We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel and gardens, poor service in restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Stayed one night here, the hotel and gardens are all stunning. The food in the main restaurant was very good but the service was very poor. Drinks were very hard to get, had to leave my chair twice to round someone up for a drink, had to eat main course without wine, it came as I finished, also we were left looking at empty plates for far too long, at this level we expect much more. We really hate to be negative but the hotel needs to know in order to put things right. Otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidRedfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

This is our 3rd stay at the hotel. In thus time we have stayed in two of their beautiful cottages and one of the suites in the main hotel.
All of these are beautifully furnished and kept. And a maid comes every evening to turn the beds down.
The service has been excellent and the staff are always very helpful.
The breakfasts are lovely and the bistro on the grounds has a lovely selection of meals.
Unfortunately we've not managed to try the spa yet, however if everything else in the hotel is to go by it will be lovely.
And only a short drive to the town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsnickip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

although we have stayed in 5* hotels before, this must be one of the best hotels. The food is first class, the staff are all friendly & professional. The spa & health club are in my wife's words "one of the best she has ever used".

we were so impressed we booked another weekend treat before we left.

Room Tip: speak to the staff - they are very helpful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckleyman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The Really Good
- The Service: The service was on a level that I've very rarely seen before - a real sense of 'welcome to our hotel'. The skill and the attitude of the staff really made our stay;
- The Hotel and Gardens: This is a lovely place and the gardens are wonderful;
- The Cottage: We stayed in one of the cottages on two floors which are set slightly behind the hotel. The layout is great and it was really nice to be able to open the windows and hear the wildlife first thing in the morning.

The OK but not quite up to the Standard of the Rest
- The Food: I was quite surprised that the food wasn't better given the award winning chef. The belly pork in the starter could have done with slightly longer to cook, the portion size (particularly in the starter with the singular scallop) was slightly on the small side, my main course (beef) went back for a replacement as there was no pink at all in the middle of a medium rare fillet (leaving my wife to eat her main course on her own) and, most disappointing of all, the chocolate mousse for dessert was fairly heavy and quite bland. With the number of good chocolates around, a really good chocolate mousse should be easy to create. The milk sorbet and peanut brittle were great so a good chocolate mousse would have made a very good dessert. Breakfast was also a little disappointing - only continental breakfast is included (despite the £265 per night price for the room) and that was fairly unimaginative.
- The Spa: Use of the spa is included. The pool area really is quite cramped and dimly lit. I'm not sure if the low lighting is intended to create a realxing atmosphere but the pool area could really do with a couple of roof lights to let some natural light in. The changing rooms also didn't seem quite up to standard with no hand basins (other than a small one in the single toilet).

Despite the fact that I've written more about the 'OK' parts (good food is an important part of a hotel stay for me) this is a really good hotel with excellent staff. Overall I paid just over £400 for one night and dinner (with a drink before and a bottle of wine with the meal). At this level it's beginning to compete with, for example, the Gilpin Lodge (Lake District) and I would have to say that Gilpin is definitely better on the food front. At this price, Bodysgallen Hall didn't quite feel like it was value for money, despite the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheGreatOutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This is THE place in North Wales. It is elegant and stunning and the service is outstanding.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank historybuff28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I travelled with my husband to this beautiful Hotel from the 14th to 16th January. The hotel just oozes traditional English heritage.
We stayed in Park Cottage which was like a home away from home ...
Our friends joined us on the Saturday and we spent a lovely relaxing day in the spa before eating in the main restaurant where the food was nothing short of exquisite ( although I must say our meal in 1620 Bistro on Friday night was exceptional).

A very special place for a special occasion.

I would happly recommend this hotel without any reservation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueplev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Where better to welcome in the New Year ?! A Country House with blazing log fires, great food and friendly efficient staff who look to be genuinely enjoying their work. The Spa is excellent too, as are the walking trails in the nearby woods.Shame we had to leave !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satisfiedcustomer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,291 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,451 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
976 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £215 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing