We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
489
125
42
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
489
125
42
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages national trust conwy castle country house the main house private garden formal gardens drawing room grounds are beautiful small kitchen no tea or coffee making facilities dining room north wales sauna and steam room public rooms bodnant gardens night porter
Filter
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Our wedding in April 2012 was the first marquee wedding at Bodysgallen Hall. We chose Bodysgallen Hall because of the fantastic service we received from the very first time we contacted them. The hotel is stunning, the setting is beautiful and every member of staff was incredibly professional and constantly helpful. All our guests commented how lucky they felt to be able to stay there and will visit again. We had the most perfect day and it was thanks to the attention to detail and care shown by everyone. Thank you Bodysgallen Hall. We now plan to visit every anniversary!

Room tip: Go more than once and try them all especially the main house and a cottage room.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We needed to collect our son from Bangor University and had such a bad experience at a 'Travel Lodge', we decided to try something special. It was important that the location would be quiet, pretty with enough for the kids to do. We chose 'Bodysgallen' because it appeared to offer what we were looking for. Outdoor space for the kids to explore and a pool to keep them occupied and a Spa for my husband and I. We plumped for a 'Cottage' because it was away from the main building and accessible.

All of the staff in the hotel, spa and restaurant were helpful and accommodating. The breakfast in the main hall was great and the food in the restaurants were fantastic. The hotel grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. It was a shame that we didn't go when they had a tour or workshop on.

Room tip: Take a camera and walking shoes to explore the grounds :) The cottages are amazing and very quiet and cute.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianaandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

On our July 2012 trip to Oxford, London and Wales, we stayed in several lovely high end hotels. Of them all, however, none could surpass the Bodysgallen House and Spa. We toured each day while we there, but I would like to come back and just hole up there for a week or so and do nothing but their spa, long walks, afternoon tea and great dinners. The food was delicious, fresh and wholesome, much of it coming from their own gardens. We told the staff (all of whom were very accommodating) that we would like some trout while we were there so they ordered some for us our last night and it was cooked to perfection (crusted but not floured or breaded).  I have never stayed any place so perfect - the many gardens, both formal and secluded, were amazing and it was all so bucolic with the sheep wandering  around the road when we drove up and of course everything is green, green, green. And did I mention the the building itself is a gorgeous 17th Century Manor House ?  I must go back!

Room tip: We had a suite overlooking the formal gardens which I highly recommend.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 494BethD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Positives:
Fantastic location and grounds. Excellent (if not a bit starchy) staff.
Good food. Though not as good as the chef thinks.
Nice swimming pool and gym.
Negatives:
Very expensive.
Stayed in a cottage which desperately needed a refurb and a good deep clean.

This hotel could be fabulous if either it was completely refurbished or was £100 p/night less. At the moment it is overpriced and massively under delivers.
The management would do well to update the staff and the rooms and bring them all into this century.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldhench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MACJ, General Manager at Bodysgallen Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

We do not like to disappoint and we will, of course, consider the comments expressed in this contradictory review objectively, although we would have welcomed the opportunity to respond in person during the visit, particularly on check-out when positives were volunteered by these guests.

Our long serving, friendly and experienced staff are confused as to how they appear to be praised in line one of this review, and yet apparently criticized in the concluding sentence. A lack of consistency and fairness on the reviewers part possibly? A look at other reviews written by this guest might suggest that we are not alone.

We would remind guests that Bodysgallen Hall & Spa is owned by the National Trust, is furnished with antiques and fine pictures, and represents tradition. We do not pretend to be a trend setter in modernity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Impressive 1620 stone building on hillside with beautiful gardens. We had room #18 for four nights in July 2012, a top floor large room overlooking a formal garden with Conwy Castle in background. Room price was $582 per night, breakfast included. Rooms are comfortable but without charm and make no pretense of style. This hotel is not for budget travelers or those who have difficulty with stairs. There is no elevator. Our room was 33 steps up from lobby, plus 24 steps from main parking area. There is no A/C. If you want fresh air, open the window. Heat, which we did not need, comes from ancient steam-powered radiators. Our tiny one-at-a-time bathroom had a small basin with annoyingly separate hot and cold taps and a slow plug on a chain drain. It did, however, have a stall shower. Public rooms have large sink-in chairs and sofas, old carpets, and are looked over by portraits of bewigged nobility.
Restaurant served excellent, but expensive, meals, except for a terrible pan-fried filet steak with soggy and cool fries for $51. Good wine list. Excellent full breakfast. Service is friendly but leisurely; you have to attract the waiter's attention.
The spa has a very nice 50 foot pool. Otherwise the facility and massages are about 3 out of 5 stars for a top American destination spa.
Overall impression is of a home of an wealthy elderly widow who is comfortable with her wedding furnishings. An upgrade is not in her universe.
We enjoyed our stay and the beautiful grounds and would definitely return.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews