We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another good stay”
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Over the last year I have stayed at The Imperial several times. On one occasion I had a complaint but this was dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner which is the mark of a quality establishment. As I was staying on business it is always nice at the end of the working day to return to the calm and quality of this very nice hotel. I have just finished staying there five nights and had a very pleasant stay. Staff very friendly, nice room, nice food, very good room service. If I have any minor "carps" I would say that the swimming pool area and the gym look a little tired but they remain fit for purpose and are definitely an asset to be used by guests. I look forward to my next stay there. Llandudno is a very nice, relaxing place and so is this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHBristol_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    363
    122
    31
    24
See reviews for
284
532
41
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We've stayed at The Imperial in Llandudno a number of times over the years and it never disappoints ... the ambience, service, comfort and food always top class. If anything the hotel has just gone on improving in almost every respect. The New Years' Eve Gala Dinner was superb.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brucejakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We decided to see the New Year in away from home for the first time but didn't want to be travelling too far. We chose the Imperial as it had been recommended to us and went for the New Year package. From arriving and checking in the service was excellent with a very relaxed atmosphere and we were given a great room on the 5th floor with its own balcony and views across the bay. The itinerary for the New Year bash was well planned and the champagne reception early evening certainly did not disappoint with plenty of bubbly flowing.The seven course meal was excellent as was the service at the tables and we rang the New Year in with a very convivial atmosphere. The spa and gym was very well equipped and we took advantage of that on New Years day. All in all a very good break with superb service.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This was our fourth year we had spent new years eve here and i have to say the service and quality of the hotel was outstanding as usual. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, they just cant do enough and their welcome is so friendly in reception also the resturant staff are fantastic.They made the run up to new year for us so special and ofcourse new year's eve itself. They really know how to organize a party. The rooms are superb and all of a high standard. And we enjoyed the wide range of facilities which includes a large sized swimming pool, jaccuzi, steam room and sauna. It must be the best hotel in Llandudno and in our opinion one of the best in North Wales. Therefore we will keep coming back for new year and sometimes we also stay there throughtout the year.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikejones03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I stayed at this hotel over the Christams period with my family. There was 4 adults and 2 children who were 15 years old. From the moment we arrived the staff who worked there could not do enough for you. The hotel rooms were superb and the food in the restaurant excellent. Also the leisure facilities which are open to the residents are brill. There is a gym, swimming pool, jacussi, sauna and steam room. We had a magical 3 day stay and we will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rach034Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Everything is relative, I know. But this hotel is not afraid to charge, and when you see a high price, you expect a high standard. And they do not deliver.

The reception service was not particularly firendly. No porter service that I could see, although I didn't need it so didn't look too hard. The key didn't work in the room when I got there, and took two trips back to reception to get a working one. The tv seemed to be the Freesat service, so no pay tv and no sports stations.

The corridoors were shabby. The room was nice, but plain. The bathroom was adequate, but nothing special. The shower water never got beyond "very warm", and occasionally jumped to "cool", causing many leaps out of the way. Bathroom accessories ok.

We had dinner, and most were happy with the food, even if it was on the pricey side, considering the fare on offer. Service from our waiter (possibly head waiter) over dinner was very good. Three course dinner, without drinks, was about £ 34 - 38, which was a little on the expensive side.

The bed was comfortable, and although my sleep was ok, colleagues complained about not getting any sleep at all, possibly due to some heavy weather. They were all to the front of the hotel, I was at the rear. Pillows were very good, and there was an iron plus board in the room.

The gym and pool were not good. A colleague was asked to get off the treadmill because one of the staff wanted to give a private workout to a member - thats not good enough. Another colleague attempted to go for a swim but there are no changing rooms for guests - again, only for members. You're supposed to change in your room and walk down in your togs and a robe, and then presumably walk back up again in wet togs and a robe. All no use of course if you cant fit into the robe - and one of my colleagues couldnt, so got no swim. If a workout in a nice gym or pool is part of your decision - then dont choose here !

The bar was nice, pleasant staff, and the breakfast was very good, and well served. I recommend the porridge - delicious !

The car park is tiny, and not secure, and if you enter the hotel from that side, you get a very bad first impression.

Wifi everywhere, but didnt seem a very fast.

Overall - good, but not great. Not even very good. And for the price, you expect more. Meets all minimum requirements.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathalr_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2010

This is a lovely hotel in Llandudno with nice veiw. We stay for weekend, our room was nice and clean, breakfast was fantastic.we had a great time. We will be come back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superstar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
943 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing