We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab House and Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have been going to the hotel as a family for a number of years and this in itself indicates that we are all very fond of it! Owned by the National Trust but run by the Historic House Hotel Group Bodysgallen is a spectacular place just outside LLandudno and a great place for exploring North Wales and Anglesey. The house itself is all history and dark wood panelling and the gardens are extensive and formal. A real must for garden and especially parterre fans! The bedrooms are fine but could probably do with a bit of updating though this does not detract from the overall comfort. They are reached by one of two beautiful wooden staircases which wind their way up to the attic. The restaurant has a relatively new head chef (Has been sous-chef there for a while) and the food was significantly better on this stay than previously. Several of the staff including the Manager, Matthew, have been there for a long time which gives a certain stability and indicates a happy environment there. I recommend it highly!

Room Tip: Ask for room 5, it is probably the best. The best view of Conwy Castle is from the Attic room. A qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardVUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was our second stay - the first time was 5 years ago. We stayed in a superior cottage again, and found it comfortable, delightfully cottagey, clean and well-equipped. Feels like a real treat to stay there. We ate in the bistro on the first night, and found it to be excellent. Lovely, imaginative menu, although not a vast choice, but plenty for us! The second night we ate in the main restaurant as a birthday celebration, and although the meal was beautiful, we were only 1 of 3 occupied tables, which was a shame. Sadly didn't have time to enjoy the spa, but gardens beautiful as ever.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, paying £265 per night for a superior cottage. The main part of hotel is pleasant (not inspiring) and the grounds attractive (but very steep for many to move around). The cottage was musty and not very comfortable. Everything from the one bottle of bodywash and one bottle of shampoo which my husband and I had to share each day, the small bottle of milk sufficient for four cups of coffee which was not replenished on the second day alongwith with the half used bottle of water, to the disappointing breakfast, meant everything felt measured and definately not luxury! Seriously overpriced compared to so many other beautiful houses and spas we have stayed at. Very disappointing

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Excellent half day experience at the Spa. As an ex-spa member I know what to expect but on this occasion the staff were especially helpful and the assigned therapist was extremely polite and helpful, the full body massage was excellent.

If I had any negative points it would be that the towels are getting past their "sell by date".

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

after yet another stay at this excellent hotel, I can honestly say that this is one of the best places to stay. The atmosphere is always relaxed but efficient service is there when you want it. I can't imagine what those who give bad reviews expect or are used to. we had accommodation in the house and in a cottage, both excellent. This is a place to visit again and again. Over the last 13 years it has never disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Very disappointing compared with it's reputation and past success.
Poor ambiance and service-felt as though the place was struggling and not prioritising guest's needs. Lovely grounds but ...
Poor staff cohesion and front of house. Reception were not a good representation for the hotel.
The richness of the place was lost by incompetence and poor management
Staff training is recommend for personnel and to facilitate guest comfort and satisfaction.
A 2 night stay -not in the hotel but in a cottage with dinner cost £1002.14 .!!!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else. Some rooms may be excellent but ambiance,service and value for money-nil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked for 2 nights in a cottage with elderly parents to celebrate a milestone birthday. The grounds are beautiful and the little touches like the 'turn down' service made us feel we were somewhere special. The restaurant where we ate on the first night is good but portions, especially for desserts are just plain daft (no more than 3 mouthfuls for £11!). Plus we've never paid so much for B&B and have to pay a hefty supplement if you wanted a cooked breakfast. We stuck with continental which was very ordinary. We opted for the Bistro on the second night where there were only 3 other diners; we left an empty restaurant at 7.40pm and I'm really not surprised. Again, incredibly overpriced but this time poorly cooked, very small portions and no atmosphere. This part of their business needs grabbing by the scruff of the neck - in such a beautiful setting in the middle of a tourist area, it should be thriving in late July. Spa very nice. So overall nice little break but wouldn't rush to return - we can get much better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovingcitybreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,304 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,757 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 59 in Llandudno
980 reviews
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
1.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £203 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing