We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A return as to a long missed friend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
knutsford
Level Contributor
220 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A return as to a long missed friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I have reviewed this hotel before, but after another visit I must just say again how wonderful it is, the food still every bit as good, the service as excellent, the whole ambiance of the hotel is quietly outstanding in wonderful surroundings. The gardens are wonderful for a stroll, so well kept and elegantly manicured, what more would you expect from a hotel of this stature, a wonderful experience from start to finish!
The spa is also excellent and well worth a visit if you have time for pampering, normally I wouldn't single out any particular members of staff, but this time, Nicolette, the restaurant manager, and Gareth, he dose everything in a gentle way with a great sense of humour

Room Tip: The cottages are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebonylynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    127
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
111
368
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This has been on our list of "fab places to visit" for a long time! It is certainly not cheap so it was saved as a real treat and we were expecting something memorably sumptuous.
The building and grounds are magnificent and the atmosphere is what one would expect from an expensive hotel. The staff were attentive and friendly too. The public areas do not feel too stuffy and the whole place feels comfortable. Sadly the fires were not all lit and the one that was was only glimmering. Roaring fires would be so much more welcoming on a cold March day, though the place felt warm enough.
We stayed in a cottage as we took our little dog with us. It was very sweet and felt like your Granny's house! It had two floors with a small kitchenette to make tea or coffee which suited us. There was a small lawn which was handy for our dog first thing!
The bedroom was ok-except one radiator would not turn off. It was large enough and the bathroom was adequate with a lovely over-bath shower with plenty of force-great!
Lovely white monogrammed towels and flannels. Sadly only one shower gel for 2 people which I never find is enough if you require a bath and a shower-I know I could have called for more but when you are already in the shower you really don't want the bother!!

The beds!-not comfortable and too small.
We like to have twin beds when we are away as double beds in the UK are never big enough when we are used to sleeping in super-king sized beds at home. These were two 2 foot 6 inch beds which were convex in shape-grossly uncomfortable and hard. Blankets and sheets too! Why not duvets?
We decided to leave without staying for our second booked night! We were informed that some of the beds had been renewed-I wonder if there have been any more complaints re these beds? We were offered alternative accommodation-if available in another cottage-but we decided to cut our losses, as we also didn't relish another dinner either at the exorbitant cost in the restaurant.

Dinner was VERY pricy and definitely not worth the money.
There was nothing to say it was "fine dining" except the staff's attentiveness. I had beautifully cooked cod but served with Kale which was far too strong tasting and very chewy! Braised lettuce or something would have accompanied it soo much better. There was a very small fondant potato and a very few slivers of mini carrot.
The belly pork entree was on the menu as being "crispy"-this it was not. There were three pieces of crackling akin to those one gets in a bag which were jaw breaking. Oh dear!

Having complained about the beds I really did not want to go into great lengths about the dinner too, though now I feel I should have, but complaining ruins the whole stay enough without going on and on! After all this was supposed to be a treat!
Breakfast was fine.

Sadly we could not recommend this to anyone. We feel very deflated about our trip and also very out of pocket. What a great shame!

Room Tip: Request duvets if that is your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GSMD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I have just returned from this outstanding hotel. I bought it as a Christmas present for my mother and I have to say the whole experience was faultless. We stayed in park cottage which is situated very close to the hotel. The cottage is extremely spacious, spotlessly clean and delightfully furnished. From check in onwards all the staff were marvellous and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. We also had an afternoon cream tea which was, as everything else, truly marvellous.
I had read some other reviews prior to our stay regarding this hotel which were very negative but I truly don't understand what there isn't to like about this wonderful place. It is truly class!!

Room Tip: Park cottage is delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trentham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages and it was wonderful. From checking in to departure nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were taken to the cottage and shown round,helped with luggage and a parking space found.
The hotel itself is lovely and we spent hours in the gardens and grounds.
We ate in the Bistro the first nght and the formal restaurant the second and the food in both was lovely. Breakfast was also really nice and the staff were polite, efficient and friendly.
The spa was fantastic and the treatments heavenly. The only downside was that the spa therapy staff did not introduce themselves, but this did not ditract from the experience. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Mill Cottage which had lounge, bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and private garden. Tea and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent the first night of our honeymoon at Bodyscallen Hall in 1989 and returned to this very special place this weekend to celebrate 25 years. We were delighted to find that the Hotel has all its original charm totally unspolit we even found the old visitors book with our name in!
If you like a characterless modern hotel this place is not for you . Bodyscallen is steeped with History and decorated and furnished with antiques for comfort and style.
It was treat to be greeted at the car and have our luggage unpacked and carried up to our room...Room 11.where we were so comfortable. We ate a most delicious supper in the Bistro and then sat by the fire in a comfortable alcove of the hall.In peace and private. Rather than convert everywhere to bedrooms there is plenty of space to withdraw and sit in private.Breakfast in the main dining roomoverlooking the garden carpeted in daffodils with a stunning view of Snowcapped Snowdonia.We walked around the gardens ,through the woods and up to the Obelisk such freedom.
The staff were helpful without being intrusive ...the maid brought in proper early morning tea ..my boots left outside the bedroom were polished as never before by the night-porter..
We swam and had a light lunch in the Spa where the staff were again kind thoughtful and helpful
I just hope that I don't have to wait another 25 years before we return I dream of taking our teenage daughters ( 15 and 17) there who are now old enough to appreciate the comfort and style without intruding on the privacy of other guests.

Room Tip: Stunning views all around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We often stay at Bodysgallon hall it's a beautiful old house, warm and comfortable with excellent management and staff. The hotel is situated near Llandudno and Central to lots of places to visit in beautiful north Wales

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjw395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Returning to Bodysgallen is always a treat. Whatever the time of year and weather, it never ceases to amaze. This time the wild snowdrops carpeted the woodland and were a delight. There is always a warm welcome and the staff are courteous and helpful but also leave guests to come and go as they please. The hall looks formidable from the outside but it is very cosy and homely inside and the log fires were welcome at this time of year. We always enjoy the leisurely breakfasts and fine dining as the food is always excellent quality and beautifully presented.
Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryHeswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing