We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #13 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed in one of the cottages which was excellent.However like other reviewers found elements of penny pinchingThis in particular applied to the very expensive breakfast.You would expect a selection of fresh bakery products fresh juicesand most of all a freshly cooked hot breakfast not pre cooked bacon sausage fried bread bacon all reheated under a salamander. On the other hand afternoon tea was excellent. Would I stay again maybe

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrosulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    127
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
370
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed one night for dinner bed and breakfast. I liked:

1 The quiet idyllic setting and the acres of gardens
2 The fact that I got a good night's sleep
3 The historic character of the hotel
4 The excellent food and service
5 The commodious room where everything worked and the comfort of guests had been throughly thought through.

I am looking forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h64s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife and I got married here earlier this year - I don't generally go in for gushing reviews, but this is a fabulous venue. The hall and gardens are beautiful and the staff were fantastic - we received excellent service and really felt looked after. We stayed in one of the cottages, which are well worth considering particularly if you prefer somewhere a little more secluded than you tend to get in hotels. All in all a lovely place where I expect you will enjoy visiting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The gardens are lovely and the historic house has real character. Service at dinner and breakfast was attentive. Dinner wAs very good, though I'd you are staying for more than one night, be aware that the menu doesn't change. There was just one not particularly exciting vegetarian option but on the second night the chef did offer an alternative on request. The individually cooked breakfasts were excellent plus a good selection of fresh fruit salad and continental breakfast. We stayed in the Spa cottages which were very nice. Very happy with stay, but then it is pretty pricey.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Took Dinner, bed and breakfast in the main hotel. We were not disappointed with the general decor and ambience of this great building. All the publlic rooms had a traditional cosy feeling, sumptuous seating and very peaceful. We were pleasantly greeted at reception and shown to our room. A view to die for! Not ones great on views as a reason to choose a room but, formal gardens, Conwy Castle and Snowdonia all out of one window-great! Room very well appointed and comfortable; bathroom cork (!) tiles and traditional. All very clean and tidy. TV hopeless! Bed comfortable. Took dinner in the The Dining Room restaurant - very quiet in the polite British way! Service excellent, but we had our reservations about the food - something was missing - flavour-wise. Looks like fine dining but did not deliver in our opinion.
Breakfast was a little disappointing - buffet not outstanding and £7.50 extra for a cooked breakfast! Wife said they were the worst poached aggs she had eaten...I had to agree...maybe they were half cooked and warmed again to order?
All in all, despite our reservations with the food, a beautiful place to stay and excellent staff. Would stay again and recommend, perhaps trying the 1620 Restaurant next time to see if it is any better.

Room Tip: Ask for the one that looks over the gardens/Conwy and Snowdonia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Have stayed here numerous times on business, the service is impeccable, the quality of the food is outstanding. If you want a quiet upmarket experience in beautiful surroundings look no further.

Room Tip: The cottages provide you with more room, but can be a walk to get to from the house. The fillet stea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamie28767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We visited to sample the afternoon tea - booking is essential. The staff were friendly and the surroundings lovely. We sat in the drawing room upstairs, and were given a choice of teas, loose leaf, which was served in a silver pot with separate hot water. The food was served on a tiered cake stand, and consisted of a choice of finger sandwiches, delicious home cooked scones with clotted cream and jam, bara brith, and a selection of cakes. All were delicious, and when we flagged a little, the waiter brought us another pot of tea. We spent two hours at the hall, and thought that it was well worth the money, We will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hookedonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing