We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Bearing in mind that this is an old building, we found that the place was clean and well maintained, if a bit quirky - all the doors seemed to have different doorknobs, and It is a long time since we saw an avocado bathroom suite with a white seat!
It is also a bit of a rabbit warren, with corridors and stairs aparently leading nowhere, a bit tricky for people with limited mobility, although everyone seemed to manage.
The food was ok, but I doubt the wisdom of offering old people spicy curry.
Entertainment was just that - entertaining - we enjoyed it.
Hotel staff were friendly and professional from reception to waiters and cleaning staff.
The hotel is positioned in the centre of the bay a pleasant 20 minute walk to town or the pier area.
The Shearings excursions were ok, but 1 hour 15 minutes is too long at a small retail outlet, even if it is in a town with the longest name in britain.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a sea view room - its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear JohnM
Thank you for your review I do think you are right to bear in mind The County Hotel is a victorian building. We do try very hard to look after guests with limited mobility. If we didn't put on dishes like Curry ,chilli etc people may find the menu's a little bland. Apologise for the toilet seat can't buy avacado now for love nor money. I appreciate that you point out we are good value for money.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    306
    122
    35
    23
See reviews for
96
353
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Have just returned from a 5 day holiday at this hotel and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Prio to the holiday a member of staff phoned me as I was going with my mother who is both sight and hearing impaired. I asked for a room with lots of natural light and a table by the window in the dining room. Both these requests were granted. The bedroom had plenty of space to move about and there were grab rails in the bathroom. Our waitress was lovely and nothing was too much trouble -she even made us coffee just the way we like it - so thank you to all concerned
There was one slight problem however as the springs from the mattress on one of the beds could be felt through the covering.. This was reported but the solution was to place two folded blankets over the offending area, but in order to get comfortable I had to turn the mattress myself.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squarepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Squarepair

I'm so pleased you were looked after and all your requests were catered for. My apologises for the matress it's difficult to get everybody's bed just the way they like them. We are constantly buying new beds to ensure good sleep quality for all our guests.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed recently at the County Hotel and a fortnight later at the Marine Hotel Llandudno, both Shearings hotels. We like the Drive and Stay facility that Shearing offers because it gives the flexibility to explore the area as much or as little as you please. Both hotels are on the seafront in good positions facing the sea. The Marine Hotel is nearer the centre of town within easy walking distance of the shops The County Hotel is further out but we find car parking easier there in streets near the hotel. Both hotels are equidistant from the theatre Venue Cymru a five or 6 minute brisk walk.
On balance we found that the menu at the Marine Hotel had more variety and flair and that the quantities were more satisfying. On the other hand the entertainment at the County Hotel was excellent including a Tribute Night. The young man who impersonated Elvis and sang his songs in our view was brilliant. The County Hotel has a bigger dance floor and there were more opportunities for folk like us, to dance Latin American and Ballroom dances. Staff in both hotels are super and the accommodation overall is good in both. Llandudno has a lot to offer. It well deserves its title the jewel of North Wales resorts. Its architecture, arrangement and setting ooze quality. Though very much in the twenty first century it nevertheless projects the atmosphere and gaiety of seaside holidays of yesteryear. The only cloud on the horizon to spoil the excellence of the resort of Llandudno would be the development of housing on Bodafon Fields which separate it from the Little Orme.

Room Tip: Go for the deals and book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leon194z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Leon1942.
Thank you for your balanced review , you wouldn't want to add a spark to the freindly rivalry we enjoy with the Marine Hotel, I agree Adam Carter is brilliant as Elvis.
To put your mind at rest the development on Bodafon Fields is a new school for the existing Ysgol Gogarth School for the disabled, which happens to be the local charity we support. Thanks again for your review.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We had a lovely weekend at this hotel. The room was quite small but very clean, although the shower left a lot to be desired, when it was turned on, the water went right over the end of the bath and soaked the floor, but apart from that it was fine. We stayed on a half board basis and the evening meals were disapointing. The hotel appeared full, but the dinner for everyone was served between 6.30 and 7.30. I suppose that meant that everything was prepared in advance, the meals came rapidly to the table but were never really hot and a bit bland. The breakfasts, on the other hand, were obviously freshly cooked and lovely, they were also served over a longer period of time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TandGC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Gandt24.
Thank you for your review I'm glad you had a lovely weekend, with regards to the dinner service we do have to take steps to keep the holidays affordable this is one way we can keep the cost down. I'm happy to read you enjoyed a more relaxed atmosphere at breakfast.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the County Hotel and it was very enjoyable. The hotel is in a lovely position on the sea front about 10 min walk from main shopping area. The hotel has lots of different seating areas, a bar and a ballroom. The drinks were very expensive and the ballroom a bit dark and dismal but overall not too bad. The entertainment is definitely for the older generation! The room we had was with a sea view for which we paid a premium. It was large, warm and clean. The food was lovely at every meal and made my holiday very pleasurable as they had gluten free options. The chef even made a gluten free fruit crumble one night. The staff were also very knowledgable about gluten free options and very helpful. Overall the staff were pleasant, polite and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corfufan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Corfu-11.
I'm not sure i agree that the drinks are expensive but i take your point.
We are only too happy to look after Gluten free or any other dietary requirements. Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I have just returned from a 5 day coach holiday with Shearings where i stayed here at The County in Llandudno, one of their own hotels. We arrived to a friendly welcome when a trainee manager boarded the coach to give us some details about the hotel. Check in was both fast and efficient considering there was almost a full coach. I had a single room which was both pleasant and more than adequate for me. There was plenty of light in the room as there was a good sized window. The room was situated on the corner of this property which afforded a partial sea view which i hadn't expected, but which was a nice surprise! The ensuite looked very modern, as if it hadn't long been done. There was plenty of hot water morning, afternoon and night. There was a problem with the heating in my bedroom. As the week went on the radiator became quite temperamental and was not providing much heat in the room. I reported this to reception and i felt it was dealt with very positively and efficiently. By the time i had got back from one of the excursions, they had provided me with an electric heater so that i wasn't inconvenienced any further. I was very pleased with the outcome. There was plenty of tea and coffee provided in the room so that you could make yourself a hot drink. The television was one of these small portable types but had an excellent picture and i was more than satisfied with it. I hardly watched it anyway. The standard of housekeeping in my room was excellent. The room was serviced daily to a very high standard. Infact, i found the cleanliness throughout the hotel to be excellent.
The hotel has a lovely dining room with large windows that afford panoramic views right out over Llandudno Bay, The Great Orme and out to sea. The standard of food i thought was excellent. I could not complain about any of the meals i was served up either at dinner or breakfast. The evening meals offered plenty of choice each evening. The portions were more than adequate especially when you are having three courses served every evening. The food was always served hot and fresh whether it was at dinner or breakfast. We were also given a complimentary glass of wine each evening with our dinner too. The service in the dining room was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
There was entertainment provided during the week at the hotel. I am unable to comment on it however as i never went to see it. I enjoyed sitting in the lounge every evening and having a chat with fellow guests. The bar area looked newly refurbished. Service in the bar was also very good. I found the new system of having a voucher for 4 drinks per day of your stay perfectly acceptable. When you consider that you also have a complimentary glass of wine with dinner too, i felt that the new system worked well. I also liked the fact that you could use your voucher card at any time of day and on tea and coffee too. One afternoon after returning from a morning excursion and having time for lunch at the hotel before going back out on another excursion, i purchased sandwiches in the bar and it was nice to order a pot of tea with my voucher instead of waiting until the evening for the free bar as it used to be. Personally, i prefer this new system as it suits me better.
The hotel is in a lovely position in Llandudno, right on the sea front. It is a 10 to 15 minute walk into town but is flat the whole way and the view of the Great Orme and the sea are wonderful along the way.
To conclude, i had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. I felt it was great value for money considering all the things that were included with Shearings as part of the stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Coachholidayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Fantastic to read your review and know how well you were looked after. We are very pleased with the way the new voucher system is working , everybody is pleased with the more relaxed atmosphere it has created I'm so glad you enjoyed youselves.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

just spent 5 days with shearings at the county hotel on an all inclusive holiday. we had a room with a sea view which was great, the decor in the room was rather tired but was kept clean daily, there was a good choice at meal times and the service was first class on all fronts, the entertainment was mediocre, but on the whole it was a good holiday and for the price paid it can not be beaten and we have already booked our next shearings holiday.

Room Tip: a sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Margaret B.

We are constantly updating and painting our rooms, I apologise if yours appeared tired. I think Entertainment is a personal choice and it's difficult to please everyone.
The main thing is that you enjoyed you holiday with us and i agree it is very good value for money.

Kind Regards

Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
752 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Property: Bay County Hotel
Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing