We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With serviuce like this .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“With serviuce like this .....”
Reviewed 14 September 2007

I booked a spa day for 2 members of staff as a treat cost £280. The following day I received a phone call to tell that they had meant to mention it at the time but there would also be a further £4.75 charge for posting each voucher and the receipt to me.

I admit to being incredulous and cancelled the spa treatments on the spot.

With long distance service and attitude like that why would you want to experience the actual property?

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank clieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    128
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
373
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

We stayed here in July for my mother-in-law's 60th birthday and it was everything we expected and more! The people who have written scathing reviews about this place clearly must have stayed somewhere else or have ideas above their station! For a start, the place is beautiful: gorgeous gardens and beautiful rooms. From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us - bringing drinks out onto the lawn, turning down our beds at night and even reserving the library for our party so that we could enjoy private drinks before our delicious meal. I didn't arrange this - the hotel staff took it upon themselves to make sure our evening was flawless and our mum felt like an absolute princess. I can not recommend this place enough. Yes, it's expensive, but it isn't extortionate because you are getting what you pay for: a unique venue in a fabulous setting and an experience that you will never forget. I urge anyone who hasn't visited this hotel to do so. And please ignore the Victor Meldrews on this site!!!!

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — Nothing I loved it all!!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irdwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Herts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

We stayed here thanks to a friend booking us in for a 'thank you' treat.

We were upgraded to the best room in the hotel, with wonderful views of the fantastically kept and maintained gardens, and the Conwy Castle.

The porter who brought our cases upstairs, was diligent and immensely pleasant, and took pride in what he did, offering us lots of information too.

The room decor was very nice for this type of country hotel, the beds were most comfortable, the room appeared very clean. The bathroom was adequate, and whilst the shower had good power and heat, the bathroom appeared a little tired.

We had the afternoon tea which arrived 20 minutes after we'd ordered it for and with tea pre-selected (though we were promised a choice!). Tea was very nice and plentiful, sandwiches were fresh, cakes were very tasty and the scones were excellent. This was enjoyed in the lounge on the first floor which a lot of people may not ever notice but is well worth checking out.

The gym was small and reasonably well-equipped, though some of the equipment was a little out-of-date (in my opinion as a regular gym-goer!). The steam room was of good heat, the jacuzzi was most pleasant, as was the pool. The staff were very friendly in the gym.

Pre-dinner drinks in the bar were accompanied by pleasant nibbles (don't eat too many and spoil your dinner!) and the delivery of some Hors d’œuvres was a pleasant extra. The restaurant manager Nicollette was extremely pleasant - nice to see someone who has some pride in their work, even after 27 years at the same place! Her staff were incredibly well-trained and waited on us hand and foot without being intrusive.

The meal itself was excellent - and whilst expensive, in reality it was worth it from an 'experience' point of view.

Tea delivered to the door in the morning was a nice touch and was dead on time. The cooked breakfast was not exceptional considering the high standards of the dinner and I do think the £6.50 additional cost is stingey.

The grounds are superb, amazingly well kept and maintained - credit to the team whose innovation makes it a real pleasure to look at and walk through.

Reception staff were also very friendly.

All in all a fantastic 24hours break. As a couple, we are 29 and 36 and we very much enjoyed staying exclusively within the grounds, in fact, having wondered around both Conwy and Llandudno town centres the day before, which were tired old towns with an unpleasant atmosphere and feel to them, I'd advise you stick to the hotel and not worry about a visit to the town centres!

If I'd been paying for the break myself, it would have had to have been for an extremely special occasion, as I'd calculate for the same cost as our 24 hour stay (inc dinner/drinks/afternoon tea etc), we could have flown to most cities in Europe and stayed 3 or 4 nights in a modern hotel and had enough spending money for a couple of nights left over. BUT I stress it is well-worth the money if you don't begrudge paying it, and an excellent experience.

  • Liked — great service; friendly staff; fantastic grounds; wonderful views; dining experience; overall brilliant experience
  • Disliked — bathroom needs updating; £6.50 breakfast supplement cost
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank exponential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2007

Went to the bodysgallen in january as a surprise for my girlfreinds 24th. Booked in a standard kingsize with full breakfast, dinner for two and a few treatments at the spa but was pleasently surprised to find at check in that we had been upgraded to a superior kingsize with fantastic views over the garden. The room was very large with a sitting area, dresser and very comfy bed. The decor in the room was basically chince from a different era and certainly not how id decorate my home but for a county break it really added to the novelty of the occasion.

We really enjoyed relaxing in the sitting areas throughout the hall and there were several authentic oils about that blended with the open log fire places and antiques throughout. Such a nice change from the cold outside!

Wine at the hotel was superb and we were pleasently surprised again when offered free pre dinner canapes that were very tasty.

Getting dressed up for dinner is a must so if you dont want formality then dont go! But if you want to celebrate a special occasion then why not make the effort! As mentioned in other posts the food was top notch and well worthy of the 3 AA rosettes. Breakfast also was nice.

If your looking for a quite break in surroundings more resembling an aristocratic mansion than a bland hotel, although not cheap this place is great!

  • Liked — great food & wine, cosy atmosphere
  • Disliked — bathroom was a little small but hotel makes up in other areas
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank :-)...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

We had read some of the reviews on tripadvisor. On arriving we were upgraded to a junior suite, wonderful views. This is an old fashioned country hotel in imaculate grounds. We had booked dinner for the first evening and chose a table overlooking the castle. The Restaurant Manager (Nicolette) reputation proceeded her, however, she was precise but polite and efficient. The food was so good we booked for the second evening instead of going out as planned. We had a problem at lunchtime with some stale sandwiches and the manager got involved and all was sorted. They tried to overcharge for breakfast on leaving, a problem some friends of ours had had, but they sorted it out. The spa is small and a bit claustrophobic but adequate. Breakfast service not up to the same standard as dinner but food good. Good for a couple of days for a break, go expecting rain!!

  • Liked — peace and good food
  • Disliked — breakfast service
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biffoBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2007

Have recently returned from another relaxing 2 night break at this wonderful hotel and yet again are amazed to read the reviews of those unsatisfied people. True, staying at Bodysgallen Hall is not a budget experience, but the cottage suites are private, extremely comfortable and surrounded only by the sound of birdsong. Add to this the immaculate gardens, in which we came across only one other guest in 2 days, (best seen in the evening after dinner, as the sun sets, honey-coloured light pours from the hotel windows and the bats fly around over the pond), the spa and 15m pool (what other hotel gives you that?), the views across to Snowdonia from the dining room, a visitors' book signed by Johnny Marr and tasty kippers in the morning. Such quality doesn't come cheaply!
Room rates with inclusions/exclusions are clearly stated in pre-arrival communication, so people can hardly claim to be 'stung' by extras. The hotel is a period building, dating back 8 centuries, not a newbuild Marriott, so the bathrooms won't all be vast caverns. The current visitor book is full of comments from clearly satisfied and thrilled guests from all over the world, who will no doubt return, just as we will again and again.

  • Liked — Peacefulness
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_and_RHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

This is a fantastic hotel. The property and gardens are superb, as is the food and wine. The service is excellent and friendly and I cannot wait to go back. We have been a few times for meals and held our wedding there which was followed by a luncheon. We could not have
asked for anything more as everything was utterly perfect. We stayed in the Vaughn Suite with a four poster and outstanding views.
Relatives stayed in a cottage which was delightful and best for those who like making refreshments when they fancy and not asking for room service. The management take great pains to keep Bodysgallen
a haven for people who enjoy the fine and gentle luxuries in life. This extends to a policy of no children under six years which I have to say is a good thing as the peacefulness of this hotel is addictive. Dress nicely and enjoy what I believe is Britain at its best.

I cannot praise Matthew Johnson and his staff highly enough.

  • Liked — Class all the way
  • Disliked — Up and down stairs to get to but worth it!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trudygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
2.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
21.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing