We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow - amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wow - amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

This has to be one of the best places I've stayed and also one of the nicest locations. Ok - I like Wales a lot. Maybe I'm a little biased but this hotel and it's cottages are tremendous. The staff are excellent. The rooms are so clean and well appointed. They even put fresh ground coffee and caffitiere for you to use.

I stayed in one of the cottages - this is very close to the spa which is free to residents. The spa it's self - great place. Great gym, pool and sauna.

The hotel is in some lovely grounds complete with sheep and rabbits every where.

If you need to stay in Llandudno or around - you could do far far worse:)

Room Tip: Probably they are all great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thurstonland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    127
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
370
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

My friends and I are frequent visitors to Bodysgallen Hall and enjoy lunch and afternoon tea in the comfort of a wonderfully relaxing and tranquil atmosphere.
We recently enjoyed a meal with over 90 members of our International Wine & Food Society, who were visiting from all over the world. The meal was highly praised by all attending and those from the UK expressed a wish to return as soon as possible. Chef excelled.
The management and staff are excellent and every effort is made to ensure professionalism, with a warm and welcoming attitude.
My husband and I enjoyed a memorable stay in the Hall after our wedding reception and can assure anyone intending to stay, that the accommodation is superb and also the dining and reception rooms are a credit to the staff and in our opinion, could not be surpassed. My family and friends have no hesitation in recommending Bodysgallen Hall.
I shall be celebrating my next birthday in September and look forward to the experience, with great pleasure, of having many friends to stay at Bodysgallen with me.

Room Tip: VisIt Bodysgallen Hall for lunch or afternoon tea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesRaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed for 1 night in one of the cottage rooms. Very nice accommodation and the food was great, but the highlight of Bodysgallen Hall are their gardens. Delightful range of flowers, vegetables, forest and lawns, with a breathtaking view of Conwy Castle from the terrace on the forest walk.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussBock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Lovely old building in fantastic gardens and grounds. Very pleasant and helpful barman and porter, however......

On our arrival we were greeted by two very sour faced and miserable ladies working on reception, who gave us the impression that they felt they were doing us an enormous favour checking us in.

We stayed in one of the cottages which are in the hotel grounds, near the leisure centre. The cottage was pleasant enough although could do with the carpets and decor upgrading. We loved the seperate kitchenette area as we could make ourselves a drink, which you are (incredibly) unable to do in the main hotel rooms.

The leisure centre was o.k. but nothing special. It was very busy indeed with local members, some of which seemed to resent the hotel guests. It was impossible to use the spa bath as it was always full.

We were really looking forward to our evening meal as we had read some good reviews about the restaurant. This trip was supposed to be a complete relax for us and a real treat.

We waited in the bar for a very long time after ordering before we were called in for our meal and were seated on a table right next to a large group of diners on one table. The noise from this table became unbearable, they were singing and talking very loudly, so much so that we could not hear each other speak. We asked to be moved to another table and were seated, halfway through our meal, in another room in the restaurant. We ordered sparkling mineral water and were brought still and then we were given each others meals by a waitress, we had to swap them Fawlty Towers style! We felt we were being rushed through the three course meal, as soon as we finished one course, the next was arriving. The food was only average and the portions were truly miniscule. We were most dissappointed by the meal, for the money it was terrible value.

After the meal we thought we would be offered coffee in the lounge but coffee was apparently extra and there was nobody to serve us anyway. The lounge was empty, dark and very cold. We decided to go to the library and read in there but the lighting was too dim to read by and there was nobody else in the room. It was again cold, the atmosphere was most depressing. We gave up and went to bed.

Breakfast was o.k. but nothing special, the staff just going through the motions.

We had booked this hotel thinking it was going to be really superb. Yes, the buildings and grounds are fantastic, the location superb, otherwise our stay was very mediocre and certainly not worth the very high price tag. Red stars for service, surely not?!!!!!?!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tannoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

My husband and I have just celebrated our first weekend away together without the children in 26 years!! Although we didn't book to stay at Bodysgallen Hall - we did book the Spa for a back massage and facial. We were both very apprehensive to say the least but soon relaxed on the tranquil drive down towards the Spa. What a gem it turned out to be! The Staff immediately put us at ease with their friendly, caring and professional approach and explained everything that was involved. The next hour or so just went far too quickly and before long we were in the Relaxation Room looking completely 'chilled'. Would we go again? Absolutely! Next time, we plan to stay over at the Hall and book ourselves in for half a day at the Spa ... can't recommend it highly enough (and can't wait to go back)!

Room Tip: The Spa was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becontroversial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

My wife and I recently celebrated our wedding anniversary at 1620. We had such a wonderful time. The ambience of the Bistro was so peaseful and destressing and the food was sumptious, each of the three courses were of the same high standard and beautifully presented. It was served in style by Alette, who had such a pleasant manner and couldn't have been more attentive or efficient.
We could not have hoped for a more relaxing evening and it made the celebration of our anniversary complete.
We can only say 'Thank you so much to Bodysgallen Hall and in particular 1620 Bistro'.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurocad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

The Hotel was magnificent as were the grounds. The Bistro however let the whole experience down. The food was expensive but only on apar with 'pub grub'. The waitresses were surley and were unprofessional making many mistakes with the order and delivery of the food. Definately one to miss.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Gemma38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing