We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taking your own toilet paper”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Taking your own toilet paper”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

It is advisable to take your own toilet roll when visiting the County, unless you are used to wiping your backside with party streamers. The strips that they offer are 3 inches by 6 inches. and ask if you room has a shower, 326 did not. and for older visitors that have trouble getting on a bus, try stepping up 18 inches to get your leg into the bath. Another hotel with an outdated lift carrying only 2 people at a time. WiFi is only available on the ground floor close to the reception. the menus are varied but servings not very big, and look out for the sweet with a chocolate sauce that is dribbled round the plate, very artistic, but try getting it off the plate.

Room Tip: Room 326 looks out at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 442Ronniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear 442Ronniew
Reading your profile it appears you have not given one good review yet. Perhaps you should set your sights a little lower and perhaps be more realistic in the future. Thank you for your review.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    303
    122
    35
    23
See reviews for
96
350
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice Hotel, Rooms lovely and spotless, BUT they have the heating timing all wrong, we arrived in our room about 4pm the room was very very cold, this the time most people are showering and getting ready for evening meal, it came on about 7pm, no good,
Seven of us stayed here for two nights the staff and entertainment were very good. BUT breakfast... six of us ordered full breakfast when it arrive at the table we were told they had run out of sausage and beans, on the way out of the restaurant we noticed some people that had arrived after us had sausage and beans, We mentioned this at the reception they said " sorry and it would be sorted the next day"
Next morning we ordered full breakfast again, we did get a spoonful of beans BUT no sausage, The waitress said they had run out ,she was very apologetic we told her it was not her fault she was lovely and very attentive,
When we arrived home a friend who had stayed there a week before said she had the same problem at breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 669Geraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear 669Geraldine
I will pass on your comments to our chef who I'm sure will do his utmost to get to the bottom of this. I am so pleased that you enjoyed all other aspects of the service and the Hotel.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned after a lovely holiday when we booked we ask for shower only for us and two friends the lady said she would book us a table which she did lovely near the window!the staff and especially our waiteri think her name was Anne she always ask if we would like anything else the entertainment was brilliant especially Joey Howard we had lots of laughs what a lovely time we had would certainly recommend it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Davidbernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear DavidbernardR
What a fantastic review and I do agree that Joey Howard is brilliant. It's great to read how much you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have just returned from a lovely break at this hotel our room was lovely the only down side were the 3 stairs up to the bedroom and then having to use these each time we needed the toilet or shower. Having problems with stairs made this difficult for me . it was however really good value for the money. It was far nicer inside than first impression outside , it would be more inviting if the walls were given a coat of paint. We had a lovely waiter who was very attentive to us and was always very polite and a smile on his face. We would certainly go there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Faithb
We would love to see you back here at the County. We are just waiting for the weather to improve before painting the boundry wall we do paint it every year but it gets a bit wild here in the winter months.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here with national and not too bad a hol! Odd niggly things a problem. First, our room was on first floor just near main entrance - the all day/night bar kept us awake til well after 1am. They have a ballroom in the basement that they use till 11pm, so I don't understand why they close this and continue the all night bar directly under the sea view more expensive rooms - like mine?? It's quite a walk into town,15mins, which was a bit too far far some elderly guests to walk. But it's a lovely view and flat walk along prom. Plusses, Entertainment was great on all three nights, bingo, quizzes, Bruce's play your cards right, singers etc. And the crazy lady that called the bingo in a " Happy Birthday, Mr President /Marilyn Monroe voice," had us in stitches. Bar prices expensive, take your own in your handbag ladies! No excuse for crazy prices. Food good, restaurant waiters very helpful and knowledgeable of special dietary needs and menu choices that were suitable - which is rare, so 10/10 there. Room clean but dated and every bit of our floor creaked! Bed and pillows bit hard, definitely don't like communal bed spread which didn't look clean, so didn't use, although sheets were fine. Would I go back, poss yes, but not first floor sea view!

Room Tip: If you want sea view ask for room not on first floor, and away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hell0chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear hellOchris
Thank you for your review with lots of interesting details and observations I'm sure our readers will find it interesting and helpful however it,s worth remembering we can.t please all the people all of the time.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just returned from a five day stay .The week was lovely and we very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were all excellent and worked hard to make our stay enjoyable.
Nothing was too much trouble. I should like to single out our waiter who went out of his way to serve us well , he said that he had been there for 10 years so must be happy in his job and this showed through in the service that he gave. The room attendant should also be mentioned as our room was left spotless every day after her visit.The reception staff worked hard and were always polite and helpful. Well done to all.
We will definetly be returning soon.

Room Tip: Our room had an excellent sea view well worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Pauline743
I am absolutely over the moon with your comments and I know that our staff will be delighted to read your review. Lots of us have been here many years now but it's still nice to be appreciated many thanks.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We up-graded to a seaview room which was pleasant but very dated.Although, apparently we had been allocated a re-furbished room for our extra money but because I had requested a bath instead of shower only, the room provided turned out to be very tired indeed. The staff are all excellent, very professional & friendly, the poor bar staff must get very tired of hearing complaints about the bar prices which are way over the top...£5.60 for a large glass of draught inferior wine! Very few people used the bars....I wonder why?? If they lowered the prices more people would buy as there are no other bars in the vicinty they have a captive audience...I can only assume people drank in their rooms or did like we did & decided to get a taxi into town (only £2.50), after two rounds it had paid for itself.
Finally and with regret I have to comment on the food. I know it is hotel that is being run on a shoestring but packet soup which ALWAYS tastes like wallpaper paste no matter what flavour it is?? Come on Shearings, insist the chef makes fresh soup it is not rocket science & it is not expensive to do.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenmeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Brenmeryl
Thank you for your review and the wonderful comments you make about our hard working staff. I do agree thet you get what you pay for however it's not true that we run on a shoestring I have passed your comments on to our Chef.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Property: Bay County Hotel
Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing