We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gardens we've seen yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel and gardens are part of the National Trust but you can't get into the Gardens unless you are a guest of the hotel. The Gardens are the best we've seen in such a compact area. There are flowers everywhere in a formal setting , one leading into another with a woodland walking path also. The oldest part of the hotel dates to 1620. The facility is in a parklike setting with a long drive up from the road. The rooms consist of cottages. Ours consisted of a sitting room and kitchen downstairs with a bedroom bathroom upstairs. It was traditional and very comfortable. We did not try the dining room but it seems to have an excellent reputation. I was sitting in the lobby when two guests ordered High Tea. The caddy, covered in various cakes biscuits and pastries, was gigantic.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobxxxxCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I visited with our 3 dogs in Aigust 2013, I was so in love with the cottage house we stayed in I knew I wanted to go back for my 21st Birthday in the following December.
We booked the same cottage. It was all beautifully clean and tidy! Very cosy and perfect for my little family and dogs.
We had a meal in the evening - lovely food!! Very tasty deserts! The Prosecco went down well, too.
The breakfast was yummy!
We loved the spa area - swimming pool waa great - hardly anyone in it.
Beautiful surrounding views.
Definately worth a visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DweenaLouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is one expensive hotel and with very good reason - it is tiny and seems to have an enormous staff.

All British hotels I have ever stayed in have the custom of providing a kettle and tea bags - even Bovey Castle (who provide fine bone china) does it! So we were taken aback not to be able to find the kettle despite a search - yes there were biscuits, water, cotton wool balls, bath robes and even 2 phones but no kettle. When I eventually picked up the phone and asked for some tea it arrived via room service instantly and it was great - real tea, real tea pot, real milk and fresh cookies. It is so much better to be able to pick up the phone and even better when it is sometimes free. I'm now a fan.

The hotel is shabby chic and all the better for it. The views are amazing from room 5 - they must be heaven from 18. The staff are great. The garden is to die for.

Then add the leisure centre - people were complaining it was crowded - there must have been 8 people there! Everything is clean and - a rarity these days- everything worked. Simply and elegantly done.

If one has to be super critical (and I don't but it would be good if the management read this)- the staff in the restaurant are all trying to do a good job but they need more co-ordination or maybe training. They need to understand the theatre they are presenting.

So if you are minted, have no kids and can stand the weather then this is for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank englishman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Having never stayed at a National Trust Cottage before, I was wary when we booked Byre Cottage in February. We were looking for a cottage that could accommodate a dog and our family, and happened upon this location in North Wales. Our stay exceeded my expectations on every level. The cottage was roomy and quaint, and had a lovely enclosed garden in the front. The kitchen is small, but with 2 restaurants on site and plenty to explore nearby, we used it only for breakfast. The property has made excellent use of natural light, and even in February this small cottage felt warm and spacious. The two single bedrooms were lovely, and had separate staircases (no door) and the double bedroom was slightly larger with plenty of closet space. It was truly the best of both worlds, the privacy of self catering on an isolated property bordering National Trust and Woodland trust properties, combined with the convenience of an on-site hotel and spa. We would return in a heartbeat - perhaps after May next time to enjoy some of the additional activities on offer in North Wales during peak season.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraAbr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

On a rainy Bank Holiday Monday, we were lured into this National Trust hotel by a notice in the drive promising an Early Bird Dinner between 5.30pm and 6.30pm of 2 courses for £16. after negotiating a drive with deep channelled cobble stone speed traps, we were lucky to arrive with our suspension and tyres intact! We were not looking forward to the return journey. We noticed the Spa was quite a long way from the hotel, thinking it wouldn't be a pleasant trek when it was pouring down. The hotel itself inside was stuffy and gloomy, a bit like our reception .It was 6.15pm, within the ' Early Bird time'. We asked about tea or a meal and were told somewhat haughtily that 'The house is closed on Monday'. What was that about? It's not a stately home but supposed to be a hotel. Also what about the notice advertising the 2 course dinner clearly displayed on the drive.? We were told only the Bistro outside the hotel in a sort of outhouse was doing meals? The Early Bird Dinner which had enticed us in was not advertised or mentioned anywhere on the menus The man at reception wouldn't even provide a pot of tea and we had to go back out into the pouring rain very fed up and left. Not much show of hospitality there!. This bad experience was such a contrast to our visit the same day to another National Trust property Bodnant Gardens where the lunch was delicious and a friendly welcome greeted you. Possibly the National Trust need to look at the management of the Bodysgallen Hall and check out what is going on with its special offers advertised on the drive..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
14  Thank avabolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I really appreciation the garden tour at Bodysgallen Hall on Friday 16th May. We were accompanied by my sister and brother in law who thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
The package was well presented with an insight into the history of the Hall, followed by the tour with the head gardener, Robert Owen. The tour was very informative, helpful and conducted in an informal manner.
Thereafter it was sheer delight to savour lunch in a relaxing and pleasant ambience. The meal was of the highest quality with the service being outstanding.
The staff were very professional and contributed to making our visited a memorable occasion.
We would have no hesitation in recommending our experience to others, in viewing mature gardens and fine dining.
We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WGS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have stayed many times at Bodysgallen but always in the main house - this weekend the house was full so I was offered a cottage. I was a little concerned that not being in the main house would not feel quite the same but instead it turned out to be a delight - my own country cottage with it's own private garden tucked away in a corner of the grounds - I loved it!! As always the hotel was superb, the warmest of welcomes from the staff who always, always remember you and all your special requirements - the food was delicious and the ambience one of comfort and genteel hospitality - Mathew Johnson leads a superb team - every member of the staff deserves a special mention particularly the incomparable Nicolette who serves your favourite drink without being asked!! Can't wait to be there again in The Autumn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conway34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,291 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,451 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
976 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £214 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing