We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many, Many Positives - Sadly Not the Bistro.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Many, Many Positives - Sadly Not the Bistro.”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My lasting memory of Bodysgallen will be the stunning gardens - and this from a woman who can't garden to save her life! They are truly spectacular.
The hotel is a magnificent building, full of character and charm. We stayed in a cottage in the grounds - and there are several to choose from. In style, very chintzy and to a particular taste, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Turn down service and all aspects of housekeeping were excellent.
The service was very good in general although a little stiff and sombre perhaps. This is without a doubt an excellent hotel, catering for a more mature clientele. They do make this clear from the start I must say. Children under 6 are not permitted in the hotel for example and swimming times for over 6's in the spa's pool ( lovely staff here ) are restricted to an hour in the morning and one in the afternoon. No problem. There are numerous hotels who cater almost exclusively for young families so there should be a balance.
We had a lovely time but if I have a gripe - yes, here it is - I'm afraid it's the food. I must make it clear here that we did not eat dinner in the main restaurant, so this criticism does not extend to that. We did however eat in the bistro and breakfast in the dining room. The bistro food I'm sad to say was poor: bland, unseasoned and the driest risotto I've probably ever eaten. We were quite surprised that the quality of the food was so far removed from the excellence of the rest of the hotel.
Breakfast was decent - certainly the cold selection was - but when it came to cooked offerings we were given cold scrambled eggs and cold mushrooms, bacon so cremated it shattered when you cut into, tasteless smoked haddock it and very ordinary toast. Not great.
This did not spoil our few days there but our overall experience could have been so much better had the food been up to scratch.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReviewerCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    134
    41
    25
    17
See reviews for
116
390
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We had stayed at the hotel a few years ago and again recently for a business conference so we thought we would return to have a treat for my birthday. We weren't disappointed! Our four poster bedroom was beautiful we enjoyed a delightful afternoon tea, had a lovely relaxing afternoon in the fabulours Spa and enjoyed a beautifully presented dinner in the evening. Nothing is ever too much trouble with all the staff - they go out of their way to ensure you feel like the most important person staying in the hotel.
The views from the hotel are stunning.
Despite the rain, we had a very special visit and we'll deflnitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarporley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherfarm
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Stayed one night here, the hotel and gardens are all stunning. The food in the main restaurant was very good but the service was very poor. Drinks were very hard to get, had to leave my chair twice to round someone up for a drink, had to eat main course without wine, it came as I finished, also we were left looking at empty plates for far too long, at this level we expect much more. We really hate to be negative but the hotel needs to know in order to put things right. Otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidRedfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This is our 3rd stay at the hotel. In thus time we have stayed in two of their beautiful cottages and one of the suites in the main hotel.
All of these are beautifully furnished and kept. And a maid comes every evening to turn the beds down.
The service has been excellent and the staff are always very helpful.
The breakfasts are lovely and the bistro on the grounds has a lovely selection of meals.
Unfortunately we've not managed to try the spa yet, however if everything else in the hotel is to go by it will be lovely.
And only a short drive to the town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsnickip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2011

although we have stayed in 5* hotels before, this must be one of the best hotels. The food is first class, the staff are all friendly & professional. The spa & health club are in my wife's words "one of the best she has ever used".

we were so impressed we booked another weekend treat before we left.

Room Tip: speak to the staff - they are very helpful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckleyman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The Really Good
- The Service: The service was on a level that I've very rarely seen before - a real sense of 'welcome to our hotel'. The skill and the attitude of the staff really made our stay;
- The Hotel and Gardens: This is a lovely place and the gardens are wonderful;
- The Cottage: We stayed in one of the cottages on two floors which are set slightly behind the hotel. The layout is great and it was really nice to be able to open the windows and hear the wildlife first thing in the morning.

The OK but not quite up to the Standard of the Rest
- The Food: I was quite surprised that the food wasn't better given the award winning chef. The belly pork in the starter could have done with slightly longer to cook, the portion size (particularly in the starter with the singular scallop) was slightly on the small side, my main course (beef) went back for a replacement as there was no pink at all in the middle of a medium rare fillet (leaving my wife to eat her main course on her own) and, most disappointing of all, the chocolate mousse for dessert was fairly heavy and quite bland. With the number of good chocolates around, a really good chocolate mousse should be easy to create. The milk sorbet and peanut brittle were great so a good chocolate mousse would have made a very good dessert. Breakfast was also a little disappointing - only continental breakfast is included (despite the £265 per night price for the room) and that was fairly unimaginative.
- The Spa: Use of the spa is included. The pool area really is quite cramped and dimly lit. I'm not sure if the low lighting is intended to create a realxing atmosphere but the pool area could really do with a couple of roof lights to let some natural light in. The changing rooms also didn't seem quite up to standard with no hand basins (other than a small one in the single toilet).

Despite the fact that I've written more about the 'OK' parts (good food is an important part of a hotel stay for me) this is a really good hotel with excellent staff. Overall I paid just over £400 for one night and dinner (with a drink before and a bottle of wine with the meal). At this level it's beginning to compete with, for example, the Gilpin Lodge (Lake District) and I would have to say that Gilpin is definitely better on the food front. At this price, Bodysgallen Hall didn't quite feel like it was value for money, despite the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGreatOutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This is THE place in North Wales. It is elegant and stunning and the service is outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank historybuff28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,231 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,594 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing