We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend Break”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend Break”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We upgraded to a seaview room, the room had everything that was needed, comfy chairs, bottled water, even a robe and slippers (more about the robe later), very spacious only thing missing was a room safe.
A gem of the hotel is the beauty room, it's one room, one beautician, but she was so professional with little extra touches, heated treatment bed, gentle classical music not the normal whale music, if you go to the hotel, treat yourself.
The weak part of the hotel is the pool area. The reception staff were excellent but even when we asked about the spa they never explained you had to change in your room and walk about the hotel to the spa and back (when damp/wet) in the robe slippers out of your room, it does tell you that in the room file but we only read the fire procedure not the large file. I know a steam room is suppose to be wet but the hotel steam room did not have a nice smell, it actually smelt damp and mouldy.
We ate dinner at the hotel, it was so nice to see people making an effort to dress nicely, made it more of an occasion. The restaurant staff were superb, there but not fussing over you. After a lovely meal desserts were just the right size, not too much.
Breakfast was excellent and again the restaurant staff could not do enough for you. Ask for the fried bread, the best I've had in years, it's worth the unhealthy treat.
Would have given hotel 5* but pool area lets it down

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    348
    113
    29
    22
See reviews for
262
510
39
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed a couple of nights Jan 2014 - as usual the hotel was clean and warm. Excellent fine dining, loverly room and excellent staff. 5 stars from us. We hve stayed a number of times and would highly recommed this great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an excellent stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great. We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed one night on Saturday 25th January and had a lovely stay.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was good with a wide selection of food available and excellent service. I made use of the Mint Condition Health Spa and gym and was impressed with the facilities on offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crawford21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your excellent review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you back to soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for my 50th birthday.Hotel staff very friendly excellent service by all.The breakfast was superb,our room had sea view and was spacious,clean and very comfortable.The only item missing was a fridge in the room for my CHAMPAGNE......

Room Tip: Ask for corner suite at front as spacious and lovely view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your review, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us and found the service and staff excellent, Thank you once again for choosing The Imperial and we hope to welcome you back soon.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Having booked a table on the spur of the moment and not knowing much about it I had fingers crossed that all would be well, we especially wanted to impress our Ozzie guest after a disastrous experience at the President hotel in London.
We were not disappointed. It was quite the nicest place to dine we had been in a long while. The staff were attentive without hovering, all of them without exception, were smartly dressed, good humoured and helpful.
The food arrived beautifully cooked, and perfectly presented..
Our Australian friend was suitably impressed, as we all were.
I can't say anything about the rooms but the toilets were spotless, and I imagine that the rest of he place will be of the same standard.
Well done to all the staff who were on duty last Saturday evening. We will certainly be recommending the Imperial Hotel, Llandudno,
I am happy to report that our guest will travel home with fond memories, not of the mighty London hotels but of lovely Llandudno. So many thanks to all at the Imperial Hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soolibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted you and your guest enjoyed the food and service, we will pass on your comments to the staff as feedback is important, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

To start with we paid a lot of money to stay at this Hotel. We were expecting a balcony overlooking the promenade, but had a room over the kitchen area. A very noisy early morning affair. I must say the room was very clean and spacious but the bed was lumpy and we had to purchase a topper to cover the lumps.
The breakfast was excellent; morning tea/coffee was very good. The lighting over the tables very poor. I was unable to read the complementary paper. The hotel offered free vehicle parking, but when arrived guess what. Not parking!!
But the worst thing of all was I left our Apple I pad next to the table in our room. We did ring the office to help find the I pad and as the room had not been used after us the chances were good to locate it. But to our horror it was not there. This was a Christmas present from out son and cost 399 UK pounds. I know it was my fault, but why was it taken from the room by persons unknown?
I did ring the manager and all I got from him was an accusation of accusing the staff of theft. This I did remind him that I never accused him, the staff or any one at all. A person has to be very careful about accusing somebody with theft.
I have reported the loss to the North Wales Police Constabulary, has a talk to the person that reordered all the details and concluded that the pad was taken by persons unknown. I would hope that the person that has it has a conscious and reports it or hands it back in.

Room Tip: Don't leave any thing behind!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert-t-hey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room, we do have rooms with balconies on the 5th floor of which there are only 6 sea facing rooms with balconies these carry additional supplements. The room you had been allocated was 408 one of our largest rooms which is located at the back of the hotel with has views over the town and you can see the Menai Straits, Anglesey and Snowdonia. We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast. We would naturally love to have a large car park, it would make a dramatic difference to all our guests. We are fortunate in that we are one of the few hotels in the centre of the resort to be able to offer a limited number of parking spaces. There is ample parking spaces on the Promenade and find on the whole that guests are able to find a place to park adjacent to the hotel. We are very sorry you have lost your Ipad, as you are aware we have looked into this and the Ipad was not in the room. We were able to read the lock history and spoken to all staff that have been in the room after your departure. We did suggest to you use I Cloud to try and locate your Ipad. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a business trip on a Monday night and had a lovely stay. Great customer service and great food.

The room was spacious and warm and great for an evenings work.

Kate (polish girl?) was especially attentive. Hopefully I can come back for a leisure trip soon!

Thanks

Jon

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to writet a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, your comments will be passed on to Kate and the other membes of staff, and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing