We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Of Shearings.”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One Of Shearings.”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My wife, myself and five other family members recently had a great five days Shearings, All Inclusive break at the County, 30th January 2012 until 3rd February 2012. Everything was excellent (apart from the cold weather) and each and every member of the staff could'nt have been more friendly and helpful. I read some reviews before we travelled about the food not being too good at the hotel. I can only say, with the backing of all our party, that the food we were served was of a good quality and our waitress could not do enough for us. One of our party could only eat Gluten free food and the Chef himself came out and served her a Gluten free soup that he had made specially for her one evening. Our rooms were basic but clean and tidy and cleaned every day by the hard working staff. I can only thank the manager and all his staff for giving us a great five days and will certainly be returning to the County. A special mention for our driver Steve who had a huge amount of knowledge about the surrounding area and the Snowdonia National Park in general.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickeo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Mickeo 12.
Thank you for your positive review ,sorry about the weather!!. John our chef is only too happy to cater for guests with Special dietary requirements. I will pass on your comments to Steve the driver.

Kind Regard

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    306
    122
    35
    23
See reviews for
96
353
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
STOCKPORT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I booked this pretty last minute through National Holidays for my husband and myself and my 96 year old mother in law and friend .Would I have chosen this hotel if I had been looking for just my husband and I ? In honesty probably not . Are we glad we did ? Most definately.
We went to this hotel as part of a package with National Holidays . Had a superb driver the best I think we have had with National ( David Leader ) The package included three nights dinner bed and breakfast in an ensuite room , a trip to Chester and a full day touring Snowdonia with an extra local coach driver also accompanying David who gave us a true insight into the real Wales and from the heart .The package also included entertainment, bags delivered to your room and down again and dancing every night if you so wished. All this for just £115 each including a seaview. ( £99 without view )
Firstly the hotel and food is not 5 star as some people seem to expect . What you get is a clean and comfortable room. No gimics and extras , just a pleasant room, tea and coffee making facilities, bathroom etc with everything that most people would require .If what you want is not there then just ask at reception and its sorted straight away. You can upgrade to a superior room I understand if they are available.
We were fortunate in the dining room to be given a lovely seaview table in the window but in truth you could probably see the sea from most tables . The dining room is bright , simply furnished and comfortable and again very clean . The chef and team there does an amazing job turning out so many well cooked meals whilst rising to the challenge of what I would think to be a pretty tight budget and for what everyone paid the quality of the food was excellent , ( bear in mind you are getting all this for just £38 per night )The waiting staff we could not fault in any way . They were fast , efficient , helpful and friendly . Our main waitress was Anna who carried out her job so efficiently always with a smile .
We were suprised by the volume of people staying at the County Hotel , its only when you see the dining room you realise how many people are staying there. The secret is that the hotel has a very friendly intimate feel about it . Yes its a fair sized hotel but it has a very personal touch with lots of little rooms in the public areas that you can escape to if you want and as I say it was all beautifully clean and all staff so helpful .
For a little escape on a budget , with no driving , just pure chill out time we can only recommend this hotel and package .

Room Tip: The lift holds only two people at a time . If you therefore have trouble climbing stairs I would sug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HYDE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Hyde 55
So glad you enjoyed your weekend with us. Its nice to see you appreciate what good value for money we offer. Thanks again for a great review.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This was the third time we(Six of Us) had been on a winter break with Shearings, so we wondered what would be the standard of the County Hotel. We arrived at the Hotel early so we couldn't book in, so we left our hand luggage at the hotel and had wander around Llandudno after being dropped off by the coach driver near the Town Centre.
When we came back we booked in and went to our rooms which were clean and comfortable.
We read that you would be allocated a table the first time you went to the Dining Room and then that would be your table for the rest of your stay. We went to the dining room a little later than the start time so we had no real problem with waiting.
The Food was Good, Hot, Good Choice,and was served very quickly after each course.
The Entertainment was Very Good on the Saturday Nght it being an ABBA Tribute Band.
We had the Quiz which is part and parcel of the Bay Hotels.
The only moan was that the drinks were a little on the dear side. Sometimes the Hotels have their own brands which are a bit cheaper.
The Staff were courteous, friendly, and helpful. The service in the Dining Room was really fast.
I must mention or Driver,Steve. He really helped us enjoy our holiday. He was Informative, kept us amused, gave us things to do and things to listen to. He made the humdrum parts of the journey more enjoyable.
All in all we would say this is the best Shearings Holiday and Hotel we have had and
WE ALL HAD A GOOD TIME.

Room Tip: If You are not happy with your room do something about it right away. Don't put up with it as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARRY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Barry S
Our Tribute weekends are really popular and good value for money so pleased you enjoyed ABBA.
Good idea to wait a little and let Amand Seat those who want to go in for dinner early. Sorry you found our drinks expensive we believe we are very competitive with prices . you obviously had a great time with us and i appreciate your review.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribble Valley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Nice hotel, good breakfasts, fab porridge. Dinner varied, not keen on tinned friut, nice cheese@biscuits. Staff superb, hard working, and so friendly.Room 215, needs complete makeover,it was spacious, lovely sea views from side window, but very tired,tea@coffee making facilities, lousy hairdryer, unless your almost bald. take your own. Bathroom, not good, black mould around bottom of dodgy shower door, bath panel hanging off, we felt in needed a very good clean. Good cabaret Friday@Saturday night,Sunday bingo.Hotel itself is in a lovely position, gorgeous views but a good walk from the town, so if your mobility is not good, you may want something nearer, Good value for money, for what we paid, we got what we expected. But not a "manky" bathroom

Room Tip: Some rooms dont have a shower, just a bath, so check beofore you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yvonneRibbleValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Yvonne Ribble Valley.
Thank you for your review which is generally very good however it did make me have a good look at 215 which i agree is getting a little dated. The shower is now spotless , thanks for bringing this to our attention our housekeeper was not to happy to read this and has now put it right. We appreciate all comments that help us to improve our standards I'm sure you will agree that the County is in general Very Clean.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have been to this hotel pre xmas for 8 years and have always been very satisfied but this year we were a little disappointed. We stayed for the Mon to Fri all inclusive break and found this still to be good value for money but there does seem to be some cut backs. The evening entertainment wasn't as good as usual and the packed lunch had also disappeared. It's always been a very warm hotel but not this year, the heating didn't come on until late afternoon and went off too early resulting in us being cold during the night. There was also a problem in the hotel with some kind of sickness bug which I unfortuneatley picked up. Having said that the staff were as good as ever, efficient and friendly and the food was again very good. We will probabally go back next year because it still represents good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuartbelfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear StuartBellfield

Sorry to read of your dissapointment but as you state we are still very good value for money. Entertainment is a personal choice and it is difficult to please all of the people all of the time. We did find that a lot of packed lunches were being wasted and so we replaced them with the glass of wine with dinner . We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Andy Travis

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I would like to add a review about the County Hotel and Shearings, My parents were having a new bathroom fitted so we wanted to send them away for a few days while the work was done, Shearings seemed a good bet but reading the reviews I was very reluctant to book into a Shearings hotel in Llandudno, after speaking to Glyniss at the helpdesk I felt I could book my elderley parent into the County. They had a brilliant time, met lots of lovely people of all ages, Mum and Dad had nothing but praise for all the staff, especially the drivers who really made the trips entertaining. The food and entertainment was very good and when they got back they said they hadnt laughed so much in ages. So thank you very much to all the staff at the County and also for Glyniss for helping me choose the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Christine A.

Great review sounds like all had a good time. Hope the bathroom was as successful as the holiday.
Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cressington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

had a five day holiday at the county last week. we really had a nice time.we met some lovely people who we made friends with. the hotel was well looked after and was one of the best shearings we have stayed in up to now. we had a seaview room which was very nice. food was good entertainment with carl was a good laugh especially his line dancing. we are going to come again in february with more family. see you soon county.

Room Tip: try a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balancedview_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Balancedview 7
To be one of the better shearings hotels says it all for us we thank you and look forwards to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
752 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Property: Bay County Hotel
Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing