We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is the second time i have stayed here, and it didn't disappoint. The Gingerbread House was a little cottage in the grounds, with it's own little garden. Utterly charming. The staff are immensely helpful, and the food superb. We ate on Friday in the bistro, pricey but brilliant, and the main restaurant on Saturday, which I felt was in many ways better value, as the food was a s good as any in a top London restaurant, and fairly priced.. Would rec@d to anyone, as the gardens are well worth a visit alone. The spa staff were a delight and the pool divine...would love to go again soon. Just ensure you book thru a website like late rooms etc, as the savings from there make it a sensible price. Sara & Lauren G, Reading Berks , Sept 2011

Room Tip: Take any, they are al llovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    128
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
374
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Bodysgallen is a lovely historic property in a gorgeous part of Wales.
Our room was a gorgeous four poster room with a fireplace and sympathetic period decoration. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel provides a turn down service at night.
Unfortunately the view was over the car park, but there was a field and trees beyond.
The bathroom was quite plain but had a good shower. The wooden toilet seat cover could do with being changed as the rubber stopper on the lid has eroded the seat a little.
There is complementary mineral water and homemade shortbread in the room which was lovely. We were given tea and coffee making facilities on request but were told there were only 2 trays available for all of the hotel bedrooms. As all the cottages have tea and coffee making facilities they should ensure all main hotel rooms have access to this as well- only fair and a bit of a hotel basic.

The gardens are lovely and well manicured, including a parterre and a walled orchard.

The spa is very nice, with a good length pool and nice facilities.

A few thinks to improve on considering the price:
Whilst walking in the grounds we walked past two 'dump' areas, with old matresses, air con units etc. Whilst you wouldn't see these unless you properly explored the gardens, they were not well concealed and really surprised us. The one by the orchard smelt really bad as well.
The breakfast consisted of cereal, plain yoghurt, pastries, toast and fruit salad, as well as tea and coffee and fruit juice. Nothing wrong with this but it would have been nice to see a bit more variety. At other hotels we have stayed in of a similar standard they have a large choice of breads, nuts, more pastries, cheeses, sliced meats and more exotic fruit like blueberries to put on your cereal. It was also an extra £7.50 to upgrade to a cooked breakfast which we didn't try.

There are two lovely public rooms with fireplaces and sofas. It would be nice to have a bit more public space though. We never saw the bar area or the library. The common rooms are more comfy than grand like the rooms at, say, Hartwell House.

Overall, a lovely hotel, but a few things could be improved considering the price!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjpj2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We last visited Bodysgallen nearly 20 years ago. It was expensive, but everything about our stay was fabulous. We knew it was still expensive (£280 a night to include an allowance £78 for dinner for two) for a standard room, but we had high hopes when we arrived and were met and greeted by very pleasant and helpful reception staff. However we had no idea just how basic our room would be. Although it was pretty big in area, the ceiling height was oppressively low. But worse still, it was gloomy, drab, and stuffy or noisy and smelly. It only had a small window with one opening light – right over the kitchen extractor. So, if you wanted to breathe, you had to put up with the roar of the fans and the odours of whatever was being cooked. To their credit, the staff upgraded us, without any fuss, to a very pleasant double aspect room and reduced the two night price by £30, but the fact remains there is no way that our original room should have been offered to any guest in such a hotel – let alone at the price we were being charged.

We ate once at the Bistro and once in the dining room. The Bistro was O.K. The dining room food was good: the service was exceptional. (The staff were so attentive that would not have been out of place on the set of a 1920s country house party.) But we were irritated that the £39 a head allowance only covered one choice of starter, main and dessert – and that it was unchanged from the previous evening. A proper choice cost an extra £5 - rather mean, if you are paying nearly £300 a night. Wine was expensive - £55 for Cloudy Bay sauvignon Blanc.

The Spa offers the usual sort of treatments, a small gym, sauna, steam room and a pretty good 16m pool.

The Hall grew over the years from a 13th Century watchtower and retains many of its original features. The gardens are truly wonderful and well worth an inspection.

So, a fine setting and superb service. Why only four stars? First, because it is so expensive. Secondly, because of the quality of first room we were offered. It was simply awful and unbecoming of a hotel of this standard. And lastly, but less seriously, because the niggle about the dinner allowance.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 14 at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suffolkcodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Location -
Very near to attractions/theatre etc in Llandudno but the hotel location means you feel miles away from anywhere. Great grounds to walk and explore. Fabulous gardens.
Rooms -
We stayed in a garden cottage (New Cottage). This included a small lounge and seperate kitchen together with bathroom and bedroom. It was reasonably well decorated and had very comfy setees in the lounge. However, there are NO IRONS available (possibly due to fire regulations/listed building). We were offered an ironing service and as we required some items for dinner they were returned within a couple of hours.
Food -
Dinner was very nice, though the wine was expensive compared to other five star hotels. Breakfast was a little dissapointing - poached eggs were quite hard and the sauted mushrooms tasted as if they had been boiled.
Staff -
all very friendly and discrete.
Spa -
again, typical of 5 star. My husband and I both had the Decleor 90min massage. He enjoyed his but my room was very cold, very bright and the masseuse was not very good (afraid I am very particular about my massages, especially when paying £80 for it).
Overall -
Will definately be going back. My husband loves this hotel, though I believe it is rather on the expensive side.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-four-Stones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed over the Royal Wedding weekend and thought the hotel was fantastic. It's set in beautiful landscaped gardens amid acres of farmland (great for a walk), and you can see Conwy castle on the horizon. Really comfortable, nicely furnished, tasteful but cosy. We got an upgrade on check-in, which was nice. Food in the restaurant was expensive, but was a real treat, and there's a great wine selection. Especially recommend the cooked breakfast and afternoon tea in the garden. Friendly reception staff, helpful with booking taxis etc. The only slight disappointment was the spa (I had a facial and a massage), and found the massage was a bit painful, and both the therapists were a bit informal/ unfriendly. The pool in there is great though. All in all, we had a lovely stay and would definitely go back. Top tip - hire a car; the hotel is quite remote, and taxis to and from Llandudno/ Conway really add up.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

A truly outstanding place to stay. Cannot recommend highly enough if you have a special occasion!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sd82cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Nice cottage, good food - some challenges with service! Overall nice experience

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollib02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing