge, her treatments are very popular with our guests. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knutsford
Level Contributor
226 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel holds many memories for us, it's were we had afternoon tea on the first day that we met in 1997, we've now been married for 12 years, and we always go to the Imperial every time we visit Llandudno. The service is always good, although we have never stayed we have had many afternoon teas on the terrace, and meals in the restaurant, never a bad one. The food in the restaurant has always been excellent, the service friendly and efficient, in pleasant surroundings. Certainly a place to return to again and again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebonylynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review we are pleased you enjoy the food here at the hotel and will pass on your comments to the staff and Chef. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is situated right on the promenade, the rooms are really nice, very clean, we enjoyed the pool which closes at 6.00pm on Sunday evenings.
We managed to park the car right next to the Hotel and it was free until the next day at 10.30 am.
We took the Sunday night deal with dinner included which was excellent value for money!
Service in the restaurant was very messy, plenty of staff on but we had 3 waiters asking us to take our orders, then nobody to serve us with water although 2 different waiters went to the table next to us, we were never given any bread, but then we had 2 different waiters asking us if everything was alright..so friendly but not professional!
Great stay overall and will recommend!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our swimming pool located within Mint Condition our leisure centre. The pool is open from 7.30am – 9pm . We are pleased you found our Sunday by the Sea excellent value for money. We are sorry you felt the service in the restaurant was messy, we will address this with the Restaurant Manager. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

What can I say but THANK YOU SO MUCH for the friendly, efficient and professional way this party was organised by yourselves, led by the lovely Events Manager, Sarah Cullen.

Since my daughter and I first viewed your hidden gem of a now sadly unused nightclub, the once extremely popular Speakeasy Bar, we didn't want to view any other places for her 21st birthday party. IDEAL!!! and the decor has a funky, musical vibe which my daughter loves!

We booked it straightaway that day with Sarah and she immediately confirmed everything via email, as was the procedure throughout. Nothing was too much trouble for her; even changing the buffet and guest numbers midway through, and requesting a display board and other bits.
Each time, Sarah updated and confirmed our requirements.

On the day of the party, the hotel reception staff were friendly and efficient as I arrived to decorate the venue. As I waited for another member of staff to show me into the Speakeasy Bar, I observed the friendly and helpful way your reception staff dealt with new visitors checking in and even offering to assist one couple to their room. Very impressive and I could see that these guests were pleased with this service.

As I started to decorate the venue, a variety of attentive staff kept popping in to ensure the bar was well stocked and clean, that power points were ok and that the guest toilets were clean and that a bulb was changed.
I was asked if they could help in any way and went out of their way to find things like an extension cable for me.
Everything I'd asked for had been provided and the room looked even nicer set up for the buffet than I thought it would.
The 2 young bar men were absolutely fantastic with me and, later on, the guests. A big thanks to them!!

On arrival, tea lights had been lit on each table and snacks provided. The recommended DJ and security staff were first class; friendly and highly professional.

Everyone commented on how lovely the party was and a large part of its success is due to the excellent organisation and professionalism of your staff. Sarah especially. You really couldn't have done any more!!
We were even allowed to keep the presents, cake etc, overnight securely locked up at the venue.

I know a few people are impressed with Speakeasy after seeing it on Saturday night so hopefully you'll get repeat bookings.

Why don't you open it up as a (over 30s??) nightclub again? Llandudno needs a decent nightclub again!! Just a thought.. It's too good a place to be hidden away!

On behalf of my daughter, family and friends, THANKS AGAIN FOR A BRILLIANT PARTY!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BETH878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review, we are pleased your daughter, family and friends enjoyed the 21st party in our Speakeasy bar. Your comments will be passed on to Sarah and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Staff were very good and especially pleasant in the restaurant. Room was clean and tidy. We ate in the restaurant on Sunday evening and the food was just average. A bit tasteless really. Service however was excellent. Bit dark in the restaurant for our liking and the background music which was also the same at breakfast a bit depressing. Lose the music! Ok stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank givey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review we are pleased you found the service and staff excellent. We are very disappointed to hear your evening meal was not memorable as we take pride in our outstanding reputation for food, so we will be looking into this. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back and hope you will try Chantrey’s Restaurant again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing