We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay County Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$113
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merrion Hotel(Llandudno)
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$163
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queens Hotel(Llandudno)
US$113
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$351
US$326
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cae Mor Hotel(Llandudno)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Manor Hotel(Llandudno)
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
US$81
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Tynedale Hotel(Llandudno)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveller rating
203
337
137
38
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
337
137
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings hotelsdining roomsea viewself driveshearings breaknational holidaysshearings coachevening meallovely positionentertainment roomtown centrepublic roomsmonday to fridayexcellent value for moneymobility problemsthird floorplenty of hot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

the meals are good the staff are great very helpful the room was a little small not worth the 20.00 but the sea view would rather have a bigger room. there was no shower just a shower over the bath the walk along promenade was good and walking around finding the Alice in wonderland figures we went with National holidays our driver was Wayne very good driver

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room don't waste your money on a sea veiw
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Carverlaine
Many thanks for your review which on the whole is very positive.It's great to read that you had fun walking around Llandudno in search of the giant Alice in wonderland carved figures.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I've just returned from Llandudno on a Shearings Mon to Fri Holiday.First the journey there and back were both 10 and a half hours long from Fareham Hants. We had to change at Two Gateway centres, wasting lots of time between coaches.(Never again) With only three days left in Wales, We undertook the Two included excursions,the first was supposed to visit LLanfair P G. Anglesea,This was staight to a Wollen goods shop and then straight back to the Hotel. There was absolutely no commentary on the way and we heard other passengers commenting on features we passed. The second was to a small village of Bets y coed, which was nothing more than a tourist gift shop areas, then because we chose not to use the FFestiniog railway we were taken to Porthmadoc to await the people who went on the train. We had Two hours to waste in a town identical to any other town in the UK. Again no commentary was forthcoming. The hotel was similar to other Bat Hotels, a bit dated. Because we book and pay for single rooms they are usually tucked away at the rear and quite inadequate. One room did not have blinds in the bathroom and we had to beg for a plastic bin bag to cover up the window, even though it was frosted glass.My room had no chain on the bathplug and the showerscreen had a damaged seal which leaked water on the floor after each use. The only good thing we encountered were the waiting staff, all foreign, who were super efficient and hardworking.

Room Tip: Single rooms are usually at the back with no view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Johnt
My apologies for your disapointment with your travel and excursions nearly all of our customers thoroughly enjoy this aspect of thier holiday. You didn't have to beg for a bin liner you asked and we supplied it immediately and the following day we replaced it with a net curtain.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have just returned from a weekend break at this Hotel with a group of Navy veterans.Which we all thoroughly enjoyed. The Hotel is situated at the east end of the promenade which is a fair walk into town. We used the local taxis who are very reasonable. The Hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the bedrooms are well serviced everyday. Only downside our floor boards creaked badly. This must be a thing with Bay Hotels as the last three hotels had the same problem although it didn't detract from our stay as the bed was very comfortable and although the main road ran beneath our window we didn't hear a sound..
The dining area was spacious and very clean and the waiter service was excellent, very courteous and quick. The choice of food was good and cooked to a high standard.
Down side the entertainment could have been better, although the female vocalist was very good. . Bar prices a bit steep
Overall very good value for money spotlessly clean, Staff very friendly and helpful..We shall definitely be using this Hotel in the future

Tip:-When the hotel is busy there is not enough room for all the guests, so even if you don't like bingo you have to be down early for a seat for the entertainment and sit through it..

.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view and what a view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmkendy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Jmkeny6
I'm really pleased to read that your naval reunion was a success and that you enjoyed the hotel. We love to cater for large groups such as yourselves however occasionally this can cause seating issues when you all want to be together in the ballroom.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

21/2/2014- Party weekend at the County Hotel in Llandudno, with the bad storm at the beginning of February, we wondered if we might get more than we bargained for asking for a sea view, but we need not have worried, ended up with a spring like weekend to remember with the top of Mount Snowdon covered in snow. The room we stayed in was on the top floor, which we requested, with lovely sea views. It was clean, warm and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. The restaurant overlooked the coast and beach, food selection and service was good, and entertainment for the weekend included two entertainers on Saturday night and Bingo, quiz and music on other nights. On Saturday asked to go on the trip to Snowdonia National Park, which included stops at Betws-y-Coed, and Porthmadog,driver was very knowledgable and even stopped for us to take a photo of Mount Snowdon,

Room Tip: Room 309 Top floor with sea view, lift just down corridor straight to reception and restaurant
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Karenc

I can,t think of anything better than driving around Snowdon on a spring day with the sun shining and the snow on the peaks. Thank you for your fantastic review.

Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the County Hotel in February 2014. Our room and bathroom were clean as were the front of house, and the towels were changed as required and the room tidied each day. Food was of adequate quality but if you don't like Garlic then give this hotel a miss. It was Hobsons choice with the memu at dinner as only one dish did not have garlic in it each night and the vegetarial alternative also had Garlick in it so that was not an option. But if you like Garlick then this could be the place for you. What Shearings fail to understand is that the age group they are catering for, ie mainly retired people in their 60s to 80s, have largely grown up without Garlick and so it adversley affects many of them.
The biggest asset in this hotel is the staff, paticularly the waiters and waitresses,(Thank you Martin). They are dressed very smartly and cleanly and would put to shame most of the staff in the large 4 and 5 star hotels for looks and efficient service.
The evening entertainment was good on the two nights that we watched them out of the four nights we were there.
The coach drivers, Mike and Billy, were first class and the coaches are first class too. Mike was our regular driver and Billy did the stand in for him when Mike had his legal day off. Their knowledge of the area was well researched and could not have been delivered better. Both of these driver were very safe and we felt very safe and secure behind them. If you stay at this hotel I hope that you get either Mike or Billy.
Ideas for future trips out Shearings, could be a visit to Llangollen with time to walk the canal aqueduct,(weather permitting), or an opportunity to have a ride on the narrow gauge railways in the area.
Shearing are at long last spending some money on doing much needed low level improvements to some of the rooms, and its not before time. Some of the Shearings hotels we have stayed in in the past, but not this one, had the wallpaper peeling off the walls and the poor state of the Shearings hotels in the past stopped us using them for some years. However the state of the County when we were there was good.
Do try to afford a sea view. Its great to wake up to see the beautyful LLandudno Bay in the Morning, however it will be on the front and it can be occasionally noisy with the traffic in the morning, but you can't have it all ways.
Overall a good stay at a good price.
From Michael and Joan

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Miceala
Many thanks for your review filled with lots of detail and useful information. In the future if you don't see anything on the menu that you like if you ask we will be only to happy to offer an alternative.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews