We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well run hotel”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I visited this hotel in the days leading up to Easter and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff members are excellent and made me welcome. I asked for a sea view and was given a balcony room. It was up in the eaves of the hotel which meant the seaview was partially hidden from view. The bonus of a balcony at no extra price clearly makes this worthwhile for some people so this isn't a complaint in any way but I wanted a clearer view of the sea. I rarely ask to change rooms but was very impressed by the speed at which this was done. I even received a courtesy call to check that my new room met my requirements. I would just suggest if you are after a sea view it may be worth clarifying which of the options you prefer.

I dined in the restaurant, enjoying the warm croissants in the morning and the lovely food in the evening. There was live, gentle music most nights which was excellent. There's something special about dining with a sea view with harp music playing in the background.

The car park is small but the parking arrangements are such that on street parking isn't the hassle it is some places. I mostly succeeded in getting in the car park but managed when this wasn't possible without major problems. I realise the time of year may have affected this.

I would consider this my first choice of accommodation for this area and the loyalty card scheme set up seems very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased our staff sorted out your room requirements. We are also delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,249)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

just stayed here for the one night, we requested a room with a walk in shower as I do not like climbing into a bath to use a shower, when we arrived we were informed that we had been upgraded to a room with a walk in shower at no additional cost , so this was a good start, check in was smooth and without problem, the room was a nice size, clean , tidy, well furnished with all the usual bits and pieces you would expect, ok we only had a view of the back but it was for one night, apart from a few red wine stains on the carpet , everything else was as good as you could expect ,

the staff were very helpful, professional and pleasant all the time, the bar staff were friendly and the cocktails were flowing freely, if its not on the list just ask, restaurant staff again, well trained, polite and professional.

the Food, we had dinner here and i will say it was excellent, top class, very well cooked, presentation was as good as you will get in any Michelin stared restaurant and is a dining experience not to be missed if you want fine dining.

we did not use the swimming pool or any other facilities but they were being well used, car park is small but there is plenty of parking all around. we found the cost of this hotel very reasonable when you compare the price with what we pay down south , yes it is not the cheapest hotel by far but then if you want a cheap hotel there are plenty of them around Llandudno

overall this hotel is very good from start to finish, we arrived in Llandudno with a unit to drop of , we were asked were we were staying and when we said the Imperial we were told it was one of the best in Llandudno and it did not disappoint us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgermaster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed wonderful review, we are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a meal at The Imperial while staying in Llandudno and were very impressed. We were drawn in by the menu advertized outside which is apparently the bar menu but we wandered into the restaurant and were so glad we did. It was more expensive but the food was superb and we are not easily pleased. Add to that excellent low key service, piano and sax playing in the background (live) a sea view if you get a table at the front and you get an extremely enjoyable experience. Be warned it IS pricey but for a special treat while on holiday we would say well worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamryles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent Easter weekend here with our three children. The room was perfect - two proper bedrooms and an extra bed in the main room meant that we were all accommodated with room to spare. Enormous bathroom - everything you could need , and the porter even bought a small fridge to the room to keep my daughter's medicine cool. The sea view was wonderful and we were blessed with the sunshine. The décor is clean and tidy even if some might consider the style a bit dated. We were more than happy with it. Staff were all very helpful, breakfast and the restaurant (2 meals) were superb. A great stay and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: You do get some noise from the floor above so opt for the top floor if this is likely to annoy you
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your great review. We are please you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The refurbishment of this hotel has been completed to a poor standard.
Rooms are comparable to a travel lodge. The bathroom in particular made me cringe.
However the staff and service are excellent. Breakfast was good quality and we didn't feel rushed to get in and out.
Bar prices are very high for the selection on offer, paying roughly ten pound for a pint a glass of wine and twenty pound for a cheap bottle of wine.
Based on room and drink prices I would not return to this hotel although the staff deserve praise for their excellent service.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qGonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We regret your disappointment with your room and would have preferred having the opportunity to address your points at the time of your visit rather than via this review. However we are pleased you found the staff and service excellent and will pass on your comments to them. The cost of drinks and wines are on par with other 4 star hotels in Llandudno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Thanks to all the hotel staff for another , very short but excellent stay at this very special hotel. I knew that I should have booked both Saturday and Sunday but opted for just the Sunday by the Sea offer. However it was another super stay, from the moment you speak to reception to the minute you walk out you feel that the whole staff are there to make your stay a real pleasure- and they have always succeeded. Superb Sunday meal in a relaxed atmosphere and breakfast a treat as always.
Diolch yn fawr I bawb- gwesty or safon uchaf- hope to see you all soon.

Room Tip: Worth facing the front,.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and reception sorted out your loyalty card. The card is proving very popular with our guests, We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Second time we have stayed here. Last time we stayed in a family suite but this time stayed in a room for two with sea views and a balcony. The room was amazing and the views from the balcony was superb. We were lucky enough to eat our meal in the veranda area looking out towards the sea. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the staff attentive without being in your face. Would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liderth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £114 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing