We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lunch for 80th birthdaty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I decided to take my Mother for her 80th birthday just for lunch. Unfortunately the restaurant in the main hotel wasn't open (it being a Tuesday in February) but I decided to book the 1620 bistro as my Mother loves Llandudno and it was a chance to experience the hotel. My husbad and I have stayed preivously (for New Year) and had lunch in the bistro.

We arrived late as we got slightly lost! My Mother did mention to the lovely waitress that it might be helpful if there were more signs available around Llandudno pointing you in the right direction. We had to ask several locals before eventually finding it. (SatNav is not an option - my husband and I tried that and ended up ringing the hotel for directions anyway!)

That said, we had a most enjoyable lunch experience. We chose a main/dessert option. My Mother had the chicken with polenta which was beautifully presented and I opted for the mussels as a main course. They were absolutely gorgeous, hot and the "jus" divine. I ordered chips as an afterthought and they arrived promptly and were really crisp and hot!

Chocolate Mousse was my Mother's choice and I opted for the rhubarb crumble which was absolutely delicious. I have to say the presentation and attention to detail was second to none in all the dishes.

The young lady waitress was extremely attentive and a delightful addition to the experience.

I would definitely make the trip again and hopefully enjoy lunch in the main hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pubcritic192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

We looked forward to returning to this hotel from the minute we left last time. It did not disappoint, staff and facilities were excellent yet again. The food in the Bistro was excellent and very reasonably priced too. Our room this time was Mill Cottage and as we had our small dog with us it had a little garden area. There are walks in the grounds and really no need to move the car during your stay, this makes it all the more relaxing. The gardens are very well cared for and in the next couple of weeks will be wonderful with all the spring flowers.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Always fancied staying in this National Trust hotel, and the day came at last on my birthday.
Suffice to say everything met up with expectations. Our room - park cottage- was more like a little flat, with large lounge, enormous bedroom and bed (zip link). There was a little "kitchen" to make tea (no cooker though - as if you would want one).
Two bathrooms, two tvs, and the soft furnishings were sumptuous.
The pool was gorgeous, nice and warm.
The food in the main restaurant was delicious - expensive yes but you knew that when you booked it didn't you? Little tip, when you order your main course order some extra veg, because you don't receive any. didn't take anything away from the gorgeousness of the food but we were a bit hungry, no matter we had pud!
The building itself was beautiful, yes very national trust - and the garden, well it reminded us of Powys castle nuff said.
Finally, the staff were lovely, welcoming, informal, just right.

Oh yes, we will be back!

Room Tip: Park cottage is enormous,and allowed our little dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

I attended my first wine and champagne evening last night- such an amazing experience and thoroughly enjoyable. Staff were so helpful. I didn't stay at the hotel- seemed a bit extravagant when I only live 10 minutes away!!
Will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this excellent hotel,set in many acres of parkland.Situated just 5mins from Llandudno and the many other attractions of north Wales,this is a jem.Go out of season when there are many deals on offer and you will be on to a winner.The accommodation is sumptuous and the food is to match.

Room Tip: Room facing the garden.Sun in all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_mellor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Just returned from a 6 day stay at "Bodysgallen.We have been visiting this hotel for the last 27 years,and we couldn't have enjoyed this visit more.The hotel had blazing log fires,and our "hotel cottage" was warm and comfortable.Dinner in the main dining room was of a very high standard.Meat,game and fish served with delicious sauces.The Chef could hold his own in any London restaurant.We dined twice in the "1620" .this is a much less formal dining room,but again the food being served is excellent Bistro food.Every day we made full use of the Spa.often having the large swimming pool to ourselves.To be swimming along in a warm pool,while watching through the windows snow falling,is my idea of heaven!The hotel staff in what ever department they work could not be friendlier and more efficient.Smiles from everyone you see.Hotels that work on all levels I think need a Manager who is very much "hands on",and in Matthew Johnson , Bodysgallen Hall has just that.He heads an excellent team,and we can't wait to return.With all the road improvements over the last 27 years our journey time by car from London to North Walesis now down to 3hours45minutes.A journey well worth making.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed at the Hotel on business related issues over the weekend. I had not been for many many years and I have to say the Hotel, Staff, Service, Food , Spa were just truly amazing.
The location is so central to get out and about, my Spa treatment was probably one of the best I had ever had.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very individual but the rooms in the main house are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank absolutevenues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,283 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,440 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
2.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
971 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £200 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing