We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveller rating
476
122
41
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
476
122
41
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conwy castle national trust the cottages country house the main house private garden formal gardens small kitchen no tea or coffee making facilities drawing room historic hotel dining room north wales public rooms bodnant gardens steam room birthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 665 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We recently had a 3 night break at Bodysgallen and it was as good as it always used to be when we stayed in the past.
The location is magnificent and the building is beautiful - a pleasure to walk around it and the gardens.
We had a cottage as we brought our dog with us - there were great walks in the woods around the hotel and up to the obelisk - worth it for the amazing views.
The cottage had everything we could need and more - two bathrooms - we only used one! A comfortable sitting room, big bedroom with a huge bed and small kitchen so we could make tea and coffee - that room was also great for drying off the dog as it was not carpeted.
The food in the restaurant and the bistro was very good. Service was a little slow at breakfast on our last morning but the choice on the buffet was great so plenty to keep you going whilst you waited for your cooked food.
We went to Conwy Castle and Bodnant Gardens which are both located close to the hotel and well worth a visit.
We spent a couple of hours relaxing in the spa each afternoon. There is a small gym with everything you could need, a swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room - none of which were overcrowded on our visits.
All the staff were friendly, polite, efficient and seemed to be enjoying their work.
The only thing to be aware of is that the hotel restaurant is closed on Mondays (and Tuesdays in Winter) so dinner is served in the Bistro. We enjoyed the change of eating in a more relaxed atmosphere on the middle night of our stay but if you were expecting fine dining every night you might be disappointed.
All in all a great break and we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Bodysgallen is a delightful country house hotel situated in the hills overlooking Llandudno and Conwy with wonderful views to Snowdonia. The hotel is set in a beatiful estate with lovely grounds and breath-taking views. The house is quiet and cosy and the staff are friendly and attentive. Many of the rooms have oak panelling and a log fire burns in the ingle nook fireplace in the entrance hall in colder periods. The main restaurant is comfortable and well lit, and the menu and wine list are first class. There is also a bistro which serves food of a less grand, but nevertheless high standard. There are also spa facilities in a separate building. Altogether this is a first class hotel with an ideal location for visiting all the major sights and attractions in North Wales.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Bodysgallen Hall is a magnificent estate, somewhere between a large manor house and a castle. Parts of it date to the 13th century. It maintains a sense of antique charm but with all the conveniences of a fine hotel. Our room was a suite with a beautiful view of Conwy Castle (weather permitting). The main restaurant is very nice. There's a more casual bistro and spa facilities we did not use but which other guests praised. Nothing beats sitting in front of the fire in one of the lounges with a warm drink! The grounds are beautiful with elaborate formal gardens and an impressive vegetable garden whose products find their way onto the menu. A perfect base to explore North Wales.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is just one of the nicest places to stay! not quiet as good now its under national trust!
the gardens and forest walk are good exercise after a nice lunch or dinner, the spar treatments and staff are first class and make you feel welcome and is you are the only person in the world for your treatment, nothing is to much trouble.
the food is well presented of of a high standard and the staff can recommend a good wine from there cellar to suit the occasion.
and if your in the right room you get a good view of the castle,
just looking forward to my next trip.

hope you enjoy it as much as me and my wife.

Room Tip: just turn up and relax the staff or of the highest standard
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

It’s one thing to tour a stately home and quite another to feel like the lady of the manor. To have a more personal manor house experience — without actually purchasing a British country house — check into a historic house hotel. If you’re ready to spend a few days and dollars to live like a lord or lady of the manor, Bodysgallen is a worthy adventure. This National Trust historic house hotel is located two miles from the North Wales coast. Bodysgallen means “house among the thistles” and the award winning property is recognized for offering the best in country house hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeyondDownton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews