We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel & Spa”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed at the Hotel on business related issues over the weekend. I had not been for many many years and I have to say the Hotel, Staff, Service, Food , Spa were just truly amazing.
The location is so central to get out and about, my Spa treatment was probably one of the best I had ever had.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very individual but the rooms in the main house are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank absolutevenues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    128
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
374
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I held my 50th birthday party luncheon here a week before christmas and had a 'perfect day'.
Everything from the planning stage to the party day was carried out in an extremley proffessional, courteous and personal manner, by very helpful and friendly staff. The champagne reception for 30 in the private lounge, followed by a delicious lunch with superb seamless service was fabulous. Everyone from the manager to the restaurant staff made me feel very special. I can highly recommend Bodysgallen for any special occaision. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Although we have visited Bodysgallen on many occasions,this was our first experience of a christmas visit,and what an experience.The comfort of the hotel,the food and service was superb.From the personal welcome of the General Manager,the attention of the restaurant manager and all members of the dedicated staff,this was Bodysgallen at its very best.

We have enjoyed you before;we will certainly enjoy you again. Thank you.

David Jenkins

Room Tip: Over the years we have used many rooms and suites.They are all very nice with their own differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Like many others, I also feel this hotel deserves immediate feedback for a fabulous stay. I booked a New Year Break here for my mother and myself following a couple of excellent lunches during November/December and can honestly say it's one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had. Having worked in the hospitality industry and stayed in hotels in 36 countries, I don't say this lightly.

Location:
The hotel is surrounded by 200 acres of parkland and lovingly tended gardens - the classical topiary is a lovely contrast with the natural, wild setting. Plenty of benches to sit down and admire the giant trees. The building itself, dates back to the 17th century, with mullioned windows and painstaking attention to detail in the interior restoration. Specially commissioned wallpaper, beautiful prints, welcoming lounges everywhere. For those of you with a romantic, literary bent, think Jane Eyre's Thornfield Hall (without the madwoman in the attic!). It's a place you come and stay in to drift back to a more civilized world, peaceful but not stuffy in the slightest. It's quietly classy.

Rooms:
The decor in our huge room (which overlooked parkland) was gorgeous, nice touches such as bottled water, home made biscuits, chocolates and tangerines, Molton Brown toiletries. Beds so comfy, you don't want to leave them! Everything in the hotel is spotless. For music lovers, having a vintage radio with a fabulous sound was a big plus - listened to Mozart and Wagner as we got dressed for the New Year's Eve champagne reception!

Food:
Our break included afternoon tea - salmon sandwiches, pretty cakes, bara brith, scones with sinful cream - a champagne reception with canapes, a five course dinner with thoughtful wines to accompany each course, champagne brunch the next day and full use of the spa. The dinner menu was varied, from quails eggs to scallops, melt in the mouth beef to locally sourced cheese, each course expertly prepared and presented. For brunch, I had smoked salmon, the creamiest scrambled eggs I've had for a long while and wafer-thin toast, but everything from traditional full English breakfast, kippers, kedgeree and continental was available until 12.30. View of gardens and park from the dining room is lovely.

Spa:
Massive pool, every treatment under the sun available, but did not take due to lack of time. Also a separate lounge with newspapers and bar for those waiting for family members!

Service:
This is really what sets this hotel apart from many other establishments. It's faultless, unobtrusive yet personal. That's a difficult balance to get right. The staff are so well trained nothing seems to be rushed, but everything is where it should be, nothing too much trouble yet they have the time to talk with guests. Particularly enjoyed having a chat with Gareth - he's a gem. Reception staff lovely - we were originally allocated a room on the second floor, my mother has difficulty with stairs, so were moved to a first floor room. Very, very grateful for this. The manager, Matthew Johnson, has always been the first to welcome people when they arrive, regardless of whether it's just for lunch or for an overnight stay and makes a point of making himself available at all times - that sort of hands-on management speaks volumes and explains why the rest of the service is top notch.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 - beautiful view and decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quiettraveller045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

If log fires, Christmas trees, decorations, great food and wine appeal for three days of Christmas, then Bodysgallen Hall is the place. Add champagne receptions in the log pannelled public rooms, a harpist to accompany dinner, and attentive staff committed to ensure a memorable stay, and enjoyment is guaranteed. There are 220 acress of grounds and gardens surrounding the grand old house to stroll round, or nearby woods for a wander. Also tucked away in the grounds is a spa for exercise or pampering, depending on your pleasure. And a majestic view across to Conway castle and the Snodonia range beyond. Perfect.

Room Tip: In the hall, west facing rooms have the best views, though those on the east are quieter when the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iainlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Wirral
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We have just returned from a three day break at Bodysgallen Hall to celebrate my mother's 90th birthday. I feel compelled to feed back immediately on the outstanding service we all received.
There were six of us: my mother and sister, my partner and I and my two sons.
The hotel offered something for all of us: cosy corners to read, chat or play board games, a variety of very flexible eating options and menus, the spa with its well equipped gym and pool and a good range of treatments.
For our first two nights we ate at the Bistro, just a short walk down steps from the hotel's front door. We were given exclusive use of The Tack Room which meant we could enjoy a relaxed and cosy family meal together. The Bistro menu was excellent. In quality it easlily matched the hotel's main restaurant. I would suggest to anyone, resident or not, wishing to hold a cellebration meal with family or friends, could not better the Bistro and Tack Room for service and quality of food.
For our lunch on arrival and dinner on the evening of my mother's birthday we ate in the Main Dining Room. Food, service and attention to detail were excellent. The Head Chef kindly saw to it that crab and duck were on the menu as they are my mother's favourites. We also had a delicious chocolate birthday cake for puuding .... with candles.
Breakfasts were hearty with porrdige and fish options. The coffee was delicious. Throughout the day we were able to snack and lunch at The Spa, in one of the lounges or in our rooms from the snack/sandwich menu.
Some of our party had treatments at The Spa which certainly helped to ease us into a relaxing few days. They could just about squeeze us in as they were very busy and obviously extremely popular, so I would recommend to anyone staying at Bodysgallen Hall to 'phone ahead and book a treatment. I gather that, due to popularity, you could be disappointed if you wait until your arrival.
The Hall is set in several acres of beautiful grounds, both formal gardens and woodland beyond; ideal for walking or just sitting and soaking up the wonderful scenery. Even in the darkest days of winter the gardens and grounds were inviting.
The bedrooms are extremely well appointed. Our party had three rooms between us, all different but equally as comfortable. Given my mother's age the booking staff recommended that she and my sister share Room 1, as it was just at the top of a short flights of shallow stairs. As the building is Listed, there is, understandibly, no possibility of a lift system being installed, but persons with mobility problems can easily be accommodated in one of the Hall's cottages. There are plenty of willing staff available, on arrivals and departures, to help with porterage.
One lovely treat was to have our early morning tea and coffee brought to our room on a well laid out tray; such a pleasant change from the ubiquitous room kettle and sachets of instant coffee, tea bags and UHT or powdered milk found elsewhere. Each room is provited with bottled water and home made biscuits.
The jewel in Bodysgallen's crown has to be its outstanding staff; patient, helpful and attentive at all times and, above all, cheerful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms one and two in the main building are ideal for the less mobile. Excellent views from Rooms one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValkyrieTheWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Came here for a spa day and was made to feel special straight away. The service was professional and very relaxing. Staff we lovely and not snotty like other spa staff I have come across in other hotels. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing