We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

It promised much but failed to deliver.
Waiting just over 35 minutes before being asked for a drinks order was not acceptable.
Another 20 minutes before being offered a menu was again not what one expects from a rated establishment.
The starter we selected was great...well done
The main course was poor...had better pub grub
The dessert was o.k.....as was the coffee
Was it worth the money ? not really
The service let it down..it was Christmas time but is that an excuse for poor service and average food...no ..if you promote quality then regardless of the time or the day then quality should be paramount

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Derek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Beautiful property in all weathers. The old outbuildings have been sympathetically restored into charming cottages which are delightful. The rooms are all very comfortable as are all the common spaces. It is very clean and intimate, with a cozy lounge and bar, and makes you feel like you might actually live there. There are some wonderful walks around the property and the views are gorgeous. The location is perfect for touring/sight seeing North Wales, and as this is my part of the world I know how much there is to see and do there.
The food was generally very good, and the staff most helpful - nothing was too much trouble and they quietly, and nicely, enforce the no cell phone policy. I was there to recuperate so this was important.
The spa has a nice size pool, but limited seating. Spa services were a little lack lustre - more done by rote than genuine care.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chwarae422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a lovely hotel, ideally situated for visiting North Wales and Snowdonia. Food and service was very good although, being picky, a few small things stopped this hotel from getting a '5' rating from us. We had one of the cottages which was great (and dog friendly, big plus) but the sitting room heating was unable to cope with the cold snap so we had to retreat to the bedroom to watch TV. When reported, the hotel offered an additional heater but seemed to know about the problem so why not provide it in the first place during cold weather? However, on balance we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel - it also has a great spa. Ideal for adult breaks, spa and exploring the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterG1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

A wonderful stay and I really did not want to leave. One of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. They gave me the attic suite and the views on Snowdonia were just stunning.
Excellent breakfast in the morning, wonderful food in general. I even email the chef for some recipes! So kind to share them with me! (This is an italian writing)
I was even lucky enough to find 'sunbathing' weather for most of my stay! Love the little touches:
Great teas in the room, DVD player, bathtub, info on things to do and see...one word: heaven.
And if you need somewhere close to London don't miss Hartwell House (been there too!). Its another National Trust property.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank french_letter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed at Bodysgallen this week courtesy of a friend buying a voucher at a charity auction. We booked treatments in the spa which as always were excellent and then retired to the hotel for a glass of champagne and some afternoon tea - delicious and as always served promptly by the delightful staff who never fail to remember you. It was a very cold night and our room was cosy and warm and extremely comfortable - dinner was delicious and breakfast in bed the following morning was piping hot and very enjoyable. Bodysgallen never fails to deliver - always comfortable and staff who go out if their way to make you feel at home - love it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conway34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have copied across the email I wrote as it says everything about the hotel. Terrific.

Thank you so very much for your prompt return of the chargers we so stupidly left in your room No 1.

While I have finger to keyboard we had a lovely stay. All your staff without exception were wonderful. Your log fires were so very homely. Your public room and the various nooks and crannies were relaxing and comfortable. We only wish we had had room for a cream tea that appeared in front of the couple sitting opposite us one afternoon, it looked absolutely fabulous and it seemed that they had come to Bodysgallen specifically for the lovely afternoon tea.

Once again many thanks.

The only comment I would like to add to the above is that all the food was extremely tasty but that we preferred to eat in the bistro; fine dining is fine, but we prefer a less formal atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel as we do not like staying in any annexes that are not attached to the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnaby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I took my wife and two friends to Bodysgallen Hall for lunch on 3rd Nov, when ever we take this couple out the sun shines and it sure didn't disappoint. I advised the hotel when booking,some two weeks earlier that one friend was a Celiac sufferer,and could we have the table in the dining room with a view? We arrived on time ,went in and sat in the ground floor sitting room in a intimate area next to a small fireplace, staff were courteous and offered drinks,at this point I reminded them that a guest was Celiac, they were a little taken aback but nevertheless continued to cope remarkably well. Nibbles were provided as well as canapés and in our own time we went to the dining room. Starters excellent, 2x belly pork with black pudding and 2x salmon..no complaints,mains 2 roast beef and 2 lamb. The lamb according to the ladies was superb,the beef average, Yorkshire pudding 1st class. Offered plenty of bread and gluten free through out. The sun shone throughout and we were given an excellent table (without reminder) also two interesting well known celebrities sitting aside us! Puddings excellent throughout,the celebrities had cheese it stank to high heaven, when questioned it appeared to be of a welsh variety! Not popular with our waitress. Coffee and fudge in the lounge ,very satisfactory. Value...good considering the courtesy and surroundings .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomsksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,303 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,757 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 59 in Llandudno
980 reviews
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
1.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £203 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing