We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Janet and Norman”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #30 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just returned from a four day break at the County Hotel travelling with shearings. We could not fault anything from the moment we got on the coach to leaving the hotel after our break. Peter our driver was very helpfull and Martin out waiter was so polite and friendly. The rooms were very clean, the food was really good we always had a good choice on the menu. The only thing we found annoying were people in the concert room who were not interested in playing bingo or listening to the entertainment instead they wanted to sit in a group laughing and joking which we found very rude there are plenty of rooms upstairs to sit in and chat. We will definately be returning to this hotel again with Shearings

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janet p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Janetp
As you Quite rightly say we do have some lovely lounges for guests to sit and chat should they have no interest in the entertainment. Many thanks for your fantastic review it certainly sounds like you had a great time.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just returned from the the county hotel travelling with shearings. The hotel was very comfortable, very well heated, the staff were all fantastic, they could not do enough for you. The food was really good and a good choice on the menu. Yes the bar prices seemed a little high, but then we were given drinks vouchers for the Saturday which was a real bonus. We asked for a room with shower which we got, was well equipped with tea and coffee facilities, but quite small and absolutely no view, so would definitely ask for a sea view room, or one that was larger, although I suppose these would incurr an extra cost. We had one organized trip out, but we felt that driver was not very informative, understood he did not usually do that part of the country. But we still enjoyed the day. All in all a good weekend, at a very reasonable cost.

Stayed: January 2014
4  Thank norfolkrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Norfolkrosie
The four free drinks voucher is proving to be very popular and our guests love it. I am very pleased to read that we catered for all your needs during your stay and that all in all you really enjoyed your weekend with us.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Have just returned from our second stay at this hotel with Shearings coach holidays.Couldnt fault anything at all.Very relaxing break,with excellent food and staff nothing to much trouble.Plenty of beautiful scenery in this fabulous part of Wales.Have been to Wales lots of times and would return here at anytime.Hotel is warm clean and comfortable.Restaurant is very nice with sea view,Entertainment if you want it.Relax and do nothing if thats what you want to do.Excellent value .Very pleased with everything .

Room Tip: Have had no problem with the rooms on both occassions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tuckswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Tuckswood
It means a lot to us when we see that guests are returning to us it shows us we are on the right track. I personally could never grow tired of the scenery in this part of Wales and it sounds like you agree with me.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Ok so it may need a coat of paint and some new furnishings, but most of our homes would get a similar comment if we had visitors. From the time we arrived we had a warm welcome. The room was a good size which was ideal as my wife is disabled. The food was great, hot, plentiful and good variety. The position is ideal right on the seafront but just out of town. Probably the only adverse comment is the disabled entrance is at the rear loading bay and with a disabled scooter it needed to be left near there as the lift was not large enough to hold it. But let's me realistic. How much time do you actually spend in the hotel when you are on a Shearing Coach Break, then looking around the area. When we were in all the staff were helpful and efficient and the entertainment in the evening was good. Would we go back again. MOST CERTAINLY.

Room Tip: The sea views would be good so ask. We had a rear room as we needed a larger room. We found room req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanguard917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Vanguard917
Thank you for your review I am always very proud to read how helpful and efficient the staff are at the County Hotel. I love readings realistic reviews and you are more than welcome to come again.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

we stayed at this hotel from the 13th of jan to the 17th with national holidays the room was good the only exception being the people above us were like a herd of elephants stamping around i complained and the hotel said we could change rooms but only staying for a few days we stayed put,the food was excellent the trips out where good, the price of alcohol was bit steep but it was hotel prices after all on the whole a good time was had by all.

Room Tip: dont have a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbadal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Bigbadal3
My apologies for the herd of elephants I'm made up to read that they didn't spoil your stay with us. Many thanks for your review.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Have stayed several times at the County Hotel and have always enjoyed the break.
All the staff, including Andy (Manager) are very friendly but always courteous
and extremely helpful - cannot be faulted.
The hotel itself is always clean and comfortable, no problems with either public
areas or bedrooms.
The food is very good and plenty of choice.
A very good hotel and value for money.
Will be back there again shortly.

Room Tip: We always pay a little extra for sea view room which means that if we return to hotel late afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymondo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Raymondo36
It's always nice to hear from one of our regulars espeially with such a glowing report many thanks for your excellent review we look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a nice break here for 5 days, went on a cheapy with national and had good time. Wouldn't like to think we had paid normal tariff for room though, it was spotlessly clean but bed was awful, we couldn't sleep first night for springs, reception had housekeeper put mattress topper on the following day, so they obviously have had this problem before, why not just invest in new beds??Also the bathroom was freezing, no heating in it at all and the basin was in the bedroom not the bathroom. Though saying all that it's in good position on seafront and staff are pleasant, also food was very pleasant considering what we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, we wasn't aware that we could and ended up facing back, though we could see mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidaylover201059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Holidaylover201059
Thank you for your mixed review with lots of positive comments I am glad to read that we reacted imediately to your complaint about your bed. You are right it is always a good idea to request a sea view room should you want one. I am delighted to see that all in all you had a pleasant stay with us.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#33 of 59 in Llandudno
832 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel
Hydro Hotel
#29 of 59 in Llandudno
365 reviews
0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#54 of 59 in Llandudno
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 59 in Llandudno
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £51 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing