We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a setting!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I have stayed at Bodysgallen Hall on 2 occasions and both times it has been a lovely experience. I have stayed in the main hall and also in one of the cottages, the latter was a great as it was really spacious and the 3 people I was with could all join for pre dinner drinks in comfort. The main hall room was equally as nice, but a little smaller. Great quality though either way. The hall is lovely to wander around and you can sit in front of the log fire in winter and enjoy the ambience. I has dined there and the food and quality of service equalled the quality you would expect. Of course there are always the lovely tended gardens or the spa to enjoy whilst you are there. Would totally recommend a stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosieGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    128
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
373
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Following our wedding here in July 2009 my wife and I make an annual visit to bodysgallen hall where we are always greeted with a warm welcome and it is very nice to see such excellent staff retention. When we have stayed over we have recently opted for the garden cottages, which are lovely and offer an unique stay. The food is always excellent whether that be in the main hall or the bistro. In reference to some previous views, yes the cost of stay is more than one woukd pay for a typical hotel, however they I feel can't offer the location, gardens and excellent attention to detail bodysgallen offer. Plus the recent offers with a reduced rate for second night do make it more competitive and very good value for money.
We would always recommend bodysgallen for a wedding venue, special weekend trip, celebratery meal and of course their afternoon tea.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbrignall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at Bodysgallen just over a year ago and I reported very positively on the experience. We returned last week for a couple of nights and can only reinforce the view that this is a very special place to stay, with excellent accomodation, very good food and the friendliest of welcomes. The general state of upkeep of such an old building is remarkable and is worth a visit just to look around. As indeed are the wonderfully kept gardens and grounds.
The National Trust involvement certainly hasn't affected the very high level of hotel keeping here and we look forward to returning in the not too distant future.
Bodysgallen is not a cheap option, but their special offers are worth checking out. Just one caveat, the main dining room is closed on Mondays with a bistro, with a simpler menu ,as an alternative.

Room Tip: The cottage suites dotted about the grounds are a very comfortable option to staying in the Hall its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Our wedding in April 2012 was the first marquee wedding at Bodysgallen Hall. We chose Bodysgallen Hall because of the fantastic service we received from the very first time we contacted them. The hotel is stunning, the setting is beautiful and every member of staff was incredibly professional and constantly helpful. All our guests commented how lucky they felt to be able to stay there and will visit again. We had the most perfect day and it was thanks to the attention to detail and care shown by everyone. Thank you Bodysgallen Hall. We now plan to visit every anniversary!

Room Tip: Go more than once and try them all especially the main house and a cottage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Bodysgallen is a great old building, set in a beautiful position. As I am from North Wales, I went there a number of times when I was younger for family meals on special occasions. The food was always great but, given my age, I probably didn't fully appreciate how great a venue it is.

More recently, my family arranged a get-together for family and friends, and we had an afternoon tea in one of the rooms of the main building. The decor was great, the food was amazing, but better than everything was the grounds. They're stunning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furrybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We needed to collect our son from Bangor University and had such a bad experience at a 'Travel Lodge', we decided to try something special. It was important that the location would be quiet, pretty with enough for the kids to do. We chose 'Bodysgallen' because it appeared to offer what we were looking for. Outdoor space for the kids to explore and a pool to keep them occupied and a Spa for my husband and I. We plumped for a 'Cottage' because it was away from the main building and accessible.

All of the staff in the hotel, spa and restaurant were helpful and accommodating. The breakfast in the main hall was great and the food in the restaurants were fantastic. The hotel grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. It was a shame that we didn't go when they had a tour or workshop on.

Room Tip: Take a camera and walking shoes to explore the grounds :) The cottages are amazing and very quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

On our July 2012 trip to Oxford, London and Wales, we stayed in several lovely high end hotels. Of them all, however, none could surpass the Bodysgallen House and Spa. We toured each day while we there, but I would like to come back and just hole up there for a week or so and do nothing but their spa, long walks, afternoon tea and great dinners. The food was delicious, fresh and wholesome, much of it coming from their own gardens. We told the staff (all of whom were very accommodating) that we would like some trout while we were there so they ordered some for us our last night and it was cooked to perfection (crusted but not floured or breaded).  I have never stayed any place so perfect - the many gardens, both formal and secluded, were amazing and it was all so bucolic with the sheep wandering  around the road when we drove up and of course everything is green, green, green. And did I mention the the building itself is a gorgeous 17th Century Manor House ?  I must go back!

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the formal gardens which I highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 494BethD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing