We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Megsy
North Wales, United Kingdom

BOD Beauty On your Doorstep

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Mar 2024via mobile
What a wonderful, enchanting, magical place this is! My fourth visit for an afternoon tea with family and it never disappoints. From the moment you arrive, you are greeted with a welcome smile from every member of staff, nothing is too much trouble as we did have rather a lot of dietary issues that we forgot to mention when booking, but were catered for without fuss and swiftly. The waiter who looked after us was very knowledgeable about the house and told us the history of the ornate fireplace we sat around in the drawing room. We were even lucky enough to get a break in the wet weather to wander the spectacular gardens before heading home very full and very happy, planning our next visit. Bodysgallen hall really is a one of a kind place, that you cannot help but fall in love with. Thank you to everyone that looked after us, despite the weather, it was perfect!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.0 miles from Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
£45
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £32
  • Booking.com
2.0 miles from Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£117
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £117
2.4 miles from Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £128
  • Algotels
2.2 miles from Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £78
  • Algotels
1.8 miles from Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £85
  • Agoda.com
2.0 miles from Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £121
  • eDreams
2.4 miles from Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Bay County Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £42
  • Algotels
1.8 miles from Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £79
  • Expedia.com
    £86
2.2 miles from Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £56
  • Algotels
2.4 miles from Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Llandudno
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveller rating
614
149
62
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
614
149
62
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national trust conwy castle the cottages country house the main house park cottage small kitchen main restaurant historic hotel north wales dining room public rooms steam room bodnant gardens birthday treat four poster bed relaxing break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 863 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2024

A BIG thank you to the staff at Bodysgallen who served us the delicious Afternoon Tea last week.

A very warm and friendly reception on arrival , and delicious afternoon tea. My mother had very specific dietary requirements. The afternoon tea we received had been adapted to her needs perfectly. NOTHING was too much trouble.

The Afternoon tea wasn’t just about the delicious food, but also the experience within a beautiful setting, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Looking forward to our next visit

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank El R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2024

We went for afternoon tea…

Service - 4 stars. Excellent on arrival. Very professional and attentive. But once seated we were left a bit which meant we had to get up and find someone to order a drink and ask for butter.

Ambience - 3 star. The room we were seated in was gorgeous. Old worldly and nicely organised. However we were seated tucked in the corner of a room where a party of four were already seated by a fire. They were boisterous which made the ambience reduced. A shame as there are plenty of seating / room options. We were seated away from the fire and it was chilly. Also we noted there were about 2-300 lady birds clustered in the windows which flew around us (not over exaggerated - literally hundreds. The hotel reception said they had an infestation issue the previous year).

Food - 3 stars. sandwiches were lovely and well filled. Scones tasted nicely but were over cooked and so dry. Cakes were basic, unrefined and a little samey and disappointing for a 5 star hotel. We left half the scones and many cakes due to dryness and them being boring.

Champagne - 4 star. It tasted lovely but the price point for champagne was a little over a norm. And we weren’t asked if we wanted more - we had to go hunt to find someone to order more.

Environment - 3.5 stars. There are beautiful touches to the room we were in with antiques and lovely dressing. But the way they arranged our seating wasn’t conducive to eating well we had to perch on deep arm chairs that weren’t close to the tables. The tables were partially glass topped (the side leaves weren’t) which made the surface uneven and a little tipsy turvy. The 2-300 lady bugs were a distraction. It was slightly chilly. We didn’t have quite the cutlery for the service (no forks but the meringue needs a fork).

Overall. 3.5 stars. This is a listed 5 star hotel. There are elements which are definerly 5 star (the setting and furnishings). But there are elements which smack of laziness and basic cooking. We felt it could be so so much better with a little care and attention. It’s a nice experience but it is no where near worth the price point. A little more attention re service, environment and better cooking and it could be! There’s no reason this shouldn’t be a 5 star experience and it just isn’t!

Look to the grosvenor in Chester - same price point but does it so so much better in our opinion.

A pretty wrapper with a disappointing product.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank midlandsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elgan Roberts, General Manager at Bodysgallen Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

We thank this reviewer for their kind words regarding many elements of their visit to historic Bodysgallen Hall, and we would have been pleased to address any issues experienced at the time.

We are sorry that the reviewer felt that they were left alone once seated. There were 4 members of the team on duty that day and all attended to this reviewer at some point during their visit. The reviewer describes the service as attentive, which is what we attempt to be at all times, without being intrusive.

Afternoon tea guests are invited to sit wherever they wish in any of the public rooms. We do set up different areas prior to the start of service, but if guests wish to move to an alternative vacant area, we will gladly move everything for them. With regards to the ladybirds, unfortunately they do appear from time to time, and once we were alerted to it, which was on the reviewers departure, they were cleared up immediately.

The duty manager was pleased to be able to trace the payment of a voucher that the reviewer had been gifted but had forgotten to bring with them, ensuring they had nothing to pay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024

I have been going to Bodysgallen for 40 years and quite frankly the whole exoerience of afternoon tea was below even average. Initially the original booking via telephone was a poor experience as I was told how busy they were and only 2pm was available!! On arrival this was not true. I had explained on the telephone call that my wife did not eat ham or smoked salmon....suprise that had not been passed on. Neither were they busy. I asked for 2 glasses of champagne. Was I asked what type....no. Was the champagne chilled.....no. The sandwiches were of poor quality. Overall I fear I will not be returning. Unless I receive a satisfactory answet to such poor service. Bodysgallen is very much a fading star.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Departure55444257032
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elgan Roberts, General Manager at Bodysgallen Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

We are aware of this reviewer and are sorry that on this occasion their experience for afternoon tea was not what either they or we would have wanted.

The reservation receptionist remembers the telephone conversation well, as the reviewer got rather heated when it was explained that he could not exclusively reserve one of the public rooms ahead of their visit. When they arrived the room they had requested, was already occupied by guests who had arrived for an earlier service.

As we only offer our house Champagne by the glass, which is kept refrigerated, no wine list was offered when these were ordered.
On taking their order, the hall porter mentioned that we were aware of the dietary requirements and confirmed what they were to the reviewer

I do hope that this reviewer does return, as we always endeavour to exceed to meet the expectations of our guests, and it saddens us on the rare occasions that we do not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2024

What a privilege to stay in this remarkable historic building. It oozes charm with its period decor, furniture and individual bedrooms. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the beautiful gardens before an excellent dinner and then slept extremely well. Breakfast too was very good with both buffet (delicious fresh pastries) and a la carte options. Service from the young waiting staff was impeccable.

However, it was very disappointing that at no point did any member of staff greet us in Welsh as well as English. Whilst I fully understand that for many, it may not be a first or even second language, a "croeso" (welcome) or greeting in both languages would have been appreciated. I was somewhat taken aback that the response to "bore da" (good morning) on St David's Day was a blank look.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Beachcomber17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

Fabulous hotel in beautiful gardens. The room was probably the best we have stayed in. We ate once in the restaurant and the food was of high quality. The staff were friendly and polite. There was only one small negative. Half a back pudding in the cooked breakfast. I thought that was a one off due to a shortage on the first day. But same on the second day. Come on guys, Push the boat out and give us a whole one.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lindr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews