We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AFTERNOON TEA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AFTERNOON TEA”
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Had afternoon tea 23.5.10.....terrible, we were celebrating a 60th and a 95th birthdays. Sanwiches: salmon....good......3 other fillings were.....egg....tomato.....cucumber....the tiny lemon meringue tarts good.....eclairs disgusting.....scones over baked.......and the bakewell slices could have been Mr. Kippling, although no, his are better........I had to ask at reception for more tea......£14 per head......could have got better in a cafe in Llandudo.......one piece of furniture was covered in dust, I could have written in it, We are local to the area and expected it to be great......what a let down......I have sent a written letter but don't expect a reply...................it was a total waste of money......

Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
15 Thank Grasshopper042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MACJ, General Manager at Bodysgallen Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2010
We are sorry that the above guests did not enjoy afternoon tea at Bodysgallen Hall, and that no complaint was made at the time of their visit with a view to putting matters right then. We are also sorry that we were not given an opportunity to respond to the initial written complaint before this review was posted on Trip Advisor on the actual day we received written communication. We always respond to our guests’ correspondence.

Afternoon Tea at Bodysgallen Hall is a very popular traditional dining experience with traditional finger sandwich fillings and accompanying cakes. Alternative fillings are available upon request at all times. The price of £14.00 per person for afternoon tea not only includes a choice of leaf teas with an accompanying pot of hot water, sandwiches, scones, cakes and Bara Brith, but also provides comfort in sitting in one of historic public rooms of the 17th Century Hall, linen napkins, full waiter service, and free access to our gardens and estate for as long as our guests would like to experience.

We do clean our public rooms daily and thoroughly, and to a high standard.

29th May 2010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    127
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
370
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N. Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Visited Bodysgallen for the first time for a meal only to celebrate our anniversary. From the very first moments of our visit we felt special. The service was superb & conducted in a manner which left us feeling as if we mattered & as if we were old friends. The meal was superb & the wines delightful. The overall experience felt effortless, as if we belonged there rather than one off dinner guests. We will not hesitate to recommend & return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2010

My husband and I had 2 nights away from our young children and decided to spend them at Bodysgallen. We were looking for a hotel with veiws, walks, a quiet spa and a great restaurant. We were not dissapointed on any count.
The gardens and woodland walks around the hotel were perfect. The spa was small but had a good sized pool, an excellent range of treatments and was quiet when we were there. Both the restaurant and the Bistro had fantastic service and superb food.
Generally the hotel was extremely friendly, comfortable and it oozed Historic interest and charm.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisaOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Just returned from a delightful two days at Bodysgallen and would recommend it to anyone. The building is great fun and the service was impeccable. It's not cheap but if you are happy with the rates for accomodation the extras you pay for there are all reasonable. The Snowdonia view room is very peaceful with great views.

On the subject of the age limit for children which a previous review complained about - I entirely support this. I have nothing against children but badly behaved or noisey young ones can spoil a visit for those who have spent a fair amount for a peaceful stay away. If the policy is communicated in advance then you have no grounds for complaint, the hotel cannot be expected to interview prospective guests in advance to assess their children so an age limit is perfectly fair.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

The best thing about Bodysgallen is its grounds, which are beautiful and extensive. The worst was the size of the attic room (number 21). Although clean, it was uncomfortably small and low-ceilinged. I had to spend much time hunched over to avoid hitting beams and sloping roofs. This allocation may have reflected the amount we paid on a well-known website i.e. about half the published rate. Even so, I am becoming a little tired of hotels which reserve their worst rooms for such bookings. It was counter-productive for Bodysgallen anyway: sensing that we had been given their worst, which they declined to change, we decided against lunch or dinner there, enjoying the excellent Castle hotel in nearby Conwy instead. Disappointingly, the spa (the main point of our short visit) closes at 19.30h on a Saturday so we had no opportunity to enjoy it, making our stay poor value for money. A real 5* hotel would not close its spa facilities so unreasonably early.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyLetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

What a wonderful place. This place was perfect in every way. Beautiful gardens to wander in away from the maddening crowds, fantastic public spaces to relax and read the papers next to a roaring log fire whist surrounded by history, amazing food that left us comfortably full but not overly-stuffed, friendly staff who helpfully accomdated your every need, a lovely spa with wide selection of treatments. We had a large bedroom, with a huge bed and views over Conway Castle to the snowy Cardneddau mountains behind. A peaceful country house a world away modern gadgets and hurly burly crowds. What a treat!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank art17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Imaginative and nicely cooked food in the main restaurant but the small portion size was very disappointing. The billing of a top chef with accolades is great but it means nothing if the establishment is ungenerous (and therfore penny pinching) with its quantities. It was the sort of meal that would want to make an international rugby player (or hill walker who had spent the day in Snowdonia) borrow a golf buggy in the middle of the night to head for the nearest Burger King! The cooked breakfast is not worth the extra. No expertise is needed to grill bacon and the a piece of black pudding the size (and thickness) of a 50p piece was derisory. There was no marmite available on request ..... at a top country British hotel??

Although we stayed for two nights there were no one hour slots available for beauty treatments in the spar when we arrived. Book in advance since it would appear that the spa facilities are used mostly by non-residents. This wasn't suggested to me when I made the hotel booking and discussed the use of the spa with the hotel receptionist.

Accommodation is delightful, the grounds are superb and the ambience is very special. Our bed had heavy blankets and bedspreads which was a surprise and didn't make for the most relaxed of slumbers. Don't most people use duvets in 2010?

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandratal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,147 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
920 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
849 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing