We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday boredom”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Have just completed a 3 night self drive break over the August Bank Holiday. We booked a car parking space and were glad that we did because there was no spaces in the immediate vicinity. So would definitely recommend this at peak times

Then things went downhill. We had booked a twin room, and upon getting our key, were allocated a double room. It being the Bank Holiday, the hotel was full and the receptionist suggested taking the double bed out and replacing it with twins - novel idea but looking at the size of the room even that would not have worked. Eventually was given the twin room we requested because I think she swapped our request with someone elses hoping that they wouldn't complain.

The room happened to be in the basement of the hotel overlooking the car park. The stairs to the basement were down, what I considered to be, a dangerous staircase which had a door at the top which opened out into a main throughway in the hotel. There was however a very small lift. The room was clean and adequate but why in this day and age do hotels still only have 12inch portable TV's.

Can't fault the food for both dinner and breakfast as we found there to be plenty of choice (although we would prefer a buffet breakfast) and it was piping hot. Our waiter was very good and remembered from the first time who had tea or coffee etc.

The County Hotel is very strange in that, in the part we were, there seemed to be little corridors going off in all directions. Some people who we spoke to never found the ballroom as it wasn't particularly well signposted and, again, was down on the lower level - not good for people with mobility issues.

Entainment - diabolical. First night was man doing the bingo, then he did the quiz then he sang a few (extremely old) songs. Second night - same man doing bingo, quiz again and then a impressionist/comedian who himself admitted that his act consisted of doing 'people' who had been dead for decades. Didn't stay. Third night - bingo by the same man and another quiz and nothing else - and this was a Bank Holiday weekend. Come on, I know it was a more older clientele but even they want entertaining

The hotel is a good 15/20 mins walk outside of Llandudno but if you walk one street back you can get a bus outside the Co-op supermarket and that will take you into town.

Llandudno is lovely. We went up the Orme on the cable car (they don't do a combined tram/cable car ticket) and for what we paid I'd go here again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear KimA
Reading your review which has a lot of positive as well as negative comments I feel I must point out that your room over looked the car park which is at ground level not basement.
I'm sorry that you found the Bank holiday weekend boring in the rain. Thank you for your review.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Bay County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Enjoyed a 3 night self drive weekend break. Hotel itself was good although the bedrooms were a bit dated. Only downside was that the room lacked the presence of a shower which is much needed to start the day off. Surprised to find no toiletries such as shampoo and bath foam supplied although could be got from reception on request. Breakfasts were ample and evening meals varied. Restaurant staff were always ready to oblige for any specific food requests; worked extremely hard and with a smile. Overall it was excellent value for money. Would go for a Bay hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Elissy
Thank you for your review my apologies regarding the shower on occasion we can't get enough water pressure to some of the rooms on third floor, however I can see that it didn't spoil your holiday. Thank you for mentioning what good value for money we are.
Kind regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have stayed at The County Hotel before had No complaints. This hotel is good value for money the rooms are clean and comfortable, The food is good the evening meal being better, than the breakfast, I asked for two vegetarian sausages and a poached egg as i did not want a full breakfast our waiter informed me that the chief had said i was allowed one sausage but was given two poached eggs which i did not want, how silly is this. The host and so called comedian was terrible he used the same jokes he used two years ago, his appearance was awful he looked unkept not a very good impression for Shearings hotels. The bar person Danny was very helpful and polite, he was very efficient as well . Anand our waiter was also very good and did not rush us and he was always polite.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandyc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Sandyc007
Thank you for your review we appreciate your comments, I have spoken to chef who assures me that it was just a mix up regarding your vegetarian sausage.
I have passed on your comments to all concerned Danny and Amand were Very happy . I have spoken to our entertainment host.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Just returned on 27th July from a 4 night break with shearings to the County. After reading some of the reviews we were not sure what to expect. Our rooms 322 and 323 were spotlessly clean and had a nice bathroom with good shower. The breakfast was excellent and the evening meals were basic but for what we paid we couldn,t complain. Our waitress Anna was lovely. We pleasantly surprised and excellent value for what we paid.
J Griffith and friends

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mgriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Dear MGriffith
Thank you for your review, I couldn't have put it better myself. Cleanliness, friendliness and value for money are the targets we set ourselves so it's great when our guests recognise and appreciate this.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night weekend break which Only cost 94 pounds for dinner ,bed,and breakfast.We had a room at the back With lovely views of the mountains.As we were at the back of the hotel we overlooked the service area ,but it was very clean and tidy. The Only problem we had was a lack of shower over the bath.We had no problem finding free on-street parking.
The food was Good and our waitress was very efficient.The parts of the hotel that had been refurbished were really Nice With many original features. The dining room was bright and airy and overlooked the bay.
Entertainment was ok Friday night but then went downhill,which is a shame as there is a really Nice ballroom with comfy seats..
Will deftinately look out for more bargains at the county.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank margaret d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Margaretd
Thank you so much for your review , apologies about the shower we do occasionally struggle to get water pressure for showers on 3rd floor . It sounds like you had a great weekend and all for £94.00 can't be bad.

Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Virtually no complaints at all. We usually stop at the more central sister hotel, the Marine. To make sure I get a discount next time we go, both my good lady and myself slightly prefer the County.

The food was very good, and our Hungarian waiter, Peter, was light grease lighting and very charming. Our view from the dining room was most excellent. Taxis into town were as cheap as buses, £2.80. (the walk is somewhere less than a mile.)

The staff were top notch. As we are infirm, we called upon them often, and nothing was too much trouble. We had an excellent room - in fact my only grumble about the whole holiday was the ancient television and the entrance which is not ideal for persons who cannot manage a few stairs.

Very much good value for money

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank harryhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Harryhayes
I enjoyed reading your review and have passed on your comments to Peter he was made up to get a mention. I do hope Marcus at the Marine is reading your comments. Sorry about the TV.
Kind Regards.
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Firstly may i say we are not typical "Shearings lovers and who can't see any wrong with them" but this weekend break was very good, The value for money excellent, the hotel clean, well maintained, pleasant staff and reasonably good food!
Some reviews complain about food quality and quantity, yes the food is basic, quite budget quality, but you have to remember that your only paying £40 per person per night for bed breakfast and 3 course evening meal, at home we can quite easily spend £40 per person at a restaurant on just a 3 course meal so we weren't expecting restaurant quality. But the food was nice, tasted fine, hot and served pleasantly.
Our sea view room was nicely located with nice sized flat screen tv and in good clean condition.
The staff friendly and helpful.
Location, well yes it is a quite a walk from the center, but we knew that, it is still sea fronted and also out of the pay and display zone with enough on street parking to not have to use Hotels parking facility.
So overall quite satisfied with our stay and would stay again

Room Tip: We had an optional extra of a sea view... Well worth it, lovely room, lovely view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank tottonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Tottonlad.
Thank you for your review I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you recognise what good value for money we are . Many Thanks.

Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
800 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.8 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £76 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing