We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for!”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
GLOUCESTERSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Good value. Excellent location, friendly staff, good choice of food. Rooms and bathroom warm but in need of a makeover. Ballroom in need of better ventilation. Lift too small and very unstable but overall a good hotel,well worth a visit and good value for money for money!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIRLEBROOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Front Office Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Tirlebrook
Thank you for your review we are currently refurbishing 12 bedrooms as we do every year but as you will agree it's a never ending task. I'm very pleased that you appreciate what very good value for money we are.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    311
    124
    36
    23
See reviews for
99
360
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Visited this hotel on a coach tour with my mum. We paid an extra £30 for a sea view room - which I have to say is worth paying because the other rooms seemed to be totally shabby and very small according to other guests.
The room we had was one of the newly refurbished ones. It was a twin room of average size. Nice big bathroom with walk in shower.
It is sit down meals as opposed to buffet style. It was a nightmare. You are allocated the same waiter/waitress for your whole stay.
We had drawn a short straw because we had a Polish girl who was as fast as a snail. Other guests came in ate and went and we were still sitting waiting to get our food. So basically its your luck of who you get.
The food portions are tiny. One night we had roast beef and we had one tiny slice each. They seem to give you lots of potatoes and vegetables but not much of anything else. Not much choice of menu either.
The entertainment is average - singers, bingo, comedian.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazzakat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
I'm sorry to read that you were disappointed with the food and service in our dining room. We pride ourselves on good polite service and quality food and looking at other reviews generally get very good comments.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just returned from self-drive a visit to this hotel. Found the steps to the entrance daunting but as we were able to park right outside on the promenade managed to get our luggage in. (Porters are available, I think?) We were assigned a room; 131 on the lower ground floor. Facing the front but no outlook as below garden level. On the end away from ballroom (entertainment very, very loud!) so it was quiet. The mattress was terrible. Mentioned this and a memory foam topper was put on- better but not really good enough for achy bones!! TV small old type!
Food was excellent. Staff all very friendly and obliging.
Overall, as we had half-price repeat booking (£79 for 2!) a good weekend!! Thank-you Shearings!!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, don't mind having no view, or a rubbish mattress choose room 131! E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NannaHolywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Nannaholywell
You are correct we do have porters on duty to help with luggage. Room 131 is currently being refurbished and fitted with a flat screen TV. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and at those prices got a real bargain.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day visit to this hotel and I offer nothing but praise.
Our first night was not great due to room positioning and the noise which could be heard from above from other residents enjoying themselves, doing absolutely nothing wrong, but it went on quite late, we could hear all the conversation as if they were in the next room,,,we rang the night porter on a couple of occassions but got no reply,ANYWAY,,The next morning we asked for a move and the lady was extremely helpful and we were moved immediately.
All stafff were superb, especially our waitress, she was extrememly fast,the service and the food was excellent , the rooms were cleaned and restocked to an extremely high standard.
Majority of the evening entertainment was really good including bingo, a fantastic comedian too one evening. Also a guitarist who played excellent tunes,,,,, had his family in,,bar staff were very efficient and ordering of drinks was done fairly, queueing system very fair,,
I would highly reccommend a visit to this hotel,,,,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarbgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Scarbgang
I would like to thank you for your praise and recommendation. I am very pleased to hear that we could accommodate your room move it obviously made your stay with us more enjoyable.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed at the County Bay Hotel ffor the five day four night shearings coach holiday break.Although our first impression of our room was this is small and in the basement as well; it turned out to be a very well organised break in a hotel maybe dated ,but clean and cheerful and right on the lovely promenade of Llandudno.The staff are so attentive in the dining room, considering there was three coaches of people staying at the hotel we did not have to wait long for our meals .The water was really hot each day for our bath or shower the room was warm and the beds made up each day where very cormfortable if you require a good value five day break in february to a seaside resort with lots of shopping and beautiful views this is the one we shall be looking foreward to going back next year .

Room Tip: Pay for a seaview or one of the premier rooms if you require a litle luxery .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear wanderer045
What a fantastic review we look forward to welcoming you back with us next year.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We have just enjoyed a three night stay at the excellent County Hotel in Llandudno, the room was clean with a double bed and single bed, the sink was in the bedroom which wasn't a problem and in the bathroom was a toilet and bath with shower over. There was a kettle and provisions for making tea and coffee with sugar / sweetener and milk provided. For entertainment in the room was a TV and an alarm clock radio.
The housekeeping staff attended every day to remake the beds, clean and replenish the used tea coffee and milk.
The Hotel was well kept and since our last visit the bar area has been tastefully redecorated.
There was half board providing breakfast and evening meal and the restaurant was extremely well run with very friendly, helpful and efficient waiter/waitresses. In fact all the staff we came in contact with, in the bar and the reception, were equally helpful and friendly. The menu at both breakfast and evening was large and varied and the food and service was excellent.
There was evening entertainment with a comedian, and a singer, and a quiz and bingo night or as we did just to relax in the bar with friends and a pack of cards.

Llandudno is beautifully flat with a large curved bay and a huge safe promenade with seating almost the full length. The buildings of the town all look clean and fresh and the shopping facilities are all within walking distances and range from small seaside rock shops to supermarkets and the cafes are plentiful for lunchtime snacks.

All in all a great resort with lots to do and a hotel that certainly helped us to relax and refresh, well done to all the staff.
GeegWrighty.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeGWrighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear GeeGWrighty
Many thanks for your wonderful review of both the County and Llandudno with lots of possitive comments and useful advice.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burslem, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We had a room at the back which does not bother us as one only sleeps in a room,
it was roomy and clean with a good powerful shower over bath, two windows made it quite bright,
the downside was the radiator that did not stay hot, and as I was laid up with a cough /cold made it hard to get warm at night, I had taken a water bottle thank goodness as I had read some of the reviews about the heating in some of the rooms, but I was still cold and found the bed to be cold and hard too, that along with the dated FAT telly made me glad I was only there for two nights.
The lounge/bar areas on ground floor were comfy, some of the sofas were a bit low and "tatty", but all in all it was a good place to chill with sea the views.
Entertainment was good on Sunday night, I forget his name but he was a comedian and singer
and got every body to have a laugh and sing along.
Could not fault the food or service, compliments to the chef and staff.
Would give it five if the heating had been working properly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulantmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Paulanmart.
Thank you for your review I'm sorry to read that you were not well when you stayed with us that can really spoil your holiday. We do have plans to redecorate and furnish the lounge you refer to bringing it up to the standard of the other lounge. I'm glad you enjoyed all the other aspectsof the County Hotel.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
782 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
775 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
329 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Property: Bay County Hotel
Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing