We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont book with shearings if disabled” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“dont book with shearings if disabled”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My sister booked a twin disabled room for my 90 yr old mother and disabled sister through shearings.
On arrival she was told there were no disabled rooms and shearings always say there is to get the custom.
My mum and sister could not shower all weekend as they could not get into the bath.
The room on 2nd floor had an electric shredder at rear of toilet which was very noisy and they didn't like to use during the night.
My sister was told there was no rooms for 3 people so i had to have a single room on another floor away from my family.
My room 113 had a walk in electric shower that only trickled water out, water stopped coming out in middle of me washing my hair, i complained to reception, there was no improvement.
i was woken at 7.08 on first 2 mornings with an alarm call i never booked, and did not appreciate.
The hotel was warm and clean, the food was hot with plenty of choice, our waiter was very attentive.
The bar service in the ballroom was good with the barman insisting he carry my tray of drinks each time.
We enjoyed the bingo each evening, managing to win a few times. We were glad of the entertainment in the hotel which meant we didn't have to go outside.
We will not return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank flec175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Flec175
I must say I am very concerned by your comments because your sister did not book a disabled room with us the only request made was for a low floor with shower which is what we gave you. The shower in room 113 was working perfectly when our maintenance man looked at it. I'm very pleased you enjoyed all other aspects of your holiday.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    296
    119
    34
    22
See reviews for
96
344
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

A get together was arranged and the County was chosen in Liandudno. The hotel is set on the sea front with good access and lifts to all floors, but assistance must be called for wheelchair access.We upgraded and the room was very clean and roomy, but the state of the ceiling paper,peeling, gave a bad impression otherwise it was fine.
The public rooms are also clean and spacious . All the staff were very polite and attentive.
The food left a little bit to be desired but was acceptable. The hotel has it's own public bar and prices are cheaper than in the hotel.
All in all I would stay again if going to Llandudno .

Room Tip: Upgrade, the hotel is a very old Victorian building and so all the rooms will not be to the same sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dodgeyBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear DodgyBolton.
I am a little concerned about your comment regarding your ceiling and I will investigate this and put it right. Overall a very good review and we would love to see you return many thanks.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid glamorgan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Booked a self drive mon to fri at the county hotel llandudno.Situated opposite the sea in a nice location and a walk of about fifteen mins to the shops pier etc.We had a lovely room with a great view of the sea and mountain which was a bonus we didnt expect.Room was very clean and comfortable and was cleaned every day,there was some trouble with the heating not working properly but as it was very warm in the room it wasnt a great problem,they did try to get it to work but it didnt stay working.We both enjoyed the food which was very good esp the breakfast,the staff worked hard as meal times were very full.The entertainment was very good and we both had a great week.We have always found that bay hotels offer an excellent overall value for money breaks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daiMidGlamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Diamidglamorgan
We really appreciate your fantastic review and your very kind mention of how hard we all work. I am sending a copy of your review to my boss along with a request for a pay rise wish me luck. It's lovely to read your comments on what excellent value for we offer.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

A perfectly adequate hotel given that they are catering for 150+ people within a 1 hour time frame at dinner. Good choice of food for each of the 3 courses, and excellent breakfasts. All staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent position right on the sea front, thoughat the opposite end of the promenade from the pier. Still, it keeps you fit walking over a mile each way! Overall, particularlyfor the price, a very pleasant weekend

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HowardA678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear HowardA678
Many thanks for your very positve review I'm very pleased to read that you appreciate what good value for money our Weekend breaks are and that you thoroughly enjoyed yours
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our holiday was a Shearings Holiday but we always travel by car as we live in N. Wales.
The Hotel has recently been decorated and looks great, and from the second you arrive all the staff do their very best to make your stay a first rate experience.
The food is varied, well prepared and we enjoyed the high quality meals prepared by the Chef - John Jones & his Team. Our meals where even more enjoyable owing to the highly professional and empathetic skills of our Waiter - Dusan - nothing was too much to ask, he really made us feel special.
The other staff, including the Housedkeeper on the 3rd Floor where highly proficient ensuring our holiday has been one to remember for all the right reasons - many thanks to everyone at The County!!
The evening entertainers provided enjoyable and varied acts which also enhanced our hoilday.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems avoid 2nd & 3rd floors as the hotel has only one, two person lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear JohnJ
Well what more can I say you have just about said it all. I have passed on your comments to John & dusan who are made up and send thier thanks.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orrell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We travelled as a couple from Wigan.
When we arrived at the hotel we had a nice welcome from the manager Andy. The hotel is very clean and tidy, the staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was nice and comfortable we even had a view of the sea, which was a nice surprise as this was unexpected. The food was of a good standard with a varied menu daily, our waiter Bruno was very efficient. The evening entertainment was very good as there was something different on each night. there was a good variety of excursions including the optional trips that are good value for money.
we would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: would recommend room 214
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear KarenC
My first mention in ages and it's a good one can't be bad. Reading your review it sounds as though you had a great Week. Thanks for the Picture I haven't seen the Hotel from that angle before.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a clean comfortable hotel. All the staff were very friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. There were 3 couples of us travelled together for a 5 day holiday with Shearings from the North East, and all agree the food was great and served efficiently. The restaurant was clean, spacious, with a good feel about it and a good waiter called Bruno. I did here utterings of rooms being cold but speaking from my experience our room was spacious comfortable and from our window could see the sea. The lounge areas were nicely furnished and that's were we spent our evenings, although there was entertainment in the ballroom area if that's what we wanted. I have been on a few coach trips and this in my opinion is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Llandudno itself is a clean place and worth a trip, and going to this hotel would be a good choice. If you go with Shearings there are optional trips. Two that we went on were The Great Orme and an hour and half steam train journey form Portmadoc. Both in our opinion well worth the extra cost. Sorry to finish on a negative but if you are going on Shearings coaches from the north east be prepared for a wait at Normanton until you get onto your main coach. I have done this a few times and always saw it as part of the holiday package. However this time it took well over an hour and what made it unacceptable was there were no seats available for all that time for many people which I don't think is good enough. However the stay in Llandudno was very enjoyable, the people on the coach were great, the outings were great and the hotel was worth the trip

Room Tip: Room 215 is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Travlight
What a fantastic review with lots of detail and helpful information I am sure this is exactly the kind of thing people check trip Advisor for.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#38 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Property: Bay County Hotel
Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing