We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Clean Hotel But!!!!!”
Review of Bay County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay County Hotel
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We travelled to this hotel on a shearings coach for a 5 day all inclusive break. This hotel is the cleanest Shearings hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff were excellent, especially the bar staff who were quick, friendly and liked a laugh. The entertainment was excellent. The food was good, no fried bread on the breakfast and no matter how many times I asked for it I got none, "it wasn't on the menu". Now for the BUT. our bedroom had a problem with the heating it wouldn't work, we ended up with a portable heater. There was no shower in the bathroom only a bath, and a very small bath too, when you are 21 stone you have to be careful you don't get stuck in the bath. The lift was very small, only fitting 4 people in at atime, on Monday the lift broke down and then on Wednesday night it stopped on the 2nd floor with us in it, alarm bells ringing we eventually got brought down to the lower ground level. Then we had to walk up to our room which was on the 3rd floor, 316. The trips out were good, found a lovely pub in Llanfair PG.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philbaluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2010

We had an enjoyable stay at the County Hotel, Llandudno in March 2010 as part of a National Holidays coach tour. The hotel is well run by friendly staff who offer a warm welcome and deal with customers in a kind and confident manner. The main public areas, bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and pleasant and our particular bedroom was of a decent size. Room cleaning and daily servicing was up to standard and beds were comfortable with decent quality bedding. The corridors leading to the rooms appeared a bit gloomy and could do with some updating and decoration, but these minor things didn’t spoil our stay in any way.
We enjoyed the food, with good choice at breakfast and dinner and the restaurant staff were friendly and efficient. The restaurant is a pleasant place to be and overlooks the promenade (The Parade). It takes about twenty minutes to walk along the promenade into the town centre, or a frequent bus service is available from a nearby stop on Mostyn Avenue. (English bus passes not accepted!)
There was entertainment every evening in the ballroom but we didn’t sample this although fellow travellers seemed happy with what was on offer. As part of our holiday deal we had three hours free bar each evening and my fears that there might be a bit of a scrum around the bar were unfounded, the bar staff coping well with demand. The lounge areas around the bar were comfortable and well decorated.
Llandudno is a nice clean town and is largely unspoilt with a good selection of shops. We took a one hour tour around The Great Orme on a 1960’s coach and the driver’s live commentary was extremely interesting.
Our National Holidays deal included two days spent touring the area and our knowledgeable driver Eddy made this as interesting as possible although the coach heating and air conditioning seemed to have a mind of its own and we were rarely warm enough anytime during the five day trip, especially during the long journey down from Tyneside to Llandudno. Maybe the people that maintain the coaches should travel on them from time to time!
All in all, the County is a hotel I would recommend and certainly return to if I have the opportunity. One point to note it is located on The Parade, at the junction with Queens Road in Llandudno and not in Colwyn Bay which is currently where the TripAdvisor website shows the location!!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northern-traveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Just spent a 5 day break at the County with Shearings and thoroughly enjoyed it. Room with en-suite shower was very clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good with a good choice of menu each evening. Thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment. Only negative for me was our room was above the ballroom so had no chance of any sleep until after the bar was shut. For the money we paid it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarnsleyGoldenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Stayed here on a Shearings weekend break,and found this hotel ideal,a leisurely stroll along the promenade for about 20 minutes brings you into the town centre.
Stayed in a seaview room which was adequate but could have done with refurbishment as could all of the hotel.
The meals we had were excellent with a good choice and all of the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you if you asked for anything.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a7tsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

The standard rooms are quite "standard/OK'ish". Luckily we had a superior room with a sea view. Lovely comfortable bed, although a little on the hard side. Digital TV with freeview. Large new bathroom with shower over the bath. Found out later they didn't have any "shower only" rooms/or very few for size of hotel. Food we would say was "average" with varied choice, waiter service was very slow. We did a Shearings break so got excellent value for money spent. Just around the corner and up to the next main road was a bus stop for the town centre and to other areas in the opposite direction (Conway Bay, Rhyll etc). A walk to the town centre would probably take about half an hour along the prom. Overall a nice located hotel. Biggest bugbear - only one very small lift for entire hotel - unfortunately for me I can not use the stairs.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellie4Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

firstly we are in our early 50s and found it a pleasure to spend some time with the over 60s, (mostly because it made us feel young for a change he! he!) the hotel was value for money, yes some rooms need a revamp but we veiwed 3 rooms and were able to choose the one we wanted. may i add that all the rooms were very clean. i can say this because we had just walked out of one that was not. the staff were very helpful especially clive on reception who got us a heater and always had a smile for us when we had come back after our walk. ron who looked after us in the evening "thanks guys". the young staff who served us at meal times were hard working and friendly. they compliment this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Very good value £125 dbb for 3 nights can't fault the value. Hotel fairly old (possibly faded glory) with small bar area and a larger entertainments room with a bar, albeit staff were serving the public bar additionally to the internal one but didn't have to wait too long. Drink prices were on the high side for what they were with fairly limited choices.Staff were excellent in all areas could not do enough for you, particularly reception staff. The entertainment was fair and although based for the elder fraternity quite enjoyable. The rooms were of differing size from very small to fair at best with bathrooms surpisingly larger but unless you specifically request a room with a shower will only have a bath. Food was of a good standard without being exceptional.
Overall for the money you cannot fault the stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank commoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
811 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
835 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,419 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.8 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £75 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing