We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Bodysgallen Hall is a top class establishment situated just outside Llandudno and close to the A550. A sweeping drive leads to an impressive building surrounded by beautiful agrdens and panoramic views across Conway & beyond. Inside it's full of rooms with lots of wood panelling, fireplaces and attractive corners where you can enjoy tea or a drink. Our original bedroom had a noise problem due to an outside fan so we were upgraded to a delightful room with great views which was a nice gesture from the management team. Service was first class as everyone tried to do the best to help us have an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 14 & 15 if you are a poor sleeper as the restaurant fan is just below you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is not the sort of place you can go every week, however, the whole experience is very special indeed. The hall as you would expect us beautiful, the staff are exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable. The elegance oozes here and when when your food arrives, the presentation is stunning and it is not let down in the taste! The wine list is extensive and there is a terrible knowledgeable expert to guide you should you need it. When it comes to desert, they suggest pudding wines to go with each. It is expensive and for a special occasion, it is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank CazMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We've just had a great weekend at Bodysgallen Hall. It feels exactly like a country house hotel should - a large entrance hall with dark oak pannelling, windows set deep in the the stone walls etc. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one of the suites and had a beautiful view over Conwy castle to Snowdonia.
However, the restaurant lets it down. We had to wait 20 mins to give our order on the first night - not great at £12 for a starter and £25 for a main - and were disappointed to find the identical menu on the second night. Fortunately we were only staying two nights. However, this is the sort of hotel where most of the guests eat in and I did feel should have done better.
Having said all that, the staff were lovely, the place and its views are stunning and we had a great weekend. If we go again (which we hope to do) we will book a restaurant in Llandudno (only a mile away) and taxi it there and back.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the second floor since the views will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent one night at this hotel in a room with picture perfect view over rolling Welsh countryside. The whole place is quite unique. Fantastic National Trust gardens and a beautiful main building full of character and charm. There are also a number of 'cottage' rooms within the hotel grounds.

Unfortunately although it was June the weather was quite cold and despite our requests for someone to check the radiator in our room we spent a very chilly couple of hours until the matter was resolved with a plug in heater.

The food is quite simply excellent and the service at Bodysgallen Hall is understated and attentive . We enjoyed lunch, dinner and breakfast. All were first rate. Although I found paying an extra £7.50 per head for a hot breakfast somewhat 'penny-pinching' I fail to understand why this is not simply absorbed into the room rate - £290 as opposed to £275 makes little difference.

We did not try the hotel spa nor the alternative restaurant in the grounds. Maybe next time.......

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chestertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed in one of the cottages which was excellent.However like other reviewers found elements of penny pinchingThis in particular applied to the very expensive breakfast.You would expect a selection of fresh bakery products fresh juicesand most of all a freshly cooked hot breakfast not pre cooked bacon sausage fried bread bacon all reheated under a salamander. On the other hand afternoon tea was excellent. Would I stay again maybe

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrosulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed one night for dinner bed and breakfast. I liked:

1 The quiet idyllic setting and the acres of gardens
2 The fact that I got a good night's sleep
3 The historic character of the hotel
4 The excellent food and service
5 The commodious room where everything worked and the comfort of guests had been throughly thought through.

I am looking forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h64s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife and I got married here earlier this year - I don't generally go in for gushing reviews, but this is a fabulous venue. The hall and gardens are beautiful and the staff were fantastic - we received excellent service and really felt looked after. We stayed in one of the cottages, which are well worth considering particularly if you prefer somewhere a little more secluded than you tend to get in hotels. All in all a lovely place where I expect you will enjoy visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,271 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,660 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
347 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £210 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing