We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coach trip hotel”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Bay County Hotel is a place we would return to if we go back to Llandudno. The staff were so helpful from the reception staff to the restaurant staff. Our room, though rather small was always clean and tidy as was the bathroom although the bathroom could do with some updating. The food was better than expected. At busy times, the one small lift which only held two people was hardly adequate. All in all, a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear GillianM
It is great to read how much you appreciate the staff here at the County and that you had a good stay with us, we do have plans to upgrade some of our bathrooms this year. Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Bay County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our second visit to this hotel. We were first here in June 2013.The staff are wonderful..our waitress Aggie was a treasure.Our sea view twin room was fine even if the multi coloured bathroom was a bit startling to begin with. Turquoise floor, peach wall tiles and an avocado suite!!!However along with the rest of the hotel it was clean and comfortable.
The food was always hot and there was a decent selection but the soups were bland packet ones which would benefit greatly from a bit of 'jazzing up' maybe a swirl of cream, a sprinkling of parsley or a few croutons, and the salads would be improved by some coleslaw and perhaps a dressing instead of just a couple of sachets of salad cream.? The stuffed jalapenos, tempura prawns and Caesar salad starters were all excellent. The sweet and sour sauce and the chasseur sauce both tasted cheap and as if they had come straight from a cash and carry jar, but the various meats were all fine. I'm not sure if you need extra potatoes when there are usually some on the plate but maybe I am wrong. I don't eat puddings but everyone else seemed to enjoy them.
The entertainment was above average and on Wednesday evening Dave Davis the guitarist/singer/saxophonist was excellent.
The bar prices are exorbitant but I realise that the prices are set by Shearings and not the local management ....when will they learn that if the prices were more reasonable they would sell far more and guests would stay in the hotel rather than going elsewhere to drink.
Overall we had an enjoyable stay and thank you once again to all the lovely staff...they make the holiday.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear PatH
Thank you for your review which on the whole is very complementary. I'm sure the bathroom that you mention will come back into fashion quite soon. I have passed on your comments to our Chef and I'm sure he will find them useful.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay.The hotel was very friendly & our waiter was very attentive.
I am not a great tipper but felt this guy deserved a tip.
The problem with Shearing's Bay hotels is that NONE of them serves real ale,hence we have to search outside.
This hotel is further out from the town than the other Bay hotel..

Room Tip: We had a good ground floor room,hence avoiding using a lift
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulD02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear PaulD02
It's wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your weekend break with us. We do sell a selection of local real ales from the Conwy brewery.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here in April and had the very best time. The staff were so friendly and even though we were the youngest guests by about 30 years, I can honestly say I would go back again.
The food was really lovely. Loads of choice, with staff being quick and sociable and were very responsive if you asked for something slightly different.
The bar staff were friendly too – nothing was too much trouble (one guy even brought us drinks to our table when we were in the middle of a quiz – top fellow!!!).
Then the entertainment – never laughed so much in years. The bingo was brilliant – I even won 3 times  with the compere (Nick) being an absolute delight. Well, the comedians were hilarious, good choices there.
The beds were so very comfortable; you just sank into the great beds with lovely duvet and pillows. The only bad point was the smell in the bathroom, I can only assume it was because it is down in the bottom floor – I used £85 perfume to ‘spruce it up’.
Overall – go here. It’s a pleasant walk into town and I am terribly impressed. Well done County….

Room Tip: I don't know what the sea view rooms were like, so maybe pay the extra £28
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eenor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear AngelinaNotingham
It sounds like you had a ball. We would love to welcome you back with us as long as you don't keep winning at bingo Thank you very much for your lovely review.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The staff really made our stay. Friendly; courteous; efficient; professional. Gavin helped with luggage, even returning to our room to bring something down that we had forgotten. Greg was rushed off his feet serving in the dining room but was happy to bring us anything extra that we asked for. The room was cleaned quickly and efficiently. The spacious twin room had recently been refurbished and was delightful. Decor and furnishings tasteful. Could do with a recess or shelving in the bathroom.
Michelle brought framed maps to us to explain the layout of Llandudno. She went to great lengths to explain it to us. It was delightful to meet her as she was enthusiastic about the area, the hotel and her job satisfaction. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear JeanetteK
I am absolutely delighted to read your comments as a manager here at the County I am very proud of the staff here and I really appreciate it when guests take the time to give them credit. Many thanks for your glowing review.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

just returned from short break for County Hotel it was great. Food, Staff in dining room very efficient,standard single room great. Hotel a bit further away from town than I expected but retail park just 5 minutes away. We enjoy walking so not a problem. Didn't really use bar facilities much but felt price was at the more expensive end, we drank cheaper in bars in town. Would loved to have saw the prom.lights on but in conversation with other visitors they come on later in the season.Trip was with Caledonian Travel from Glasgow and all was so smooth from start to finish. Great value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aneeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Aneeson
Its brilliant to read how much you enjoyed your break with us. we love to welcome the Scots with Caledonian you know how to enjoy yourselves and I'm not even going to mention scots and value for money.
Kind Regards
Andy travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Better late for this review than never! The County provided a wonderful 4 day break we were given a low floor room as asked for the room had been recently refurbished lovely and clean good idea to provide leather chairs in bedroom to avoid any staining . Bathroom could do with a little TLC but no complaints.Food was good and served efficiently by Bruno. Entertainment gave a variety something for everyone and was generally very good.All of us were very satisfied with the excellent value .We go on many Shearings holidays and are 99.9 per cent satisfied that they provide a wonderful service for the money.

Room Tip: We always request a low floor and Shearings usually provide what we ask for.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Joanh
We don't mind waiting when the reviews are as good as this one. Bruno will be made up to get a mention he hasn't had one for weeks I'm especially pleased to see that you appreciate the value for money we offer many thanks for your review.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
800 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.8 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £76 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing