We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let me put you off - try it & disagree with me ?”
Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
Ranked #13 of 209 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't let me put you off - try it & disagree with me ?”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This pokey little Italian (the restaurant not the boss) is OK, but not a place I would dine in again. It is hot & sweaty in Summer & quite dingy as the lighting is poorly spaced. Whilst the staff are all perfectly pleasant & attentive, sadly they all looked as if they needed a good wash (that includes the females) ! The knapkins & tablecloths were all tired too. Service was fine & the food was good, in fact my beef cannelloni was really tasty. Mind you, another downside is that the kitchen is open to the restaurant itself & cooking smells etc. waft into the dining area. For my wife & I having had starters/mains/bottle of wine/one beer the cost was just under £45. So not a rip-off, more of a drive off...............

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigBrian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    170
    50
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Disappointed! ”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We came here last year and were looking forward to eating here again. Red wine was warm. Starter was tasty but pasta dish arrived lukewarm and quite bland. I had the chicken dish with vegetables which were plain and tasted like they were microwaved. The staff seemed to be rushing about-it was busy but it can still be busy AND organised? We tried to get their attention for us to have a liquer but they brought the bill instead! We did not wait around. Maybe we expected too much or chose the wrong dishes but this time we were disappointed. Its a shame but we wont be doing a return visit.

Helpful?
Thank jaynem24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Everything was excellent speed of service to the quality of food the restaurant was busy but it didnt feel busy would recommend to anyone who enjoys real Italian food cooked by Italians

Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-on-Thames, England
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very good meal”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a cosy restaurant near the sea front. It was fairly quiet for a Sunday night. I chose pork medallions followed by pancakes with banana and chocolate sauce; my girlfriend had vegetable lasagne. All the food was nice and piping hot. Service was good and friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pitcairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Wales”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lived in Italy 20 years and have just had the best italian meal outside of Italy.
From the starter to the desserts perfect ,also very friendly and good price as well.
Thank you very much
Will recommend to my friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 999jono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing