We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe all you read.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't believe all you read.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just had a weekend break at this hotel & we were very pleasantly surprised after reading some negative reviews.
There was a very good selection for meals & they were always hot. Portions didn't appear to be that big but bearing in mind you are having a 3 course evening meal. My husband is a fairly big eater but he never went away hungry. Service was excellent & nothing was ever to much trouble. Dushon (apologies for how name spelt) our waiter was more than efficient & always had a smile on his face.
Bedroom & en-suite was always cleaned to a very high standard. Nice to have a duvet & not to be messing about with sheets & blankets.
Disappointed that the ballroom refurbishment was not completed when we arrived. We were led to believe that there had been a problem. Did not see the entertainment here as it was held in the restaurant & as we are keen dancers, there would be a problem dancing on carpet. Used the sister hotel - Marine hotel - which is about 10 minutes walk away & saw a great entertainer there.
We had a sea view room which certainly lived up to its name. Promenade always looked clean. The room looked as if it had recently been refurbished. If there is a downside it would be the water pressure. We were on the second floor & the shower was not very powerful. Evening time the water was not always very hot. Not to much of a problem as the weather was hot but I would find it very uncomfortable in the winter months. We did have a problem with the shower head when we arrived. Reported it to reception Friday evening & it had been sorted by the time we got back from breakfast Saturday, 5 brownie points there. Unfortunately this did not improve the flow. Management please look into this
Very pleasant walk along the promenade & there is plenty of seating for anyone wishing to rest their weary legs.
Anyone wishing to do the shops there is wide variety to suit all tastes. These are approx a 15 / 20 minutes walk away.

Would we go back again. Yes most definitely.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view. Check if water pressure any better on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancingshoes47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Dancingshoes47
Many thanks for your wonderful review and also the brownie points which will come in useful. I'm sorry for your disappointment with the ballroom it is just about finished now and it looks spectacular you must come back and see it. I will check with our maintenence man to look at the water presure.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    296
    118
    34
    22
See reviews for
96
343
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
egham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The County Hotel is facing the very well kept seafront situated between Great Orme and Little Orme so wonderful views in either direction. We found the staff most pleasant, food good and plentiful and the restaurant quite splendid, we upgraded to a sea view room which was good sized and the bathroom was superb having a grohe shower with plenty of hot water. The entertainment was quite good, but Dave Davis really gave us a good evening. When you book any of these large seaside hotels always remember they were mostly built over 80 years ago and the cost of modernising them and maintaining them must be enormous so don't expect international 5 star standards. Shearings provide great value and the coach excursions were great, we are already booked on the next Shearings trip.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view, and if you get room 102 which we got it is immediately above reception and yes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_emms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear John-emms1
What a relief to get a positive report from someone with realistic expectations I'm so pleased you enjoyed room 102 and appreciate what great value for money we offer. It's lovely to read that you have booked with shearing's again I'm sure you will love it.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We decided to try Bay Hotels and take my brother and his wife. We had the worse accommodation I have ever had. Really upset me to think my brother paid good money for this weekend break. The shower room was no more than a broom cupboard, hand basin was just a toilet basin to wash your hands in, also cracked with filthy plughole. Shower screen door loose with the smallest shower tray possible. Nowhere to put any toiletries. After just managing to get in the shower you have dry yourself on the landing. The heat in the shower room was to much to bare. Toilet was so small you had to squeeze alongside the toilet to shut the door. The bedroom was so hot you could not sleep and the curtains so thick they shut out the air and because the room was overlooked you could not have them open. All the manager could say was it was a Victorian Building, not the answer I was expecting. He did say they could put nets at the window but that was old fashion. I did notice other rooms with nets. He did not do it anyway. The dining room was so hot in the corner where our table was you nearly dropped with heat stroke. Never again will I use Shearings even though I have stayed in the Coast and Country Hotels.

Room Tip: Do not stay there unless upgrading rooms are better. But why should you pay extra to have a comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear GeraldD
My apologise for your disappointment with the size of your shower room. I have looked again at the layout and fitted a folding door to improve the space in the room. The bedroom was hot due to the extremely hot weather we are enjoying and when I offered to fit a net curtain you didn't answer me. I thank you for your review but think it is a little harsh.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I stayed Monday to Friday at the Bay County.We have stayed at the Marine on previous stays in Llandudno so we thought we would try the the Bay county. We were not disappointed.We were allocated a room at lower ground level which was spacious and recently refurbished.excellent until 6.00am the next morning when it sounded like a herd of elephants parading around as the staff prepared the dining room above for breakfast. We went to reception with the problem and Andy Travis the manager gave us the choice of another room on level 3.
It was not so large but clean and tidy like the rest of the hotel.The food was very good,the entertainment spoilt as it was held in the dining room while the ballroom is being refurbished.
Disadvantages if you are not a good walker it is at least 20 minutes walk to the shopping mall in the town centre also wheelchair access is at the rear as the main entrance has 7 steps to climb but the staff will give help if required and there is a bell on the wall outside to call them when required. The hotel only has one lift carrying two passengers maximum. With 3 coach parties plus other guests we thought this maybe a problem, perhaps we were lucky as we never waited more than a minute.
Advantages if you drive by car it is free street parking day and night.at this end of the promenade. The restaurant was very clean and bright the staff excellent especially Dusan.
We would definitely stay here again if visiting Llandudno.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms below the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ianitaWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear IanitaWalsall
My apologises for your early alarm call on your first morning I have removed the noisy Elephants from the hotel. I am delighted to read that it didn't spoil your stay with us and I am now pleased to report the ballroom will be complete next week and it is looking fantastic.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We booked with Shearings and only had a standard room on the 3rd floor. Wish we had booked a superior room.
Food was very good. Bruno the waiter was very friendly.
Excellent trips to Portmerton and Bodnant Gardens.

Room Tip: A superior room would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear IanP
Many thanks for your review which is short and sweet with a very good room tip. I can think of nothing better than to visit Bodnant gardens and Port Merion in the sunshine. I have passed on your comment to Bruno who is plesed to get a mention.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

First hotel with Shearings & found it to be a little disapointing.I know it, s a Victorian hotel but i would have expected a shower in the bathroom (not just bath) & bed had sheet & blanket.Also it,s quite a walk into the town.
Entertainment other than bingo was short & not often.
Otherwise I found my stay to be O.K. Service & staff were very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank peteradams_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Peteradams9
I'm really sorry to read of your disapointment with your room we are currently changing all our beds to Duvets but with 100 rooms it does take a little time.
On the other hand I'm delighted you were happy with the service we provided.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just retured from yet another coach holiday and found this hotel very nice .
Great location ,food quite large portions a little lacking in quality ,nice ballroom and entertainment if somewhat hot.room very clean but quite small .
Excellent trips to portmerion and bodnant gardens.
All in all great value .
Richard

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear PopBrighton
Thank you so much for your review and all the positive comments you make. I have to agree that the trips to Bodnant Gardens and Port Merion are fantastic and I'm really glad you enjoyed them.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#38 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Property: Bay County Hotel
Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing