We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"very poor value for money" !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012


My wife and myself ate in the Bistro which serves as a pleasant location for an evening meal !
The waitress who was serving was very pleasant and accommodating but the size of the main meal which I ordered (Belly pork) would not even make an ok starter ?
We eat out quite frequently in the North Wales area but here at Bodysgallen was at the "upper end" of what we usually expect to pay and compared to other local restaurants represented poor value for money !!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gegs321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

Just the drive up to the hotel can make you feel you are disappearing into history and getting away from it all. It is set in beautiful well kept grounds surrounded by trees. The gardens are small and very well maintained. The hotel is steeped in history with oak panelling log fires and formidable looking portraits and ancient landscapes on the Walls.

The main restaurant is formal and a little austere, made up by the fact that the staff are friendly and efficient. The recently added bistrol 1621 is less formal and I preferred the food here.

We stayed for a two night break in bailiffs cottage, a short walk from the hotel and spa. A cute home from home with all facilities. Amazing shower, good beds, molton brown toiletries and huge thick towels.

I could not fault the spa. The staff were attentive but not overly so. The treatments lived up to expectations and the therapists are obviously well trained. Nothing was too much trouble. The swimming pool area was clean and tidy. Breakfast served in the little coffee area after an early morning swim was brilliant.

Now, the price !!!!! I could have gone away for a whole week on what it cost to stay for 2 nights and have 5 beauty treatments between the two of us, however it was worth the money for the luxury of the surroundings, the food and the excellent service given by the staff.

Room Tip: If you want complete privacy choose a cottage. They also allow dogs in the cottages too. Be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brock2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife and I visited this lovely building as a treat for her birthday. we had just returned from a trip to france and italy staying in the J W Marriot in Cannes and some time near Portofino.The room was a superior on the third floor with breakfast and we ate a la carte in the fine dinning room.The food was not what we expected for the price charged but it was clear that good ingredients were not being cooked to develop their potential.After dinner we stocked up the dying fire ourselves in the lounge but generally the overall experience was a little like staying in a rather underfunded rest home.Breakfast was good but like much else lacked freshness.Very expensive for what it is,but a superb position and a nice massage for my wife in the spa gives some hope.Ps could room 18 please have a new rug.

Room Tip: see it first if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davidkaren030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed here with my son on a bit of an impulse. The house is of course, beautiful, though like other reviewers, I felt a little like I was in a museum - there are signs everywhere telling you about all the things you are not allowed to do (use a phone, put logs in the fireplace etc etc). The service was good, although not at all welcoming - the staff were very cool and not once was I asked if I was enjoying my stay or welcomed the hall. I was really surprised that none of the staff raised the subject of history of the house or seemed very well informed about it, particularly given that this is a National Trust property.

As I travel a great deal, I guess I expected a great deal given the very high room prices here and whilst the house is lovely, the rooms (we stayed in a superior suite room in the main hall) are at best, a little tired and outdated. The total absence of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms was a real surprise also.

The food in the bistro was pleasant, but nothing more than I would expect in a gastropub, the breakfasts (£19 a head) were not great, I've had better in chain hotels for much less. The food in the restaurant looked to be of a high standard, though very small portions and again, slightly frosty service - I chose not to eat there as I felt it was over-priced, but I guess it would be nice for a formal dinner, perhaps for a special occasion.

The spa is very nice, clearly well thought out and a great addition.

All in all, I'd probably stay here again at a push, but am not sure it was worth the price and I left feeling a little disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

You need to take a deep breath and accept this is going to be expensive, but the location and the house and grounds are magical. We stayed in one of the coattges, with a small but comfortable bedroom and a cosy sitting room. Bathroom a bit dated but ok. Main house is very imposing, plenty of rooms to just sit and soak up the atmosphere. Breakfast excellent, very good service. All staff very polite and helpful. Both restaurants for dinner of a very high standard.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SobandPob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Bodysgallen is a picture-postcard hotel in an idyllic setting. Staying there truly feels like stepping back in time and living in a country house from a different age.
The experience of staying there was mostly a positive one, however there were a few things that slightly spoilt the perfect romantic get-away.
Firstly the positives: Lovely house, friendly staff, didn't feel too stuffy, amazing views, great food (though pricey - see below), and the health-club and pool was well equipped and enjoyable.
There's only really one negative, and it's the price. At nearly 200 quid for a basic room you would expect absolute top quality. The room was ok (apparently we were upgraded to a superior room), though not outstanding and the fittings/bathroom seemed a little dated.
More to the point, there was a slight feeling of penny-pinching going on - e.g. no tea or coffee in the room, so if you wanted a hot drink you had to order it separately and pay top-dollar for it. Also, breakfast had to be paid for separately which seemed a bit cheeky.

The food in the restaurant was excellent quality, but very expensive and portions were unusually small, even by the standards of a fine dining establishment. The wine list was good though and non-unduly pricey for some reasonable quality wines.
Apparently the restaurant had a dress-code, though I was pleased to say it didn't appear to be too rigorously enforced (I wore jeans and a jumper and no one complained).

Overall then and nice place to escape to with your partner, but don't expect to get much change out of £400 for a night if you plan to eat there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheBigGuy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The hall and gardens are self-evidently wonderful but that would not make a great hotel without the excellent staff which you have and the superb food you provide.
We had a delightful break.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cratcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,301 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,752 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#11 of 59 in Llandudno
979 reviews
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,074 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £202 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing