We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some lovely aspects but time to redress the balance” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Some lovely aspects but time to redress the balance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

I just had a two night stay at Bodysgallen with my family. The house and gardens are truly special and we ate some fantastic food. However, there are issues that I feel need to be addressed if Bodysgallen wishes to maintain the standard that it has (somehow!) managed to gain on this website. I feel it necessary to add some of my comments so that people are not misled by the abundance of positive comments here.

On the whole, staff were very courteous but there is an atmosphere created by the management that I can only describe as slightly stuffy. We lost count of the notices telling you not to do things. In addition I felt that there were times when i was being a little ripped off. I can hand on heart say this is the first hotel I have ever stayed in that did not have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Should you wish to have a cup of tea or coffee bought to your room you were expected to pay £5.50!!! Is it really just me that finds this unacceptable in a hotel of this standard? Even Travelodge give you a range of teas and a biscuit! Wireless was £5 for 24 hours but failed to work well, if at all. Toiletries were not replaced on the second day. It's the little touches such as complimentary refreshments, free wireless, attention to detail that really make stays special.

During our two night stay we were sat in the dining table at the same table for our breakfasts and evening meals, as were other guests. I personally find this an odd arrangement - if you happen not to like the table designated to you; tough! On our first evening meal we were the first to arrive at seven and were faced with several waiting staff stood around the room staring in our direction; unnerving! The lack of ambient music or lighting in the room was very noticable, there seemed to be a lack of privacy somehow and we ended up talking in hushed tones akin to dining in a library. I cannot fault the food though, it was really very good.

I write this because I want the management to see it and step up the mark in some areas because at these prices and with that reputation I expected just a little more than I got. Bodysgallen really is a treat in many ways but don't expect to feel like you've been spoilt.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank tropnevad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    127
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
111
368
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

Just come back from a faulous weekend here!. On the first night we were in a standard deluxe room which was nice and comfortable - the restaurant served an excellent menu and everything was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. The wine menu was also extensive and reasonably priced.
The staff were so attentive, professional and courteous and very pleasant. Certainly a big asset to the hotel!
On the 2nd night we moved to a suite in the main house (the Conwy suit) - very charming, very quiet and nicely deorated - all in perfect order and everything looked pristine.

The Gardens and grounds are absolutely stunning - by far the best hotel grounds I have seen!

Overall a beautifully presented country house hotel which makes (and suceeds!) in making you feel special and well looked after.
The only suggestion I would make is that there were no safes in the rooms and no tea/coffe making facilities - although complimentary tea/coffee was offered in your room in the morning.

Definately one to consider for a luxury break!

  • Liked — Traditional, quality and quality of staff
  • Disliked — Nothing - just perfect!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryholidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2008

This is the nicest hotel in the whole world with the nicest people working there.

  • Liked — It is a 17th century hall with amazing views and gardens
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2008

What a lovely hotel!

We stayed in Box Cottage, which is located near the hotel spa. Very private and beautiful accomodation. The suite consisted a sitting room, king sized bedroom, bathroom and small 'kitchen' with sink and full size fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Great attention to detail - pint of fresh milk in the fridge and freshly laundered tea towel provided. Country-house furnishings, comfortable sofa and chairs, two televisions, large bathroom with robes, plenty of towels, toiletries.

The main hotel building is very old and interesting with lots of original portraits, lovely log fire. Staff were friendly but discreet. Grounds are beautiful, even on a very gloomy day.

We had dinner in the restaurant, which was excellent, and we felt good value for the quality of the food. Had coffee by a roaring fire in the sitting area afterwards.

We used the swimming pool and the gym, over in the spa, and again the staff were very friendy and helpful.

All areas of the hotel were clean and well maintained.

All in all a first class experience and we would certainly recommed the hotel for a special break.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SARA43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

Stayed at Bodysgallen Hall over Easter 2008, Excellent service with hghly attentive staff. Very nice room, with excellent amenities. The place has wonderful charm and character with two large lounges and a library with crackling log fires and comfy sofas in each, plus other small nooks and crannies where you can sit with a good book and a pleasant drink.
Beautiful grounds in a lovely setting with a commanding views of the countryside
MAJOR plus points for us:

1: NOT suitable for children. This is a quiet, beautiful country hideaway suitable for SOPHISTICATED ADULTS who are wishing to get away from it all. Children under 6 are not welcome, and those between 6 and 16 can only use the spa facilities at specific times. These restrictions (plus the price) means that this is a major disincentive to people with young families as there's nothing for the kids. HOORAY!!!
2: NO background muzak anywhere HOORAY!!!!!
3: ZERO tolerance to mobile phone and laptop users. Although Wi-fi enabled, the use of either mobile phones or laptops is NOT allowed in ANY communal public areas., and there are discreet noices to this effect in the lounges, bars and restaurant. This policy is STRICTLY enforced HOORAY!!!!

One can, therefore be sure to have a relaxing and peaceful stay WITHOUT being forced to listen to one side of some self-important prat's inane phone conversations, or to the clickety-clack of his keyboard or the constant beeping of his texting while his unsupervised and ill-behaved kids run amok. BLISS!!!

Would go there again in a flash

Only MINUS point?

We went there in my saloon car. I WAS going to go there in a very low slung sports car we use for weekends away but I'm glad we didn't because there are several traffic calming ditches on the long entrance drive, and I'm pretty certain that I would have seriously damaged it. So if you are thinking of posing in your Ferrari, Lambo or similar car with little ground clearance , my advice would be don't, if you value the bodywork or exhaust that is.
That quibble notwithstanding, I could not fault this place

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Slipperywhenvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

We stayed in Feb this year and were warmly welcomed, with senior management much in evidence. Everything ran smoothly, our room was lovely with views over to Snowdonia and an excellent bathroom (looks like earlier complaints about bathrooms have had an effect). Dinner also excellent.
Next morning we had a rather disapppointing experience at breakfast. Early on a beautiful sunny morning we were the first into the dining room and asked to be seated at a window table to enjoy the views. We were told that we could not do this and had to take the same table as we occcupied at dinner, which was in a rather dark corner. No senior manager was available to deal with this issue. We had the frustrating experience of being the only people in the dining room for the whole time and being unable to take advantage of the lovely view. This policy (if it is a policy) should be reviewed or at least better communicated to the staff and, in a hotel of this quality, senior management presence is to be expected at all times during the working day.
This created a rather negative feel , but later in the day we had some last minute changes to our travel arrangements and the staff were extremely helpful and accomodating, which redressed the balance.
Simple message to management, theres no substitute for being there and looking after your staff to secure their loyalty and commitment.

  • Liked — rooms and views
  • Disliked — slightly inconsistent service
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank teithiwrWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2008

Had a fantastic time at this hotel - there was a big party of us and the service was superb. The spa and treatments are to die for, and the food and drink was amazing. We would definitely go again. The room was beatuiful too - spacious, comfortable and highly relaxing.

  • Liked — relexed vibe
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VJManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing