We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

On our first trip to Llandudno we visited the Imperial for 2 nights on a super sunny time of the month. After a 3hr drive we pulled up expecting to park at the hotel but found absolutely no room at all. We spent a lot of time during the stay shuffling the car around between free parking bays and the 12 hour train station parking facility. That was a bit of a pain. The hotel did offer a complimentary Ice cream on arrival which was a very nice touch though!!
We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the carpet. The room was very spacious with a huge bed and a massive bathroom with shower and free standing bath. Although the rooms looked clean on the surface, there definitely isn't much attention to detail as the bath taps were incredibly dusty, the kettle was grubby and the sideboard was covered in dust too. Still, we didn't let this spoil our stay as with a quick rinse all was fine again!
The breakfast in a morning nada good selection and we were quickly seated in the promenade area. The only complaint I have is the lack of attentiveness from staff- we had to ask three times for more coffee and on one occasion they served my partner and didn't offer me a refill.
The bar staff were also a little rude and did not start up any small talk whilst we waited, just spoke in foreign languages between themselves.
We did enjoy a cream tea on the terrace one day though which was lovely and the lunch time staff were very friendly and chatty; giving us good warning about the seagulls!
The hotel does have a grand old fashioned feel about it and is quite nice in the majority. Some of the decor could do with an update ie peach wallpaper but I suppose that's all down to individual taste. The sash windows made it feel unbearably hot in the evenings and air con wouldn't have gone amiss.
After staying in some fine hotels I wouldn't class this as a 4* unfortunately and did begrudge paying the expense for the room but it was a good place to rest our head and relax for a few days.
I wouldn't return here

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we would naturally love to have a large car park, we are one of the few hotels in the centre of the resort to offer car parking facilities. We are surprised to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room, the majority of our reviews praise the cleanliness of our rooms however, we will take up your comments with our housekeeping department. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch on the terrace. Our prices are on par with other 4 star hotels in Llandudno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    354
    115
    29
    23
See reviews for
266
517
39
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A friend and I spent 24 hours in the Imperial, Llandudno while attending the first appearance of the magnificent Sir Tom Jones in North Wales. Our twin room was large, comfortable and well-equipped. Breakfast was the usual array of hot and cold food but included kippers and smoked haddock at no extra cost. Although none of the menus were labelled for food allergies, gluten free bread is readily available and all staff, including the night porter, who produced gluten free leek and potato soup and a chicken sandwich at 11.30pm, are trained to understand the needs of the gluten free guest. Lunch in the conservatory overlooking the seafront was a delicious chicken caesar salad minus croutons. A good choice of other options was available and although we didn't eat dinner the menu looked varied and interesting.

Yes, the car park is tiny but many hotels on the Llandudno seafront don't have one at all. The main positive attribute of the Imperial is its lovely staff. The girls on reception were warm, friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Similarly the dining room staff were all very efficient and cheerful. I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireCheshirecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review, it’s great to hear you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us. We are always happy to accommodate dietary requirements and pleased you read you enjoyed your meals and you found the staff friendly and efficient, your comments will be passed on as feedback is important. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This is not a four star hotel. The car park is pitifully small for the number of guests the hotel can accommodate. Staff ask guests to leave car keys at reception so that cars can be moved around to allow access. However I was told by reception staff that no responsibility is taken for any damage to cars! The double bedroom we where given bore no resemblance to pictures on web site. Room 326 was tiny, bathroom small and on a very warm day heavy curtains had to be kept drawn, for any privacy
as there are no voile or lighter curtains to use.
Had to queue for breakfast on first morning, about 10 people in front of us. Not what to expect in a four star hotel. Although breakfast was good, no complaints about the food.
As mentioned by another reviewer, the corridor into hotel from the car park is very "tatty and unkempt". More like a service corridor.
The cost of the room did not represent value for money. Would not stay at Imperial Hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FloraZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
In response to your review. I am however sorry that, unlike the vast majority of our guests and online reviewers, you didn't enjoy your stay with us and did not feel it was worth the money. We are very proactive in dealing with the few complaints that we receive., if you did bring your concerns regarding your room to our attention whilst at the hotel I am confident we would have been able to better meet your needs and ensure you did enjoy your stay. We are one of the few large hotels in the resort to have a car park and while we appreciate it is small our guests don’t normally experience problems either parking in our car park or on the Promenade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have stayed at the Imperial many times over the last 15 years, firstly with the children and my parents, and more recently with my mother, sister and husband. Although we have stayed in many hotels, abroad and in this country, I have never found a hotel with such class and an ambiance that can't be defined. From the minute you walk in, you feel special! The service is second to none and you feel as if nothing is too much trouble. Yes, the hotel has been modernized over the years, however, it has not lost it's old-fashioned charm. I love being escorted to my table in the dining room, having the chair pulled out for me and using linen napkins! The rooms and public areas are so clean and sitting in the conservatory with the glorious views of the coast, you could almost believe you were abroad! My husband and I are celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary soon, and although I have looked for somewhere different to go for a couple of night, I think we will probably end up here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 573annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you very much for posing a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your return stay with us. I also very much appreciated your comments about the traditional decor and charm of the hotel. I will ensure your comments are passed on the staff and hope to welcome you back for your special anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked last minute and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The rooms were fantastic, spacious, clean and well furnished. The staff were professional and attentive. The restaurant provided an excellent evening meal with very attentive staff. The food was delicious and although a little pricey was well worth it. Loved the hotel and will certainly return again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted you had a wonderful stay stay with us,your comments will be passed on to the staff, and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This old Victorian hotel is 4* & it lives up to that billing. Free ice cream on arrival (nice touch) & helpful staff. They cocked - up my newspaper order, but immediately sent someone out to correct it. Our room was spacious & had all the necessary extras you would expect. The bathroom was huge & we really enjoyed the space ! The old-fashioned sash windows were a revelation (as no aircon). Breakfast was ample with a wide selection of choices, waiters/waitresses polite & efficient.
Good tip :- Do not sit inside in the restaurant, ask for a table nearest the Promenade, much lighter & airier. The swimming pool/ fitness centre is in good nick, well worth a visit. You get what you pay for here - 4* quality.

Room Tip: Try & check-in by 3.30 p.m. as the hotel car park does not accommodate all the rooms. This means...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBrian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review regarding your recent visit to the hotel, it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay – I hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Once again thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights traveling with my elderly mother. Upgraded our room to a superior. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated & immaculately clean. Unfortunately we had a view of a car park! We stayed during a bit of a heat wave... an oscillating fan provided by the front desk kept our room well aired. The bathroom was huge, towels plush, plenty of hot water for a well pressurized shower within a full bath. Robes & slippers provided. Toiletries were of a excellent standard.The main lobby and anteroom to the restaurant have lovely seating areas for relaxing or having refreshments. The corridors are bright & well maintained. The staff at reception as well as the porters cannot do enough for you. Less than 20 minute to The Pier. There is a "Debenhams" around the corner. Less than 10 minute stroll to Llandudno train station. Lovely visit. Would easily recommend this hotel (shame the restaurant service is dire).

Room Tip: Room 406 has view of parking lot, receives full sun and you MUST descend a few steps to approach roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSWeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLlandudno, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
877 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
912 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing