We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not worth the cost”
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night en route to a business meeting in Llandudno on a Monday morning. Venue is beautiful and full of character but the service takes away from the charm. The people were perfectly pleasant but we were told on arrival that dinner could be at 7 or 8 -hardly a choice when we arrived after a 4 hour drive at 6.40pm. Then we were informed that breakfast was served from 8am- no use to us as we needed to be in a meeting which commenced at 8.30am.

The receptionist did arrange for some coffee and toast to be delivered to us at 7.30am which sufficed but hardly the type of breakfast we expected having paid in excess of £200 for the night's stay.

We ate dinner in the restaurant which was a mixed experience. The wrong starters were brought but that was quickly rectified and they were tasty but very small- just a few mouthfuls each for the price of £12.50pp. Then we had £30 pp fillet steaks which were average. Dessert was delicious on the other hand! We had wine with the meal (one of the cheapest bottles on the list at £22 and 2 £5 glasses) and we did have some pre dinner Hendricks and tonics but were still shocked to find that the dinner and drinks bill was £220! Very pricey for what it was.

So we left feeling pretty disappointed in our stay which cost nearly £450 for one night, one average meal, some drinks and 1.5 pieces of toast and a cuppa each!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndrewandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    134
    41
    25
    17
See reviews for
116
390
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I expected more and will say the main house itself s and gardens are lovely. We were "upgraded" to a dull little corttage facing a dull peice of lawn with old fashined chinz which was very comfortable indeed but just had no style at all. Understandable in the house which is rather smarter.The pool was fine and everyone was friendly. I'm afraid I just thought the cottages were very expensive for what they were and the NT needs to up it's game in terms of soft furnishing and things like iphone chargers etc. It could be lovely with the same furniture just a bit of style. We ate in bistro quite good except for an inedible lemon meringue pie which my husband and another customer had to send back as literrally couldnt get a spoon to cut pastry.

Room Tip: I wish I'd just gone into main castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

A wonderful birthday treat in beautiful north Wales.

Spa was perfect with reasonably priced treatments, great pool etc

Food was also excellent.

Staff very attentive and obviously extremely well trained so superior service come naturally.

The cottage we stayed in ( gingerbread) was lovely and great to escape the normal hotel bussle.

Yes expensive but quality always has a price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerTimUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
828 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Bodysgallen Hall is a top class establishment situated just outside Llandudno and close to the A550. A sweeping drive leads to an impressive building surrounded by beautiful agrdens and panoramic views across Conway & beyond. Inside it's full of rooms with lots of wood panelling, fireplaces and attractive corners where you can enjoy tea or a drink. Our original bedroom had a noise problem due to an outside fan so we were upgraded to a delightful room with great views which was a nice gesture from the management team. Service was first class as everyone tried to do the best to help us have an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 14 & 15 if you are a poor sleeper as the restaurant fan is just below you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is not the sort of place you can go every week, however, the whole experience is very special indeed. The hall as you would expect us beautiful, the staff are exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable. The elegance oozes here and when when your food arrives, the presentation is stunning and it is not let down in the taste! The wine list is extensive and there is a terrible knowledgeable expert to guide you should you need it. When it comes to desert, they suggest pudding wines to go with each. It is expensive and for a special occasion, it is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We've just had a great weekend at Bodysgallen Hall. It feels exactly like a country house hotel should - a large entrance hall with dark oak pannelling, windows set deep in the the stone walls etc. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one of the suites and had a beautiful view over Conwy castle to Snowdonia.
However, the restaurant lets it down. We had to wait 20 mins to give our order on the first night - not great at £12 for a starter and £25 for a main - and were disappointed to find the identical menu on the second night. Fortunately we were only staying two nights. However, this is the sort of hotel where most of the guests eat in and I did feel should have done better.
Having said all that, the staff were lovely, the place and its views are stunning and we had a great weekend. If we go again (which we hope to do) we will book a restaurant in Llandudno (only a mile away) and taxi it there and back.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the second floor since the views will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent one night at this hotel in a room with picture perfect view over rolling Welsh countryside. The whole place is quite unique. Fantastic National Trust gardens and a beautiful main building full of character and charm. There are also a number of 'cottage' rooms within the hotel grounds.

Unfortunately although it was June the weather was quite cold and despite our requests for someone to check the radiator in our room we spent a very chilly couple of hours until the matter was resolved with a plug in heater.

The food is quite simply excellent and the service at Bodysgallen Hall is understated and attentive . We enjoyed lunch, dinner and breakfast. All were first rate. Although I found paying an extra £7.50 per head for a hot breakfast somewhat 'penny-pinching' I fail to understand why this is not simply absorbed into the room rate - £290 as opposed to £275 makes little difference.

We did not try the hotel spa nor the alternative restaurant in the grounds. Maybe next time.......

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chestertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,231 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,593 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing