We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shearings”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I've just returned from Llandudno on a Shearings Mon to Fri Holiday.First the journey there and back were both 10 and a half hours long from Fareham Hants. We had to change at Two Gateway centres, wasting lots of time between coaches.(Never again) With only three days left in Wales, We undertook the Two included excursions,the first was supposed to visit LLanfair P G. Anglesea,This was staight to a Wollen goods shop and then straight back to the Hotel. There was absolutely no commentary on the way and we heard other passengers commenting on features we passed. The second was to a small village of Bets y coed, which was nothing more than a tourist gift shop areas, then because we chose not to use the FFestiniog railway we were taken to Porthmadoc to await the people who went on the train. We had Two hours to waste in a town identical to any other town in the UK. Again no commentary was forthcoming. The hotel was similar to other Bat Hotels, a bit dated. Because we book and pay for single rooms they are usually tucked away at the rear and quite inadequate. One room did not have blinds in the bathroom and we had to beg for a plastic bin bag to cover up the window, even though it was frosted glass.My room had no chain on the bathplug and the showerscreen had a damaged seal which leaked water on the floor after each use. The only good thing we encountered were the waiting staff, all foreign, who were super efficient and hardworking.

Room Tip: Single rooms are usually at the back with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Johnt
My apologies for your disapointment with your travel and excursions nearly all of our customers thoroughly enjoy this aspect of thier holiday. You didn't have to beg for a bin liner you asked and we supplied it immediately and the following day we replaced it with a net curtain.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have just returned from a weekend break at this Hotel with a group of Navy veterans.Which we all thoroughly enjoyed. The Hotel is situated at the east end of the promenade which is a fair walk into town. We used the local taxis who are very reasonable. The Hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the bedrooms are well serviced everyday. Only downside our floor boards creaked badly. This must be a thing with Bay Hotels as the last three hotels had the same problem although it didn't detract from our stay as the bed was very comfortable and although the main road ran beneath our window we didn't hear a sound..
The dining area was spacious and very clean and the waiter service was excellent, very courteous and quick. The choice of food was good and cooked to a high standard.
Down side the entertainment could have been better, although the female vocalist was very good. . Bar prices a bit steep
Overall very good value for money spotlessly clean, Staff very friendly and helpful..We shall definitely be using this Hotel in the future

Tip:-When the hotel is busy there is not enough room for all the guests, so even if you don't like bingo you have to be down early for a seat for the entertainment and sit through it..

.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view and what a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmkendy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Jmkeny6
I'm really pleased to read that your naval reunion was a success and that you enjoyed the hotel. We love to cater for large groups such as yourselves however occasionally this can cause seating issues when you all want to be together in the ballroom.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

21/2/2014- Party weekend at the County Hotel in Llandudno, with the bad storm at the beginning of February, we wondered if we might get more than we bargained for asking for a sea view, but we need not have worried, ended up with a spring like weekend to remember with the top of Mount Snowdon covered in snow. The room we stayed in was on the top floor, which we requested, with lovely sea views. It was clean, warm and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. The restaurant overlooked the coast and beach, food selection and service was good, and entertainment for the weekend included two entertainers on Saturday night and Bingo, quiz and music on other nights. On Saturday asked to go on the trip to Snowdonia National Park, which included stops at Betws-y-Coed, and Porthmadog,driver was very knowledgable and even stopped for us to take a photo of Mount Snowdon,

Room Tip: Room 309 Top floor with sea view, lift just down corridor straight to reception and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Karenc

I can,t think of anything better than driving around Snowdon on a spring day with the sun shining and the snow on the peaks. Thank you for your fantastic review.

Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the County Hotel in February 2014. Our room and bathroom were clean as were the front of house, and the towels were changed as required and the room tidied each day. Food was of adequate quality but if you don't like Garlic then give this hotel a miss. It was Hobsons choice with the memu at dinner as only one dish did not have garlic in it each night and the vegetarial alternative also had Garlick in it so that was not an option. But if you like Garlick then this could be the place for you. What Shearings fail to understand is that the age group they are catering for, ie mainly retired people in their 60s to 80s, have largely grown up without Garlick and so it adversley affects many of them.
The biggest asset in this hotel is the staff, paticularly the waiters and waitresses,(Thank you Martin). They are dressed very smartly and cleanly and would put to shame most of the staff in the large 4 and 5 star hotels for looks and efficient service.
The evening entertainment was good on the two nights that we watched them out of the four nights we were there.
The coach drivers, Mike and Billy, were first class and the coaches are first class too. Mike was our regular driver and Billy did the stand in for him when Mike had his legal day off. Their knowledge of the area was well researched and could not have been delivered better. Both of these driver were very safe and we felt very safe and secure behind them. If you stay at this hotel I hope that you get either Mike or Billy.
Ideas for future trips out Shearings, could be a visit to Llangollen with time to walk the canal aqueduct,(weather permitting), or an opportunity to have a ride on the narrow gauge railways in the area.
Shearing are at long last spending some money on doing much needed low level improvements to some of the rooms, and its not before time. Some of the Shearings hotels we have stayed in in the past, but not this one, had the wallpaper peeling off the walls and the poor state of the Shearings hotels in the past stopped us using them for some years. However the state of the County when we were there was good.
Do try to afford a sea view. Its great to wake up to see the beautyful LLandudno Bay in the Morning, however it will be on the front and it can be occasionally noisy with the traffic in the morning, but you can't have it all ways.
Overall a good stay at a good price.
From Michael and Joan

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Miceala
Many thanks for your review filled with lots of detail and useful information. In the future if you don't see anything on the menu that you like if you ask we will be only to happy to offer an alternative.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here Valentine's weekend, enjoyed it immensely,staff friendly and helpful , room nice , food great . Hope to return again in future, all said we were extremely pleased and happy with our stay .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank razzaboing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Owner at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Razzaboing
Your review is short and to the point all in all the perfect review about your perfect holiday many thanks.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel in mid January and had a lovely break in a very nice establishment. We had booked into the Marine last year, but that was not a patch on this one - if booking with Shearings go for the County everytime!
We had a lovely table for two, overlooking the Promenade, waitresses were extremely efficient and charming and the food was good too.
We had paid a little extra for a sea view and well worth it, fantastic views 'along the front' and out to sea. Unlike the Marine, the room was well decorated and fresh looking and very comfortable.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Intend to return here again in the future and would thoroughly recommend this hotel, for the money you pay - incredible value for money! Well done Shearings!

Room Tip: Pay the little supplement and get a sea view, it will pay dividends!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Davidr
Thank you for your recommendation I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you acknowledge what great value for money we are.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just returned from a 5day Shearings holiday at Bay County Hotel , had lovely week there with my 12year-old Grand-daughter . Our room was very comfortable and clean , with a lovely sea view . All the staff were friendly and always willing to help with any request . The meals were excellent and we felt well taken care of throughout our stay. Will make a return sometime soon :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear KathleenW
After such a fantastic review we would love to see you back with us soon.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
810 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
832 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,418 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.8 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £77 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing