We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

Staying in county hotel as I write this review
This is a hotel owned and run by shearings coach holidays so plenty of oap's blocking reception upon arrival but I suppose that was to be expected. Receptionist though very good and book in process quite quick and we sat in bar whilst waiting
Room very good with a sea view, 204, en suite with bath. Plenty of hot water and room temp good, not too hot.
Floors a little creaky but what do you expect from old hotel.
Bars stocked well with standard beers, wines and spirits. Entertainment ok if you like bingo and sing along piano player
Can't fault the food and staff are fantastic
Good hotel right on sea front and 10 mins from shops

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackpoolStevieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear BlackpoolstevieB.
One day that OAP blocking reception could be you or me so we had better be careful what we say. Many thanks for fantastic review which made me smile.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

I had a very large, warm single room with a comfy bed and oblique sea view. The only thing wrong with the hotel was no wi fi ! I went with shearings but there are lots of places to visit independently. Tip. If you are a senior citizen and use the bus although your bus pass is not valid unless you actually live in wales ask the driver for a "concessionary day pass", and show your english (scottish) bus pass and it will only cost around £3.50 and you can travel anywhere on the bus companys network all day for that. Bargain! :)

Room Tip: Very top of the hotel in the eaves was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 209011Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear 209011CAROL.
Smashing tip about the local transport I'm sure lots of readers will appreciate it. It's great to read your very positive comments about Shearing's and the County hotel many thanks.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here in April. We found the food excellent and the staff delightful. The Ball room seemed a bit small and the seating arrangement could be criticised. Our biggest criticism was with the bed. Our room was good, with a sea view, but the mattress was awful. It speaks volumes for the food and the staff that we enjoyed our holiday. Llandudno is an elegant town and there was much to do. We were on a Shearings coach trip, and the outings were good. Our coach driver was articulate and informed, as well as being extremely helpful. He certainly exceeded his duty by many miles.
A new quality mattress and I would rate this above average.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Brooke L.
My apologies for your matress I do wish you had mentioned this during your stay so that we could have replaced it. I am so glad that you enjoyed your holiday and the rest of the hotel. The chef is delighted with your comments.

Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

we were very happy with our weekend break bedroom had new beds with lovely white bedding 2 pillows each bed Food was usually shearing but plenty of it we sent veg back both nights as meat portions generous.Lovely position on bay with parking on road we did not have to move car during the day would visit again

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marjorie_ives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Marjorie-Ives
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review. Our weekend breaks are proving very popular at the moment and after reading your review I think they will be even more popular many thanks.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is in a great position overlooking the vast promenade. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. Food is good. Ballroom a bit on small side and seating not very well set out but upstairs lounge bars very comfy if you just want to have a drink and a chat. Our room was spacious although bathroom tiny! Great shower over bath. Overall a great weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear JulieW.
It's fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your weekend with us. Thank you for your very pleasing review.
Kind regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

had a four day break with shearings , our room was very clean and comforable, shower room a little small but clean and it "did the job", the reception rooms are lovely, can i just say I stayed the same week as someone else who has said the food was poor and they had boiled potatoes every night. did we eat at the same place? we did not have boiled potatoe every night the food was very good and had a good choice on the menu, all the staff could not have been more helpfull and friendly. well done to you all

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 663amanda1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear 663Amanda1974
Thank you so much for your lovely review. You have made my day.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This is a Shearings owned Hotel, and we stayed here for 4 nights from 22nd - 26th October 2012, we found the room which should have been a double room, was only really sufficient as a good single. The Double Bed was really uncomfortable, and squeky springs or similar. We had 2 nights where the heating never came on, and it was pretty miserable to say the least, we did then after the second night complain to reception who admitted that the Hotel had always had heating problems due to old plumbing system, needs money spending on it. The food in the Restaurant was very poor, we had boiled potatoes every night we were there, and the food choice was hardly different each night or morning. We have each of us decided that as we have been using Shearings now for some considerable time, years in fact, we are going to try Just Go Holidays a chance in the future, at least they use good Hotels which we already know serve up a good meal at all times, also thinking of using David Urqhart Travel, they have been recommended to us by several of the guests we met in the County. We did overhear one of the senior members of staff say that the Hotel was this year to date £2000 per week down on its takings. Well we were not surprised. We shall not be staying here again in future. To sum up the establishment is run more on the lines of a 2 star Bed and Breakfast, and the Management was none existant.

Room Tip: We honestly heard none of the other Guests say they had a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BALI2007BALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Bali2007Bali
Sorry for you disapointment with your stay with us . I'm not sure what or who you overheard regarding the takings but I can assure you that,s just not true. During your stay I was on duty every day and would have been only to happy to Help.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
819 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
881 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
1,285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.9 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £58 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing