We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We fell in love with Bodysgallen on our first visit over 14 years ago, and we have made an annual pilgrimage ever since. The breathtaking scenery, the Hall and buildings, the amazingly efficient and gracious staff, and the fantastic restaurant have kept us making the long journey back every year. So, it seemed the perfect place to celebrate a "significant" birthday with friends and family in September, 2012. Twelve of us made the journey together, and we found that Bodysgallen is not only wonderful at treating a couple royally, but a big group as well. It was the most extraordinary celebration of our lives, and our friends and family are all Bodysgallen devotees now as well. We can't wait for our return visit in 2013!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast 28 and 29 Sept 2012. The location is excellent and the staff were polite and helpful although some had difficulty with all but the simplest of English. The spa was well equipped and run and the room TV had sky sports 1 and 2.
These are the good points.
But there was a down side which is simply unacceptable for a hotel with the pretensions of this one and especially when the cost was in the region of £850 with no extras.
On arrival, we found the washed out bed linen had a number of bloodstains. The housekeeper apologised profusely and arranged for a change. Not a good start!
The restaurant was a considerable disappointment. Two breakfasts had to be returned because of undercooked eggs and overcooked, charcoal-like black pudding. At the first dinner, it was pointed out to us that the menu for our second night would be the same as for the first evening so could we bear that in mind when ordering. The two menus we were given differed in the amount we were allowed to spend without paying extra. One said £41 and the other £43. It seems this menu had been going for so long that it had been reprinted and an old copy was mistakenly produced. No doubt the chefs were thoroughly fed up cooking the same menu over and over night after night. We were told the restriction was in force because we were on a "special". At £850 for 2 people for 2 days!! But there was worse. I tried to find a combination of starter, main and pudding which would come under the £43 limit and I could not.
If this is the best hotel in Wales I will eat my hat - and probably enjoy it more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBH, General Manager at Bodysgallen Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

We always seek to please our guests and are most concerned if we apparently fail. However, these guests are not being entirely straight forward. They made a last minute booking for the most expensive suite. They were direct in their dealings with our staff. Upon receipt of both a letter of praise and complaint following their visit I replied and made a refund to reflect their complaints of a mark on the bedcover (not on the sheets) and about breakfast. In a subsequent telephone call from the guest a request was made for a two night complimentary visit, which was not accepted: this review followed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We had a two night stay in Castle View cottage and eat in the main restaurant both evenings. The whole place is well run and is very comfortable ( except one armchair in our room could do with a new cushion ). The dinners were excellent. The spa is very good as are the staff. Walking round the extensive gardens even in November is very pleasant.

Room Tip: Most of the cottages are a short walk up quite a steep slope from the main building but they are clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We felt decadent last week and had Afternoon Tea at Bodysgallen Hall We really enjoy our visits here The Staff are excellent as was our food The setting is stunning and the grounds very pretty. We had a glass of Champagne(extra charge) and a relaxing couple of hours Considering the cost, Fifteen Pounds, we thought it was excellent value for a special treat

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanaKR7964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We had a small family wedding in the evening. The first for 175 years after 6.00pm! The staff were almost telepathic in providing discrete attentive service. All the rooms we had were to a high standard, some with stunning views. This location must be one of the best in the UK with panoramic vistas set in a combination of formal garden, parkland and farmland. The food was excellent. All the ladies had a spa treatment and were so relaxed they nearly missed the surprise wedding.

Room Tip: Pick a Snowdonia view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

A simply fantastic experience awaits any visitor at this hidden gem on the edge of Llandudno. A marvellous old hall that is sympathetically looked-after is only the start. Superb location, fantastic - and I mean fantastic - bedrooms, wonderfully attentive staff and equally wonderful food come together to make this surely one of the very best hotels across Wales.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We had been looking forward to a luxurious and relaxing stay at Bodysgallen Hall Hotel on our second day of an extended tour of the UK. On approaching the hotel we were delighted with the beautiful grounds and historic building but unfortunately the experience deteriorated from there.

The receptionist was pompous, condescending, unhelpful and downright rude. She was reluctant to even call the porter to assist with carrying our large suitcases up the steep stone steps. On enquiring about booking for dinner, we were told there were no tables available in the Restaurant, but she would ‘see if a table could be found at the Bistro’. As it later transpired, the Bistro had no other customers, and the Restaurant had only two couples all evening.

On passing reception after a quite ordinary dinner, we observed another couple, whom the receptionist obviously thought were more worthy than ourselves, being checked-in. It was as if we had been transported into an episode of Fawlty Towers – in true ‘Basil Fawlty’ style the woman was fawning over the people to the extent that it would have been hilarious, had it not been so nauseating.

So whilst the grounds, vista and building were up to expectations, the stay was ruined by the attitude of the staff which varied from offhand to bizarre. The only bright spot was the very helpful and friendly young Welsh porter.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,267 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,654 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
346 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £207 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing