We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
474
122
41
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
122
41
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconwy castlenational trustthe cottagescountry housethe main houseprivate gardenformal gardenssmall kitchenno tea or coffee making facilitiesdrawing roomhistoric hoteldining roomnorth walespublic roomsbodnant gardenssteam roombirthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Bodysgallen is a delightful country house hotel situated in the hills overlooking Llandudno and Conwy with wonderful views to Snowdonia. The hotel is set in a beatiful estate with lovely grounds and breath-taking views. The house is quiet and cosy and the staff are friendly and attentive. Many of the rooms have oak panelling and a log fire burns in the ingle nook fireplace in the entrance hall in colder periods. The main restaurant is comfortable and well lit, and the menu and wine list are first class. There is also a bistro which serves food of a less grand, but nevertheless high standard. There are also spa facilities in a separate building. Altogether this is a first class hotel with an ideal location for visiting all the major sights and attractions in North Wales.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Bodysgallen Hall is a magnificent estate, somewhere between a large manor house and a castle. Parts of it date to the 13th century. It maintains a sense of antique charm but with all the conveniences of a fine hotel. Our room was a suite with a beautiful view of Conwy Castle (weather permitting). The main restaurant is very nice. There's a more casual bistro and spa facilities we did not use but which other guests praised. Nothing beats sitting in front of the fire in one of the lounges with a warm drink! The grounds are beautiful with elaborate formal gardens and an impressive vegetable garden whose products find their way onto the menu. A perfect base to explore North Wales.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is just one of the nicest places to stay! not quiet as good now its under national trust!
the gardens and forest walk are good exercise after a nice lunch or dinner, the spar treatments and staff are first class and make you feel welcome and is you are the only person in the world for your treatment, nothing is to much trouble.
the food is well presented of of a high standard and the staff can recommend a good wine from there cellar to suit the occasion.
and if your in the right room you get a good view of the castle,
just looking forward to my next trip.

hope you enjoy it as much as me and my wife.

Room Tip: just turn up and relax the staff or of the highest standard
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

It’s one thing to tour a stately home and quite another to feel like the lady of the manor. To have a more personal manor house experience — without actually purchasing a British country house — check into a historic house hotel. If you’re ready to spend a few days and dollars to live like a lord or lady of the manor, Bodysgallen is a worthy adventure. This National Trust historic house hotel is located two miles from the North Wales coast. Bodysgallen means “house among the thistles” and the award winning property is recognized for offering the best in country house hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeyondDownton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We have just returned from Bodysgallen Hall after spending two days of our wedding anniversary there. After reading some of the previous emails which had criticized certain aspects of their operations I was very hesitant and concerned that they would not fulfill our expectations for our special occasions and contacted the hotel with my concerns. They assured me all would be ok and that all my requirements would be fulfilled.
On conclusion I have to say they excelled themselves. Our room was magnificent, well decorated and maintained with excellent views of Snowdon and Conwy. The food was superb, likewise the Spa was relaxing with superb pool, steam and sauna and jacuzzi.
All the staff were so welcoming from the Manager Elgar, Butler Gareth and all in between including resident director Mathew Johnson who went out of his way to assure us an excellent stay. From our point of view nothing more could have been done to make our stay better and we stay in 5 star hotels throughout the world. The gardens and views are magnificent. Without question a return visit is a must.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Snowdon
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breese-Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews