We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very special experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a very special experience”
Reviewed 15 February 2009

I have stayed at this hotel twice and have found it to be the closet thing I could imagine to having my own country manor. I felt very much at home in the domestic setting and loved the antique decoration. The garden is a destination in its own right. My only regret is that I did not plan more time to lounge around the hotel and tour the extensive grounds. I also got 25% off using my Royal Oak Foundation member discount.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timelytravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    132
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
386
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2009

We decided to hold our wedding at Boydsgallen as upon the first visit the grounds took my breath away! We got a fantastic deal on the (rooms and venue) price as it was out of season and booked quite late, to put in perspective it was cheaper than holding it at a standard hotel with less than pleasing gardens! Our guests were overwhelmed at how lovely the place was. Even the rain held back and we managed to have our photos taken. The food was absolutely lovely and we couldn't have asked for a better place to have our wedding. The staff left us alone on the day and didn't impose their rigid rules on us, which I have to admit did worry me at the outset. Overall would highly recommend the venue for a very special wedding for anyone!

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

We had planned our stay at Bodysgallen to be the luxurious finale of a great road trip through Wales. And upon entering the wooded grounds and seeing the main Hall for the first time, we were not disappointed. However, our excitement soon turned to frustration and anger as we faced a gauntlet of stuffiness, from a long list of guest rules to dining room staff who were downright rude. The list of rules included strict dress codes for dining and public areas, limitations on children, allowed ambient noise levels, proper etiquette in the main House, etc., etc. The net result of so many rules was that we felt uncomfortable, and spent much of our time in our suite. When we did venture out the first night to try the dining room we were the first diners to be seated--by the kitchen door. I am not kidding, there were no other people in the entire two-room restaurant and they seated us at the absolute worst table. When we politely asked to be moved, the waitress haughtily indicated this was impossible, and we should inquire at the front desk if we wanted a specific table location! (This was an unwritten rule!) So, feeling a bit abashed, we left and had room service. As luck would have it, the next morning at breakfast, we had the same waitress. Apparently upset with us because of the prior night's interaction, she again sat us by the kitchen door saying, "I TOLD you we have a strict seating policy, and you MUST talk to the front desk " We were of course thrilled to hear this information again, this time without even asking. Bottom line, we now felt really uncomfortable, and ended up having our meals elsewhere. I would (and did) suggest to Hotel Management that in today's travel environment, it is possible to have exclusivity and luxury without stuffiness and rudeness.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — Stuffy atmosphere and rude staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JJBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

My husband and I have just had a fantastic one night stay at Bodysgallen Hall. We can't wait to visit again soon!
We booked a room on a "late deal" website, so could hardly believe it when we were given a cottage suite, with sitting room, bedroom, bathroom and little kitchen. There was even milk in the fridge and ground coffee for the cafeteire.
We had phoned the hotel directly to book a table for dinner. Admittedly the portions are not huge and the prices are fairly expensive, but our meal was delicious. We found the service polite and discreet, and not at all stuffy. We enjoyed the remains of our bottle of wine by the open fire in the hall.
The following morning we enjoyed breakfast (for which we were not charged extra) before taking a stroll around the fabulous grounds then enjoyed a coffee in our cottage while reading the paper, before reluctantly checking out.
Next time we go we will make use of the spa, which looked wonderful. We didn't realise it was included in our room rate. The hotel did offer to lend us swimwear, but we didn't really have time to take up their kind offer. We might also try out the new, less formal restuarant. The menu was very tempting.

  • Liked — Beautiful private cottage
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cegidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

We just came back from Bodysgallen, and what a treat it was! Where to start? We were welcomed by the concierge at the door who carried our bags. We were checked in by a lovely girl in Reception, who informed us that we had been upgraded to a suite that had just been refurbished. What a lovely suite it was, and the view was just amazing! I mentioned while checking in that I wanted to book treatments in the Spa, when we got to our room, just a couple of minutes later, the phone was ringing, it was the lovely receptionist who just wanted to inform me of the times available in the Spa, she did mention that I was lucky, as they had a cancellation, otherwise, as I hadn't booked in advace I might have found no appointments available, I thought it was a nice touch that she checked for me! In the evening we went down for dinner, and again we found impeccable service and delicious food.

The only thing I hated about this hotel is the fact that after three lovely days I had to torn myself away and had to leave! However, I will be back! And very soon I hope...

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingalbatros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

This is a lovely property. We had a beautiful room overlooking the spectacular gardens and Conwy Castle in the distance. The problem was the food. My theory is that if the bread is no good the food will be no good. The bread was awful. I have never seen such miniscule portions. Starting with the amuse bouche. Tiny bits of tuna with lots and lots of minute pieces of red onion, which I do not eat, was basically what we had the two nights we ate there. Items mentiioned on the menu as part of the dish consisted of one thin slice cut with a razor blade. An adequate slice of fois gras came with two 1" by 2' CROUTONS. My lobster and asparagus starter consisted of less than 1 oz of lobster and one asparagus tip sliced into three pieces! The main courses were just a bit more copious. However, my best end of Welsh lamb was a disgrace. I had three small chops, all end pieces, of which most was inedible fat. The dessert was supposed to be summer pudding. In keeping with the theme of deconstructing dishes, this was three thimble sized mounds of dry white bread into which some mixed berries were added. And so it went on. Each meal was a disaster of similar stinginess. We left the table hungry each night. As the property is fairly secluded, there is nowhere else to eat. Something must be done. In their favor, the staff, mostly foreign and not speaking good English, was excellent.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barometerfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

I just had a two night stay at Bodysgallen with my family. The house and gardens are truly special and we ate some fantastic food. However, there are issues that I feel need to be addressed if Bodysgallen wishes to maintain the standard that it has (somehow!) managed to gain on this website. I feel it necessary to add some of my comments so that people are not misled by the abundance of positive comments here.

On the whole, staff were very courteous but there is an atmosphere created by the management that I can only describe as slightly stuffy. We lost count of the notices telling you not to do things. In addition I felt that there were times when i was being a little ripped off. I can hand on heart say this is the first hotel I have ever stayed in that did not have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Should you wish to have a cup of tea or coffee bought to your room you were expected to pay £5.50!!! Is it really just me that finds this unacceptable in a hotel of this standard? Even Travelodge give you a range of teas and a biscuit! Wireless was £5 for 24 hours but failed to work well, if at all. Toiletries were not replaced on the second day. It's the little touches such as complimentary refreshments, free wireless, attention to detail that really make stays special.

During our two night stay we were sat in the dining table at the same table for our breakfasts and evening meals, as were other guests. I personally find this an odd arrangement - if you happen not to like the table designated to you; tough! On our first evening meal we were the first to arrive at seven and were faced with several waiting staff stood around the room staring in our direction; unnerving! The lack of ambient music or lighting in the room was very noticable, there seemed to be a lack of privacy somehow and we ended up talking in hushed tones akin to dining in a library. I cannot fault the food though, it was really very good.

I write this because I want the management to see it and step up the mark in some areas because at these prices and with that reputation I expected just a little more than I got. Bodysgallen really is a treat in many ways but don't expect to feel like you've been spoilt.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank tropnevad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,210 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,562 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
776 reviews
2.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing