We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We've just spent a midweek festive holiday with Shearings at this hotel ,good bits , the staff were great nothing was too much trouble , we were given 4 free drinks each each day so prices were not a problem , coming from the south of England they were about the same as our local anyway.The entertainment and the company of the guests more than made up for the odd bit of wear and tear of the hotel.
The rooms were comfortable and quite roomy and there was always enough milk and tea left for us , the bath was a disappointment the shower was so slow it was a job to get wet
the room needed to be redecorated , there was a water stain on the ceiling and tears in the wallpaper .
The only other problem was a lift that was only big enough for 2 people .This did not spoil our holiday as we always go to enjoy ourselves reguardless
We are going back to Llandudno with Shearings to thier other Hotel , will see how that compares

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin5600_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Colin5600-1
Many thanks for your balanced review I'm sure a lot of Trip Advisor readers will find it helpful. I am very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay despite a couple of minor problems and I will be interested to see how we compare with the Marine Hotel.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    306
    122
    35
    23
See reviews for
96
353
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

From boarding our bus at Darlington on Friday to getting home on Monday afternoon we had a wonderful time.
We were welcomed by Andy when we arrived in Llandudno. All of the staff made our weekend relaxing and enjoyable and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending The Bay County Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Reneno
Your review has made my day you have summed up a perfect weekend and given me a mention as well I couldn't ask for more.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Went for a turkey and tinsel weekend with national coaches,what a nice surprise to find a well appointed hotel with great décor compared to a lot of other run down places they visit .The staff were charming throughout our stay and the room excellent on all aspects, The meals were very varied and the waiters were impeccable in there look and service The evening entertainment was the usual bingo , quiz and cabaret singers and comedian and were enjoyable. the only quibble was the drink prices which were a £1.00 a pint more than other establishments in the area Well worth the trip

Room Tip: sea view rooms are well refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjr1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Gir1952
You almost gave us the perfect review and it's lovely to see how much you appreciate all of our hard work. If by other local establishments you mean Wetherspoons and the Labour club then yes we are just a little bit more expensive.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I returned yesterday from our trip to the County Hotel in Llandudno with National Coach Holidays.The Hotel is quite old but seems very well cared for as it is welcoming ,clean and comfortable.The food was very nice and served hot by our waitress, Aggi,who works her socks off making sure no one waits very long for their meal.The bedroom was spotless with adequate room and a bathroom with newish suite.The evening entertainment was quite good with the usual bingo and a cabaret act.The coach driver,Paul,certainly knew his way around Wales and the surrounding area.A very pleasant man who took us all to see many parts of a beautiful part of the British Isles.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobuk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Bobuk-12
Many Thanks for your wonderful review it looks like you had a great time with us. I have passed on your comments to Aggi she will be thrilled to get a mention for her hard work.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st helens
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel Friday to Monday cheap and cheerful weekend. Rooms a bit dated but hey what do you expect for the price. Basic decent food well served by cheerful waitress in pleasant dining room, good entertainment for the 3 nights. All in all very good value for money.

Room Tip: Chose two single beds and get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billsthelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Billsthelens
Thank you for your review I'm sorry for your disappointment with your room We will be having 16 bedrooms refurbished in Feb 2014 no doubt your room will be one of them. It's lovely to read how much you enjoyed all the other aspects of your weekend with us.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed over the last weekend 29th November to 2nd December and really enjoyed the 4 day break. Rooms clean, food good and entertainment was great particularly the Sunday evening with the singer/comedian. The only problem I had was I paid extra to upgrade my room but I don't think there was not much improvement to a standard room, the sink was in the main room and not in with the shower/toilet. Not sure really if I was given an upgraded room apart from being sea view?

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisongray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear AlisonGray
I am delighted that you had such a good time and enjoyed your break with us. I feel I must correct you and say that you paid a sea view supplement and not for an upgraded room and room 110 has a full lenght window offering a fantastic view. Many Thanks for your review I have passed on your comments to our entertainer.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed this bargain break with Shearings. My wife and I stayed Monday to Friday with half board, four free drinks a day, a gala dinner and afternoon tea. Two included excursions to Anglesey and Snowdonia mad the stay even more enjoyable. We had good entertainment every night and all this for a hundred and fifty quid each. What a bargain ! I've just noticed Shearings are doing a similar break at the moment for ninety nine! The staff were really friendly and efficient and the hotel was warm and comfortable. The only downside I can find was the evening meal was condensed into a one hour slot, which made the dining room very crowded and the waiting on staff really had to pull the stops out to get everyone served. Credit to them though they managed it very well each evening.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlanPercival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear AlanPercival
You are absolutely right it is great value for money and don't forget you also get luxury coach travel to and from home. I am really happy to read how much you enjoyed it.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
752 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Property: Bay County Hotel
Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing