We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get married, equally good for afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great place to get married, equally good for afternoon tea”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I got married here in March 2005, a beautiful place just 2 miles from where I was brought up. Sadly my wife passed away after a short illness, but it is still a wonderful place to stay or dine at. I've only stayed in the outlaying buildings which are excellent. Breakfast is equally good as is the afternoon tea!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    129
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
378
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I had been given a gift voucher for afternoon tea for 2 at Bodysgallen Hall. I booked for my mother and I to go last week. On arrival, we sat in the main lounge and were given a menu and asked what drinks we wished to order, I asked for tea and my mother asked for coffee. The drinks arrived and then our afternoon selection of sandwiches, barabrith, scones, jam & clotted cream and 3 types of mini cakes. It was all very nice and enjoyable but the sandwiches were very small with only one piece each of the 3 choices. The waiter didn't check if we needed anything at any time and I had to go to the reception area to ask for another cup of coffee. The hotel is a beautiful building with lovely grounds but the lounge area was silent with no ambiance at all., a low orchestral music would break the ice possibly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeggySue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The house and gardens are outstanding, the service is of a high standard and the rooms are furnished in traditional style in keeping with the period. Early morning tea is brought to the room to order but there are no facilities in the rooms which I would consider more convenient. Dinner was OK but the nouvelle cuisine style did not satisfy many of the guests and the overall quality of food needs attention.

Room Tip: All have character, but there is no lift so Room 2 is first floor and spacious and would be first c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaguarbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Lovely old historic house in beautiful gardens with good quality service.

We stayed for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary and chose a four poster room. The house has a view of Conwy and is set in beautifully manicured gardens which are a delight to walk around. The formal, the kitchen garden and the surrounding woodlands are all a delight to see.

Our room was lovely with a great four poster bed, a writing table and good literature of the surrounding area all to hand. No tea making facilities in the room but it is delivered promptly to your room.

We had afternoon tea, which delighted the wife with the variety of cakes served! We also dined in the Restaurant for both evenings and on each occasion it was fine dining with excellent service. The breakfast was excellent on each occasion.

We also used the Spa, which has a pool, sauna, jacuzzi together with treatment rooms. The candle lux massage is recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edge1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

There are times when it's nice to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life, just for a couple of hours and enjoy a little treat, such as afternoon tea, in pleasant surroundings. This afternoon's trip to Bodysgallen Hall provided such a treat. We chose to sit by an impressive fireplace in the drawing room. The service was very good and unobtrusive. The tea, sandwiches and assortment of cakes, all high quality and plentiful. We didn't consider the price (£16.50 per head) unreasonable, you are, after all, paying as much for the experience as the food, though we did feel that perhaps it was a little 'sugar heavy' with many more cakes than we would have chosen for ourselves, delicious though they were. An alternative, more savoury selection might be something worth considering by the hotel as an alternative for those with differing dietary requirements.

The hotel and its well-kept gardens are beautiful. Where we took tea dates from 1620 and we enjoyed looking around. We will certainly revisit, perhaps in the Spring and look forward to further exploring the grounds and gardens.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alcilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed one night at Bodysgallen and had a lovely visit. Our cottage was very peaceful and overlooked sheep grazing in our front pasture. The gardens are GORGEOUS! Make sure you explore all of the nooks and crannies in the garden. So many pretty flowers and plants to take in. Also, the view from the top of the gardens looking toward Conwy Castle is amazing. The hotel is very formal and quiet. I enjoyed walking around all of the different levels and common rooms in the main mansion. We weren't wowed by the food, but overall a very nice stay in the Welsh countryside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivninCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. Stayed in a room at the top of the house with views towards Conwy. Beds and room was good, bathroom was large but needed updating. Dinner was very good in the restaurant with great choices. Garden and outside areas are fabulous and worth exploring. Good experience overall

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jongravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,186 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
1.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing